Kenko Teleplus Pro 300 1.4x converter 35mm Converters

Available At:
Teleplus Pro 300 1.4x converter

Kenko PRO 300 converters are designed specifically to be use with telephoto lenses of 100mm or above, and work best with telephoto lenses of 200mm to 500mm. They're intended to be used with expensive telephoto lenses and larger camera bodies. They have all metal lens mounts in both front and rear, as well as a metal core, to support today's heavy professional camera bodies.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Koen Van de moortel   Expert [Feb 26, 2012]
Strength:

?

Weakness:

- Autofocus works very inaccurate and way too slow; forget action photography.
- Often ugly chromatic abberation.

Tested on Canon EOS 550D with 70-200mm and quite disappointed.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Available At:
davejon   Intermediate [Jun 08, 2005]
Strength:

Image quality is great.

Weakness:

Focus is a bit slower. With the D70 and Sigma lens the EXIF data for focal length and aperture are recorded as if there was no converter attached. So, EXIF data saying 300mm at f/4 really means 420mm at f/5.6 when using this converter.

This is an excellent product. I use it with my Nikon D70 and Sigma 300mm F/4 APO Macro lens for nature. The images I get are very sharp with good color and contrast, even with the aperture wide open. In fact, I don't see any degradation in quality when using this converter. Auto focus is a bit slower, but you get that with any converter.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
thobe   Expert [Aug 11, 2004]
Strength:

Does what no original Nikon TC does: one fits all and supports all features. Good build quality. Good optical quality. When attached to top-notch lenses you may even expect excellent results. Little to (virtually) no vignetting, but this depends on the lens you attach it to. Although I do not really recommend using this TC on the 80-400 VR Nikkor, it works with VR and AF.

Weakness:

Well, it is obviously not dedicated to a particular lens, so use it according to Kenko recommendations and do not expect too much. Well, it slows down the AF. How much, depends both on the illumination and the open aperture of the lens. f2.8 is less a problem than f5.6. But this is true for all TCs and not a particular weakness of the Kenko.

This review refers to the current Nikon-mount AFs version which supports mechanical and "silent wave" AF as well as the VR function. Initially I purchased this TC for the 80-400 VR Nikkor because I was in need for 500 to 600mm focal length. It quickly turned out that the the resulting images could not meet my expectations. It also turned out that it was not the Kenko to be blamed. In the meantime I collected numerous good to excellent images obtained together with 2.8/300, 4/300 AF-S, 70-180 Micro and 90mm Tamron macro lenses. I can only endorse the numerous statements saying a TC demands a superior lens in order to deliver. So far I have no regrets buying this useful piece of equipment and recommend it to all who, like me, are not prepared to accept the limitations set by Nikons product philosophy.

Customer Service

Excellent in Germany, Ha-Pa Team is very customer friendly. My first sample did not support AF-S as it should do, I got it replaced without any problem and fast!

Similar Products Used: Kenko Pro300 2x, Zeiss Mutar 2x
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff Elver   Expert [Jul 29, 2003]
Strength:

It's a great TC that maintains AF with my Nikkor lenses.

Weakness:

none really

I use this with my Nikkor 180 2.8 when the reach is needed. I'm usually shooting Ektachrome 100S for stock photography. The slides turn out very sharp when I use the Kenko TC. If there's a loss of detail, I can't see it with a 10x loupe. I've also used this with my 80-400 Tokina lens. Here the results are less encouraging, but you can still get a reasonable photo.

Customer Service

excellent.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jemini Joseph   Expert [Apr 24, 2003]
Strength:

Optics, Maintains autofocus with Sigma 500/4.5 lens and all other Nikon AF lenses

Weakness:

Slows down autofocus for slow lenses

Greate optics, Hunts little bit for autofocus on my sigma 500/4.5. That may be because the Max aperture of the combo is 6.3. No loss of quality.

Customer Service

Never needed

Similar Products Used: Nikon TC-201
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ilistenifulisten   Expert [Feb 24, 2002]
Strength:

Solid construction. Optics. No vignetting. Autofocuses with f 4.5 lenses on Nikon bodies. Does not slow AF using Sigma HSM lenses.

Weakness:

none

Excellent designed and manufactured. Excellent optics.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Nikon, Tamron, Kenko, Pentax
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jager   Intermediate [Jan 12, 2002]
Strength:

Sharp image. Construction.

Weakness:

Meter reading not accurate (doesn''t affect my picture taking).

Exelent product. I coupled it with my Canon Rebel 2000 and Canon 100-300L f/5.6. So I can get 420mm at f/6.7. On a sunny, clear day I can handhold it and shoot with 100 and 200 ASA film. Overcast conditions require a sturdy tripod, unless shooting a faster ASA. No complaints so far with image quality, although I have not blown any pictures up to 8X10. Note: the Canon converters will not work with the 100-300L--I physically tried it.

Customer Service

None required.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Bob Fately   Expert [Jun 09, 2001]
Strength:

Optically quite good, maintains AF and VR feature on Nikon lenses

Weakness:

Auto focus does slow a bit, and of course one f-stop loss

Definitely worth the 1" of space and 4 oz of weight to carry along - used with the 80-400 AF VR Nikkor you end up with a 560mm f8 with vibration reduction that works - well worth it when you need it.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: various brands of TC
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com