Canon EF 200mm f/1.8L USM Lens 35mm Primes

Available At:
EF 200mm f/1.8L USM Lens

The world's fastest 200mm telephoto lens. Three UD-glass elements eliminate secondary spectrum for sharp images at all apertures. The optics have been designed to give excellent background blur. Try it with the maximum aperture's shallow depth of field.

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
joetheslug   Casual [Jul 26, 2006]
Strength:

Superbly built, picture quality brilliant, never had so many females come and talk to me!
Price, it still holds a high resale value, just hope Canon don't bring out an IS version. Superb in low light.

Weakness:

Weight, but not really any issue for me, use a lightweight monopod with it.
Price in terms of second hand still costs between £1800-£2500, but resale excellent.

Compared to the 70-200mm IS 2.8, this lens produces brighter and more colourful pictures, which one wouldn't spot unless you have both lenses, otherwise don't lose any sleep over it.
Was it worth the money. Well I paid £1500 for the 70-200 from Jessops, so thats £300 less than the 200mm 1.8. However the proof is in the pudding. Since getting the 200mm 1.8 it has been constantly on my camera. The pictures are far more pleasing. That is not to say the zoom is poor cos it is not. The only drawback is th slight increase in weight, but I still handhold this lens. In low light then the pod comes out.
If this lens sold at £500-£1000 then Canon would have had a supply problem, it is just sheer quality. If you have the money by one.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Canon ef 70-200mm is 2.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
SingLO   Intermediate [Jan 28, 2004]
Strength:

ideal for indoor sport very sharp even at f1.8

Weakness:

very expensive and heavy

This is my all time favourite lens. It is ideal for gymnastics and any other indoor sports. Also it can be a very good portrait lens-the beautiful out-of-focus boken is breathtaking. With the 1.6X crop factor of my 10D, it becomes a formidable 320mm f1.8 with extremely fast and snappy AF. Stop down to f2.8 to f4, the image becomes razor sharp that shows dazzling contrast and colours. The large diameter hood is designed to cover the tripod mount when it is mounted in reversed position for transport. It is shame that Canon discontinued this classic speed giant last year.

Similar Products Used: EF 300 f2.8L EF 135 f2L EF 70-200 f2.8L and many Contax Zeiss glasses
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Terrey   Expert [Dec 01, 2003]
Strength:

Image quality. AF Speed. Handling. Oh-My factor. BAckground blur

Weakness:

Weight. Sort of expensive, but worth it.

Recently rented the 200 1.8L for a weekend shoot. My son plays Ice Hockey and my 80-200 2.8L just couldn't give me enough speed. I teamed this with my 135 2L and left all my other lenses home. I had seen the lens and looked at the spec sheets and wondered how good it is. Well, I am amazed at the quality. Using my 10D (focal length is 1.6x for 320mm)at ISO 800 I was shooting 1/500 @ f2. Not alot of DoF, but the images are the best I've gotten in 4 years of shooting hockey. I also shot my horses with it in daylight with outstanding results. Time to go shopping. This lens with a 1.4 will be my new workhorse.

Customer Service

My 80-200 has some barrel loosening going, but from what I have read, I don't know if I want to send it to Canon for repair.

Similar Products Used: Tokina AT-X AF Pro 28-70 2.8, Canon 135 f2L, Canon 80-200 2.8L, Canon 300 f4L,Canon 300 2.8L
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
Inner Visions   Professional [Sep 10, 2003]
Strength:

This thing will improve the images you shoot because 1. With f/1.8 even low light dilema's become a thing of the past and 2. Image quality is like nothing else with excellent contrast & true colours.

Weakness:

Only weakness so far is my arms trying to hold this thing up- at 3kg- its a beast!. But what would you expect with all that fast glass. I'm still grinning anyway.

WOW! The image quality from this 'weapon' is unbelievable. It is razor sharp even at f/1.8, infact it is equally superb across the whole range. This bit of kit took some convincing for approval with the wife but even she now acknowledges the stunning image quality improvement in my shots, even comparing it to my beaut 70-200f/2.8L which I think is terrific.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: 70-200f/2.8L
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
GODZILLA   Intermediate [Aug 03, 2003]
Strength:

Very sharp, fast and high contrast! People smile when they see the lens!

