Canon EF 100mm f/2.0 USM 35mm Primes

Available At:
EF 100mm f/2.0 USM

A fast aperture, medium-range telephoto lens.

User Reviews (43)

Showing 1-10 of 43  
Gab3x   Expert [Oct 28, 2009]
Strength:

Sharp
F2.0
Good bokeh
Small
Light
Inexpensive

Weakness:

Sealing

If you do not need macro or the quality of the build of the 135mm f2 lens or you simply do not want to invest the L sums of money then I recommend that you add this lens to your arsenal. This lens will not disappoint in most applications and its versatility as well as its size and weight will mean that you will often use it.

Read a more detailed review on http://ignphotography.blogspot.com/2009/08/review-canon-ef-100mm-f20-usm.html

Similar Products Used: Canon 135mm f2 L
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
alvarock   Intermediate [Jan 07, 2008]
Strength:

Image quality, size, price.

Weakness:

It is not weather sealed so some dust may get into the lens.

This lens rocks: It is fast, sharp even at f/2.0 and focuses quietly. I do not see any distortion on pictures taken with this lens. Contrast is also very good, while light fall-off is barely noticeable. The bokeh produced by this gem is a joy to see. In addition to its optical strengths, the 100mm f/2.0 is relatively small and light. When it is about portraits, I always keep it in my bag (and it never disappoints me). For the price, you are in a win-win situation with this wonderful piece of glass.

Similar Products Used: Canon EF 28mm f/2.8
canon EF 50mm f/1.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jesusdelallata   Expert [Nov 20, 2005]
Strength:

Nice build, sharpness, colors, and f2.0 comes in handy.

Weakness:

On 1.6 crop DSLR, you have to stand back quite a bit.

I've used this lens for about six months now and all I can say is that it is really impressive. When I bought it I was only using film slr's and I used it a few times for portraits. The quality of the images, even when enlarged, are really nice, colorful and sharp. Unfortunately I haven't used this lens much since I got my digital SLR. You have to stand back quite a bit with the 1.6 crop factor. Since I still use my film SLR, and because one day I will have a full frame dslr, I'm planning on keeping this lens. I recently bought a 50mm 1.4 USM lens so I can use with both cameras. I bought this 100mm USM lens for one reason - portraits. The few times I've used it for this application, it has delivered admirably. It's unfortunate that I don't get to use it as often as I would like. But, whenever the need arises, I feel confident having this lens in the bag. For the price, it's a nice bargain.

Customer Service

Never needed it.

Similar Products Used: Canon 100mm f2.8 USM Macro
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
billypat   Intermediate [Jul 15, 2003]
Strength:

• razor sharp optical quality • compact size • tremendous value for money

Weakness:

•none noted

The rave reviews you keep seeing for this lens are true. This lens is really a stunner. If portraits are your thing, I doubt you could find a better 35mm lens at any price. Having owned the Canon 200mm 2.8L for over a year, it's a fine portrait lens, but requires one to be a considerable distance from the subject and can be a bit too "flattening" at times . However, the 100m f2 provides just the right perspective for even tight portraits, while shooting at a comfortable distance. The lens is incredibly sharp, the best non-L lens I've used by far, and much cheaper than them. This is a great lens for street photography, too, as it is quite compact. I read lots of reviews on this lens before dropping the cash for it, and have not been disappointed.

Customer Service

have not needed

Similar Products Used: Canon 200mm 2.8L Canon 17-40mm 4L Canon 28mm 1.8 Canon 50mm 1.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
marksct   Expert [Feb 25, 2003]
Strength:

It's photos!!! Quiet, Fast, and a value.

Weakness:

Only in my knees when I see my prints or slides.

Part of a travel kit (24mm, 35mm, 100mm). Should be in everyone's bag. Excellent for portraiture or short telephoto. Clear, crisp, and colorful photos each time. Excellent in low light situations. Very quiet and fast focusing worth every penny. Don't tell the Leicaphile's, but it is comparibable to the Summicron 90/f2 Asph!

