Canon EF 135mm f/2.0L USM 35mm Primes

Available At:

Canon EF 135mm f/2.0L USM 35mm Primes 

DESCRIPTION

The fastest 135mm telephoto lens in its class. Ideal for indoor sports and portraits with background blur. Two UD-glass elements correct secondary spectrum for outstanding sharpness and color. Compatible with Extender EF 1.4x and 2x.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 40  
[Feb 02, 2013]
Leo
Expert

Strength:

Maybe one of the best lenses Canon makes. Sharp, fast, very good build. Overall IQ out of this world.

Weakness:

Vignetting to much at F2.0 when use on FF.

135 mm is not my most used prime. But every time I use this lens I am very happy :)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 03, 2009]
Joel
Expert

Strength:

SHARP, black body (not white and obvious), huge focus ring, long hood, very strong, SHARP at F2, sharper as you stop it down, perfect indoor / dark lens. Focuses very fast.

It makes beautiful portraits across the board. Focus on the inside corner of the eyes and watch their eyes just pop out of the frame with amazing color, clarity and sharpness. Get the lighting right and there is no post-processing.

Weakness:

** crickets **

My first L, my first love. This lens is phenomenal. It always delivers, I can always rely on it to get the shot I need. I've owned this lens for about 3 years now and have used it exclusively on a 20D; until this week. I upgraded to a 5DII and it's like getting the lens all over again. It is unbelievably sharp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 19, 2009]
Enche Tjin
Intermediate

Strength:

sharpness wide open, built-quality, appealing bokeh

Weakness:

not very versatile (prime lens), slow AF tracking

is regarded as one of the best three prime lenses that Canon produce (Along with 85mm f/1.2 L USM and 35mm f/1.4 L USM).

The images from this lens are very sharp, contrasty and show a lot of details even in wide open at f/2. The depth of field is very shallow at f/2. As a result, the background will be compressed.

Because of that features, Canon 135mm is ideal for portrait, especially candid portrait, street photography and indoor sports.

Build quality is very good, the best Canon can made. The lens is not as big and heavy as telephoto zoom.

But unfortunately, this lens does not have Image Stabilization built-in. Image stabilization in telephoto is quite important so you can shoot with shutter speed lower than the focal length X crop multiplier. For example, when you attach this lens into crop sensor camera such as Canon Rebel series or 0XD series, then you need to set a shutter speed to at least 1/200 or greater to get a tack sharp result. It is also depend on how steady your hand is. If you have steady hand, then 1/160 will be adequate.

This lens have a decent closing focus (1m) this is better than most of the telephoto zoom range. You can also get a extension tube to get the focusing even closer (.6m with 2x extension tube).
Therefore, this lens will be quite good for macro photography.

Application
The application of the lens will be quiet narrow. Candid photography is one in my mind when I think about this lens. It is because the telephoto range, maximum aperture, and the size is not that big and obtrusive.

The second one will be close-up and head-shoulder portraiture, and then for indoor sports such as volleyball, basketball and so on.

The downside
This lens does not have a wide range of application because the inflexibility of fixed focal length lens (prime lens).

Hide..

Although the focusing is quite fast, but it is not as fast as EF 50mm f/1.4 USM or EF 85mm f/1.8 USM. So in the fast action sport, expect to miss some shots.

Other alternatives:
Other lens that you might consider to buy is Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L or 70-200mm f/4 IS.

They are similar in price. the 70-200mm f/2.8 has more flexibility but bigger. The 70-200 f/4 L IS is great because it has IS but you don't have the luxury of big aperture. The weight of f4L lens is almost the same, but the length is slightly longer.

Other 'budget' telephoto primes alternatives: Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 and 100mm f/2. Both are not as sharp and detailed as the Canon 135mm f/2 but when stopped own to f/2.8-4 they will impressed you.

In conclusion
You will love this lens if you are into close-up portrait, candid photography and indoor sports shooters. With extension tube, you can transform this lens into a super sharp macro lens.

Is it worth it? This lens has a narrow application, so if you are specialized in candid portraiture or indoor sports and want the sharpest lens. This lens is definitely for you.

If you are looking for more versatile lens, then investing on high quality telephoto zoom lens will be better. Check out my website, www.radiantlite.com for more reviews, sample photos and video tour.

Similar Products Used:

Canon 85mm f/1.8, Nikon 85mm f/1.8

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 10, 2008]
kirk1
Professional

Strength:

Best prime I have tested to date. @ f2 it is amazingly sharp, @ anything above that its just gets better...need I say more

Sharp, sharp sharp, and takes converters well

Similar Products Used:

85L

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 01, 2006]
dajon
Expert

Strength:

well made / sharp sharp sharp! / fast af!