Weakness:

It's so heavy!! Can't lift the lens for long time unless your bicep is big.

I've been using EF16-35mm f/2.8L USM lens on my EOS 1D all the time till I bought this EF 200m f/1.8L lens. This is the best lens I've ever used so far. Lucky I didn't buy EF70-200mm f/2.8L IS. If you go to ebay, there're a lot of it but very rare you can find EF200mm f/1.8L. It's like comparing to honda civic with Ferrari modena. I've seen the lens sold as low as $1500 to as high as $2800 in Ebay depends on the condition. Good Luck!

Customer Service

Excellent job!

Similar Products Used: Sold all my maxxum, nikon, sony camera sets..Canon has the largest and the best lenses in the world!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
adinw   Expert [Mar 16, 2003]
Strength:

excellent built. AF speed is fast than Canon EF 70-200 mm f/2.8 L IS because their have different ring USM type.

Weakness:

minimal focus distance.

I really like this lens design and optic. Very manly and stronger. I have the old EOS RT and AF speed equal when I compare to 1V - especially at bright condition. First time I use it to take some photographs to ones of fenomenal Indonesian actrees. She ask me about this big lens. And my answer this is like my forever wife with white skin. Sharp, fast AF and some feature that other lens didn't have like focus preset, manual speed scale, etc.

Similar Products Used: Canon EF 70-200 mm f/2.8 L IS USM
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
crashcanon   Intermediate [Feb 07, 2003]
Strength:

fast..sharp...

Weakness:

Canon service---BAD don't drop or break Canon equipment.

Lens is awesome..

Customer Service

POOR..... I dropped about this lens after only using a five or six times,(I've only had it for two months) about a foot of the ground and bent the bezel around the end of the lens. It still worked fine, the bezel is like a metal ring with felt on it on the outside edge of the lens. But, since it was so new I decided to send it to Canon service to fix the bezel and have it checked. That was a month and a half ago. They charged my credit card 460 dollars three weeks ago (01-23-03)and I'm still waiting.... Called this morning, they promised to call back this afternoon. NOT. Canon has great stuff..But service is terrible. I switched to Canon about two years ago, I now know why Canon owners have so much backup equipment.

Similar Products Used: Canon 135 2.0, 70-200 2.8, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Lorenzoo   Professional [Sep 06, 2002]
Strength:

Fast focus with Eos3, solid build...

Weakness:

Must have iron arm or must use a monopode

A big lens, with the largest apperture ! For ping pong without flash, it's the only one ! 2.8 is not enough. Put a 1.4 converter and you will have a good fast 280 mm.

Customer Service

Not yet

Similar Products Used: 70 200 2.8, 200 2.8, 85 1.2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bloomquist18   Casual [Aug 24, 2002]
Strength:

GREAT for low light. Super Sharp. Great background blur. When they see you coming with this thing, the doors open right up. And the girls smile BIG!

Weakness:

NONE, Well it costs 3K.

OK, I've read about this lens for a long time & I thought yea, right! Well, EVERYTHING is true! Super sharp, attention getter, low light eater, babe magnet, Heavy, etc. If you're into sports, or need to shoot in LOW light, just get it. I also own the 70-200 f/2.8 IS, and the 200 f/1.8 blows it away. Great for football, a little short for soccer, but add the 1.4X and you're in business. And yes, the NIKON users give you the evel eye when they see you with it. Mount on a Gitzo 1588 mono, with a Ideesign Q-Top, and shoot away. Really, this thing is GREAT, not better than sex, but close.......

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used: Canon 50 f/1.8 Canon 135 f/2.0 Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Boeing Lu   Intermediate [Jul 30, 2000]
Strength:

Great optical design
Small size
Quick focusing
Superb image quality
Cheap

Weakness:

The focus ring is a little bit lose.

It is one of the best lens Canon made. Recomend for outdoor view, potriat and sports.

Similar Products Used: Canon EF70-200 F2.8 L
Canon EF70-200 F4 L
Canon EF180 F3.5 Macro L
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com