Kenko AF 2x Teleplus 7-element Teleconverter 35mm Converters

Available At:
AF 2x Teleplus 7-element Teleconverter

KENKO AF Teleplus converter has genuine Gate Array IC. It means that not only the Teleplus's own unique data, but the entirety of data set from the camerabody, needless to say full linkage is also provided for electronic flash photography. Full AF linkage with Teleplus is possible with camera lenses with open aperture of F4 or brighter.

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
jerry james   Intermediate [Jan 20, 2011]

i bought this teleconverter by its reviews without spending allot of money on the canon compared to almost 300.00 bucks. reviews said may have to use it in manual focas. i had it mounted on my t2i with a canon 70-300 EF is usm lens & the auto focas works perfect in daylight which i bought it for, for taking pictures of wild life hand held.if i am going to be taking pictures in low light im going to be using a tripod any way. im very happy with my purchase and dont think the canon can do any better. i would buy this teleconverter again and recomending it to my friends.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Brett   Casual [Feb 26, 2009]

I have a Canon XS EOS, and the 70-300 IS USM.
The Vivitar AF 7 Element 2x Teleconverter works great even with the Image Stabilzation.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ECF   Professional [Mar 29, 2005]

GOOD PRO RESULTS FOR MY NIKON CAMERAS.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
bobticoune   Expert [Jan 16, 2002]
Strength:

- Well made - Fully compatible with EOS system

Weakness:

None

I use it only on my CANON EF 80-200mm 2.8L Same as the TAMRON 2x 7 elements Teleconverter. KENKO made it for TAMRON.

Similar Products Used: Sigma 2x Teleconverter
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
puchacz   Expert [Sep 06, 2001]
Strength:

1) a relatively inexpensive way of getting an extra lens double the original focal length, with image quality higher than achievable by blowing up and cropping the frame 2) full AF and TTL metering linking for all Nikon users 3) quite good image quality in the centre, corners improve when the lens is stopped down 4) with the Tamron 70-300 LD it compensates the lens''s pincushion distortion and produces effectively rectilinear images 5) Quite fast focusing and good image quality with the AF Nikkor 1.8/50 when stopped down two stops

Weakness:

The 2-stop light loss is bearable with a fast lens, but with a slow telezoom such as the Tamron 70-300 F4-5.6 one gets a 140-600 F8-11 which requires stopping down one or two more stops to obtain better image quality. At 600mm the shutter speed should be at least 1/1000s to avoid blurring. Now, to shoot at 1/1000s (or preferably even faster) at F16 or F22 requires very bright light and fast, grainy films. Thus, the combination of a slow telezoom and the Kenko, although capable of producing images of at least acceptable quality, is highly impracticable. When used with the AF Nikkor 1.8/50 produced soft corners when wide open, but improved much when stopped down 2 stops. Produced reasonable-quality images with a Russian 300mm F4.5 (Tair3) lens wide open and improved when stopped down, but again stopping down the already slow (F9) combination is impracticable With the Tamron lens AF is both quite precise and relatively fast in bright light at shorter focal lengths, and bearable, despite the effective aperture of F11, at the long end, but is unreliable and hunts a lot when the light and contrast are low. With the AF Nikkor 1.8/50 the AF sometimes drives the lens very fast beyond the

For a Nikon user this converter fills a gap in the Nikon offer: Nikon''s AF-I converters (besides being very expensive) are only for the long telephotos with built-in motors, and the MF AI-type ones do not provide the AF and electrical linking between AF lenses and AF cameras, which the users of the F(N)80, 65, 60, etc. need for the TTL metering to work. As a 7-element job it offers reasonable image quality, better than simpler designs. However, it seems to be most useful with fast telezooms or fixed-focal-length lenses in the tele range; the results with slow ("dark") telezooms are not very encouraging.

Similar Products Used: Vivitar 2x-3 (MF) - VERY unsharp except in the centre with any lens when wide open, a bit better when stopped down Russian 2x, 5-element (MF)- just a little bit less sharp than the Kenko MC7, but v
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
Mike LePard   Professional [Jan 18, 2001]
Strength:

This is for the non-AF version. (Called KF)

The Kenko KF Auto Teleplus 2X TC is well made, all metal (no plastic) TC with both manual or EE choice (EE = allows the camera to choose apateur priority connection on the lens).

Very sturdy build and connects to the camera easily and can even solidly hold my 1000mm f10 lens.

Weakness:

Poor sharpness. I have tested it with a very sharp lens (the Konica Hexanon 135mm f3.2) and while the shots are acceptable, the Vivitar 2x Custom Tele-Converter Model 2X-7 does a much better job at overall sharpness.

Even though it has 7 elements of glass, I would hate to use the 4 element one. (shutter)

A good useable Teleconverter for the price. Not recommended for shots that have to rely on to impress others. Will get you a shot though and it is all metal very sturdily made. I have used this TC with a lot of my heavy lenses (like the 1000mm f10), and have even used 2 x2 TC's together. (interesting results).

I would recommed buying the Vivitar 2x Custom Tele-Converter Model 2X-7 instead. It is much sharper overall.

Mike.
Photography Blue Book web site. Server #1
Photography Blue Book web site. Server #2

Customer Service

Never called.

Similar Products Used: Vivitar 2x Custom Tele-Converter Model 2X-7
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob Hood   Expert [Nov 10, 1999]
Model Reviewed: AF 2x Teleplus 7-element Teleconverter
Strength:

Maintains the information connection to your camera. Very sharp.

Weakness:

A small amount of distortion at the edges of images.

A good way to get the 400mm lens you want without a second mortgage on your house. I use it on a Nikon 80-200mm F2.8 so 400mm is f5.6 and the camera still works in AF mode. Nice for candid portrait work. The shallow depth of field and slightly soft egde on the image is nice. Street price about $ 175. A good investment.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com