Weakness:

none what so ever

I borrowed this lens from a friend and all i have to say is : sharpest lens I have ever used! I use the 70-200f4L and the 300f4L both are great but i did find the fixed 135 a tad bit sharper...just a tad though.

Similar Products Used:

70-200f4L

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 17, 2005]
Christiano
Professional

Strength:

all i mean all.This Canon 135 mm 2,0 rules!!hey man !this one is numero UNO and absolutely worth every dime..its affordable..too.. Gracias Canon.

Weakness:

none-a little heavy ,but that comes with the true PRO category..were up in the super league

This is a really fantastic lens.In short;My most used lens at all ,period.Its become my bread and butter!and a very good investment. Its in the same league as the famed 200 1,8...85mm 1,2 ..300 4,0 and 2,8.! the sharpness ,resolution,bokeh,distorion and true picture quality is a gem. I will sum up the reasons : Its the best clarity i ever experienced from a lens,i do NOT need to correct with photo shop ! The fastness is perfect for sports and Documentary and PJ work in general. The picture you get is TRUE PRO work comparable with german carl zeiss class,and Leica as well. The quality and FEEL is so classic like a Rolex watch and BMW,...yammi. Need i say more,that has not been sayd? GET IT. Gracias Canon,salute.

Customer Service

nope

Similar Products Used:

100 mm 2,0 its not in the same league. many glasses from Carl Zeiss and CZJ..and leica.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2004]
Lionheart
Intermediate

Strength:

Extremely sharp, fast focusing. Quite light despite its size. Even wide open, this lens is sharp edge to edge.

Weakness:

none that I can think of.

Incredible portrait lens. Perfect for people photography. I use this lens a lot for capturing my children at play. Very warm color rendition, awesome bokeh!! Simply the nicest portrait lens I have in my arsenal.

Customer Service

na

Similar Products Used:

ef 135 f2.8 SF

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 12, 2004]
rokkorku
Intermediate

Strength:

- Fast AF - Moderate size - Beautiful "bokeh"

Weakness:

none

Fantastic lens ! Very sharp & "creamy" blur effect ! Just bought second hand lens from good friend. When combined with EOS 3 gives a great balance handling and very fast response ! Very recommended lens !

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used:

70-200 mm f/2.8L IS 100 mm f/2.8 Macro

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 13, 2004]
sotong
Beginner

Strength:

Sharp even wide open Very Sharp when stopped down a little to f2.8 and beyond Beautiful bokeh Very reasonable pricing for this quality

Weakness:

a) Despite the fast F2.0, inclusion of IS would have been great for low light situations where low shutter speeds are useable b) The hood is a little too intimidating c) The AF while generally fast in good light and contrast isn't as fast as my 100/2 and hunts more than my 100/2. It has a tendency to hunt a lot when taking low contrast objects d) On a 1.6 crop camera, the focal length is a little too long

Incredible lens with incredible bokeh and sharpness even wide open. When I printed a photo (blown up) I took of a stadium with many spectators, I could discern all the details of the spectators including their faces. The lens is sharp wide open and stopped down to F4.0, it is incredibly sharp Prior to this, I was using a 100mm f2.0. The 100mm F2.0 was also very sharp although wide open, it was slightly soft. After getting my 135/2, I can discern the pics taken with my 135/2 from the 100/2 by the sharpness of the images especially from f2.0-f2.8 where the 135/2 shines. Beyond F4.0, the difference between the 100/2 and the 135/2 in sharpness is not so apparent. This is probably Canon's most affordable and value for money lens that gives you such breathtaking quality. Other lenses with such quality such as the 200/1.8, 300/2.8, 85/1.2, etc are obscenely expensive. Get it!

Customer Service

None yet

Similar Products Used:

100 mm F2.0

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 15, 2004]
briboy1964
Intermediate

Strength:

Top quality glass elements, build quality.

Weakness:

You must be joking.

Canon's best portrait lens-period. No other lens has the background blur, sharpness, detail and color of this lens. Many people like 85mm as a standard portrait lens-and while Canon makes a very good 85mm lens, this 135mm "L" lens blows it(and many other lenses)away. Seems best shot at f2.8 and f/4-people literally come right out of the photos-with a 3 dimensional look, that is very hard to get from a lens.

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used:

Nikkor AF 85mm f/1.4D(another lens that is INCREDIBLE)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 40  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com