Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fish-Eye 35mm Primes

Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fish-Eye 35mm Primes 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Aug 24, 2008]
Mr Cory
Intermediate

Brillant lens!! Great for vehicle photography, really helps demonstrate the aggressive power of the subject! Also great for landscapes, in the right setting you can barely notice the distortion or emphasis it easily.

Pretty fast AF, a little noisy but can come in handy when you arent looking through the VF. The wide angle is great and comes in handy often.

As many have mentioned the metal lens cap isnt the best and slips off easily. Be very careful with this lens!

Overall, great lens, it has a place in every shoot!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 11, 2008]
Se7enthframe
Professional

Strength:

Distortion looks cool.

Weakness:

I find it not as sharp as I'd want, especially if I'm shooting landscapes.

For what I do and for my clients it's a fun lens. People like the fish eye look. Works great in concerts.
AF could have been a USM, but oh well.

Similar Products Used:

None. Up from that is my 24mm.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 25, 2002]
crgmagee
Professional

Strength:

sharp, light, small. decent AF. Best lens like this i''''ve ever tried. fisheye is the way to go for anylens this wide.

Weakness:

not cheap (if i have to buy new one), need to use gel filters which can be a pain. Plays havoc with the evaluative meter, get to much sky in and the meter under exposes pretty much everything else. best using partial metering

I''''d always wanted a fisheye lens and when this came along s/h at the local shop I had to have it. It is a great lens, the fisheye effect isnt out of hand, just the right amount of distortion, not much bending unless you get right in the edges. As everyone else has said, watch the front element, but the metal hood has been a life saver more than once. I;ve been hit mutiple times from bikes that have just dropped fromn the sky and the lens is still going. I broke off the AF switch cover, but a bit of super glue sorted that. If i ever have to, i''''ll buy another one with no hesitation. The AF isnt the fastest but with my 1n it seems to work quite well in AI Servo mode.

Similar Products Used:

sigma 15mm fish eye sigma 14mm EX tokina 20-35

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 25, 2000]
John Greco
Professional
Model Reviewed: EF Fish-Eye 15mm f/2.8

Strength:

15mm not 16mm, compact, f2.8 apature makes for a good indoor lens as well. Groovy view.

Weakness:

It is a bit hard to clean. Be careful not to scratch the front element. By thy way, I don't wan't to hear from some dope who writes a review here that he finds a lot of circular distortion....

It makes for a great lens to mount on my mountain bike and for remote shooting. It also has the ability to make something dull.....come alive. I am a Fish-eye addict as well. I need help. I have to ween myself from this cooooooool pack of glass baby!

Customer Service

I bought a grey-market lens .....so who knows.

Similar Products Used:

Minolta's 16mm fish-eye. EOS 17-35 L, & their 20mm f2.8.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 16, 2000]
BLAKE PETERSON
Professional
Model Reviewed: EF Fish-Eye 15mm f/2.8

Strength:

The crispness of this lens is amazing. I love this lens way too much. I need to accept my addiction and not use it soo much. I also have a 20mm fixed 2.8 that I thought was the widest I needed but I was wrong... You will love it, just get it.

Weakness:

uagh,...hummm...none that I can think of.

This lens is a fun lens to make your friends look like freaks. I use it a lot. You will too. worth the $$.

Customer Service

none needed.

Similar Products Used:

20mm fixed 2.8.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 01, 2000]
Rich Baillie
Professional
Model Reviewed: EF Fish-Eye 15mm f/2.8

Strength:

Sharp,compact, and useful when only a fisheye will do

Weakness:

addictive ,so be careful

Handy for certain assignments ,don't overuse a fisheye though

Customer Service

Canon is 2nd to none

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 22, 2000]
samy bakon
Professional

Strength:

wide wide wide o ya its wide

Weakness:

Not usm but hey what the h*ll

I ve owned this thing for 10 years and I have gotten over its cool effect. Now I still like it although I think the best fisheye shots are when you can hardly tell at first glance that its from a fisheye. You ll note everyone now charges alot more for this lense. I d buy it again! And now with digital cameras with the 1.6 tele effect I believe I will be using it alot more again. fairly tuff too, I ve dropped,been hit several times and only had to repair it once(in 10 years)! Flare is controlled well for such a wide piece of glass

Customer Service

Broke off af manual switch just like on my 80-200 2.8 but I m hard on my equip.(newsphotog)

Similar Products Used:

4x5s, 8x10s,21/4s,everything

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 21, 2000]
Gregory Drezdzon
Professional

Strength:

This lens allows to get shots that would be otherwise impossible.

Weakness:

None

If you keep you view straight on with the horizon, you can get a minimum of wrap around. I am used to the L-series lenses and do notice that it is not as sharp as them but the lens is a good value.

Similar Products Used:

Canon FD 15mm f:2.8

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 30, 2000]
Aaron Johnson
Expert

Strength:

For the price, this is one of the best deals out there.

Weakness:

None.

I got this lens about 5 years ago and it is still my favorite. When I'm shooting sports, this is the first lens I grab. If I had to buy another one, without hesitation it would be a Canon.

Customer Service

Not needed yet.

Similar Products Used:

Nikon 16mm f 2.8

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 26, 2001]
Monty Earchaed
Intermediate

Strength:

Very crisp and good contrast everywhere

Weakness:

Differcult to compose and picture often appear to outlandish. Uneven lighting at high apertures.

Excellent lens for the money but I eventually got tired of it and got a 17-35.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com