Customer Service

Na

Similar Products Used: Canon 20, 24L, 28 Leica Summicron 35/f2 Asph, 90/f2 Asph.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
samw   Expert [Oct 25, 2002]
Strength:

- Optical Quality - f/2 Max Aperature - Fast Auto-focus - Light/compact

Weakness:

- None

I do a lot of portraiture and tend to compose tight on my subject. That's the key factor that pushed me towards this lens versus the 85mm/1.8. I have been extremely satisfied. The lens is razor sharp, with lightning fast USM autofocus. I've found the lens to be quite versatile for portraiture, as well as travel, indoor sports, and even occasional wildlife.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alexis Pershin   Intermediate [Oct 09, 2002]
Strength:

Optical quality, size

Weakness:

more expensive than 85mm EF

I was not satisfied with performance of my 28-105 USM II at the long end and it was really too slow for portraits, so I was looking for a middle-range telephoto prime. Not so many options available 85mm 1 :1.8 – OK for the portraits (though I think it a little bit too short), too short to my sense as a telephoto. 135SF – no USM, too long 100 Macro – 2.8, rather big So I’ve bought 100mm EF USM 1:2. I can say that I’m satisfied. Optical quality is excellent, it’s very well built and it’s small. Actually it’s on pair with my 28-105 USM II in terms of size. Highly recommended.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: 28-105 USM II Zoom
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
nwaphotographer   Professional [Oct 01, 2002]
Strength:

Exceptionally sharp images even at wide-open apertures; heave (stable), durable, and rugged design; internal focusing; simulatneous manual and auto-focus; fast and quiet focusing

Weakness:

None that I've seen so far.

Probably the best bang-for-the-buck lens I've ever purchased. It's rugged, VERY durable, and very sharp. I use it in my portrait studio as my main portrait lens, and I use it outdoors for virtually everything. The glass is extremely high-quality, and the focusing (internal focusing, which is one of its best features) is super fast and super quiet. Even at wide-open apertures, I get acceptably, even amazingly sharp images, depending on the light. If a subject is brightly-lit, I recommend stopping down at least to 2.8, though 4.0 seems to give the best results. For overcast days or open shade, though, 2.0 will yield equally good results. I've blown images up to 16x20 from this puppy, and I've noticed that it even manages to record facial "fuzz" from about ten feet away. How much sharper could you want a lens? One little tip...when using it for outdoor photography, forego a UV filter and slap a skylight 1a filter on it instead. It'll render skin tones just as they should be in just about any lighting situation.

Customer Service

Haven't needed it yet.

Similar Products Used: Canon EF 85 f1.2; Canon EF 85 f1.8; Canon EF 200mm f2.8 and 300mm f2.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Wong   Expert [Jul 24, 2002]
Strength:

Sharp, well built, silent & extremely fast USM. Weight is just right.

Weakness:

No L tag (but who cares!) This is a L league lens without the L price tag!

I was contemplating b'ween this lens and its sister lens the EF 85mm f/1.8 and decided to get this one instead at it was listed at e-Bay with the price I was willing to pay. When I first held up the lens, I was amazed with the weight of the glass & built quality for a non L series lens! Focussing is extremely fast & its a truly sharp lens, even wide open! This has been by standard lens when shooting sports where I can be closer to the action, primarily Basketball, Karate, etc. It is also an excellent potrait lens and the bokeh produced by this lens is amazing. This gem could easily be given the L tag, but alas, I'm glad its not, otherwise I would have to cough up more do. Now I have a non L lens with a L lens quality & performance!

Customer Service

Non needed for this lens. But CPS Malaysia are simply great! Fast TAT, friendly, professional & reliable!

Similar Products Used: EF 50mm f1.4 USM EF 28mm f/1.8 USM EF 70-200 f/2.8L USM EF 28 - 135 f/3.5 - 5.6 IS USM EF 17 - 35 f2.8L USM
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Bart Steenman   Intermediate [Jul 24, 2002]
Strength:

I was hesitating between buying this lens or the Sigma Macro 105/2.8 Finally I opted for the extra F-stop and the faster AF with simultanious manual focus. The Sigma has very slow AF especially in the Macro position. With small kids continuously moving arround this would have been a problem. I have also used this lens with close-up lenses in front of it, and I was very suprised by the high quality of the pictures. The colors, bokeh and sharpness (min.F4.0) are of professional quality on this lens. If the lens was not so soft wide open, I would have given it 5 stars.

Weakness:

Too soft wide open (not allways a disadvantage with portrait photography)

Excelent portrait lens, light weight, fast AF, F2.0, Very sharp from F4.0 This lens is on my EOS30 most of the time.

Customer Service

Not needed so far

Similar Products Used: EF 50/1.8 II EF 28/2.8 EF 200/2.8 II Sigma 17-35/2.8-4.0 Sigma 24-70/2.8
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 43  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com