Canon EF 28mm f/1.8 USM 35mm Primes

Canon EF 28mm f/1.8 USM 35mm Primes 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Aug 13, 2018]
nchoudhury


Strength:

Super sharp, fast autofocus and beautiful bokeh.

Weakness:

Nothing but the price.

Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2017
OVERALL
RATING
3
[Sep 21, 2009]
agphotography
Professional

Strength:

F/1.8 is a definitely bonus!
Fast AF
Decent build quality
Not too expensive
Works on any EF-Mount camera.

Weakness:

Could be a tad bit sharper wide open (fixable in post production however)
Small amounts of CA can be seen at wide apertures (also correctable)
Plastic vs. metal construction (personal preference)

I have discovered a hidden gem in the canon EF lens lineup! The EF 28mm f/1.8 USM lens has never really received exceptional praise or glowing reviews. I honestly don't know why!


On digital SLRs (namely full frame and 1.6x bodies) it's perfect for available light photography.

On the 5DmkII this lens is an excellent street shooter, 28mm is one of the classic focal lengths to use in photojournalism. Plus having f/1.8 for lower light is just wonderful.

On the 40D/50D/etc. this lens becomes a 45mm (effectively) which is a great normal focal length.

Overall, this lens is an exceptional value for anyone, it's inexpensive, sharp, fast. What's not to love?

Customer Service

I've dealt with canon service in Irvine and they are always wonderful.

Similar Products Used:

Canon EF 50mm f/1.4
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 16, 2009]
psyrens
Intermediate

Strength:

fastest 28mm lens on the market, nicely built, fast and reliable AF

Weakness:

heavy color fringing at high contrast edges.

Well, I don't want to repeat other review's comment. I just added one thing.
This lens is generally nice, but the big problem is heavy color fringing.
When I take shots in high contrast conditions, it almost always shows red on left and green on right at every aperture.
This is bad because those kind of high contrast situation is very common when shooting landscape. The most common situation is trees with sky in background.
Also, at wide apertures green smears at high contrast edges.
This makes the image looks cheap, especially in print.
Beside that, this is nice lens: fastest 28mm lens on the market, nicely built, fast and reliable AF etc.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 15, 2003]
Lthlwpn1979
Intermediate

Strength:

Great apperature capabilities Fast USM Very sharp pictures Good balance and look Internal focusing keeps lens small 58mm filters easy to find

Weakness:

Canon could be nice and begin to include hoods with their lenses like almost everybody else.

For working outdoors, this is a great lens for scenary shots. I have had no problems with abberation, no vignetting with Heliopan slim filters, and no flaring with the proper hood (which is conviently sold sererately). It balances nice on my Rebel and looks nice too. The autofocus USM is quick and fairly accurate unless in deep woods (there's always that 1 twig!). The lense does not extend while focusing which helps prevent dust getting inside. The lense is small, only about 2 inches, so it fits into a vest pocket with plenty of room for film. The body is VERY sturdy and manual focusing is geared well.

Customer Service

not neeeded

Similar Products Used:

Canon fd 50mm

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 27, 2000]
George Wada
Professional
Model Reviewed: EF 28mm f/1.8 USM

Strength:

Great lens for available light photography. With a combo of 28, 50 and 85 1.8 lens, you can duplicate the more expensive 28-70L lens at less cost.

Weakness:

None, other than it is not all inclusive as a 28-70L lens.

A great fast lens at an affordable price.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used:

Vivitar 19-35/3.5-4.5 EF
Canon 28-105/3.5-4.5 EF
Canon 28-70/3.5-4.5ll EF
Canon 50/1.8 MK1 EF
Canon 85/1.8

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 10, 2000]
Gary Richards
Expert

Strength:

fast, quiet auto focus and f/1.8

Weakness:

not as sharp as 28 f/2.8
and price

I use this lens only in churches where i need F1.8 and do not consider it as sharp as EF 28 2.8 but is well made and nice to use on EOS 300, 5, 50E

Customer Service

never needed

Similar Products Used:

EF 28 2.8 EF 35 2.0
EF 50 1.4 EF 85 1.8
EF 100 2.0 EF 200 2.8
tamron sp90 2.8 macro
EF 28-105 3.5-4.5
EF 28-135 IS EF50 1.8II
EF 75-300 Is

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 16, 2001]
Peter Hughes
Expert

Strength:

Small, fast, sharp. Well corrected for spherical aberration.

Weakness:

Surprised to find a relatively high level of chromatic aberration at the corners.

A fine lens. Highly recommended (with the above reservation).

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 26, 2001]
Andrew Caswell
Expert

Strength:

Optically competent;
Fast;
Solid construction; and,
Good value.

Weakness:

Not quite in the “L” bracket, but neither is the price; and,
A lens hood is mandatory and should be included.

Solid and competent, rather than inspirational - I take about 10% of my shots with this lens and it justifies is place in my bag.

Customer Service

No experience.

Similar Products Used:

[1] I use a range of fixed lenses.
14mm - 10%
28mm – 10%
50mm – 15%
135mm – 35%
300mm – 20%
100mm macro – 10%.
[2] Various – notably 28 mm f2.8 SMC Pentax.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 10, 2001]
Mark Wrathall
Intermediate

Strength:

Light, compact, fast, low distortion, low light fall off, USM, FTM.

Weakness:

None

I bought this and the 85/1.8 second hand to replace the 28-80/2.8-4L as I didn't like the distortion, weight and light fall off of the zoom.

The 28 meets my expectations. It balances nicely on the EOS 50. Distortion is vastly better than the L zoom, as is light fall off. It Vignettes a little wide open with a normal polarizer.

It's sharpness is fine. For the price it is an excellent lens. Luckily Canon didn't call it an L (it has an aspheric element) as then it would have cost more.

Customer Service

Not tried

Similar Products Used:

FD 28/2.8 & 28/2, EF 28-80/2.8-4L, EF 28-105/3.5-4.5

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2001]
M V
Intermediate

Strength:

1. Fast: f1.8
2. Bright view: f1.8
3. Ring USM - fast focusing, quiet, gives you full time manual focusing
3. Good bokeh (background blur)
4. Well built

Weakness:

Lens tests show that it is worse than the f2.8 version

I am willing to carry around only two (prime) lenses, a short and a tele. I had a Sigma 24mm f2.8, but found the (perspective) distortion to be objectionable for people shots, and hence was looking for a 28mm. I chose this one because of the strengths listed above. f1.8 is one and a half stops faster faster than f2.8, and it makes a big difference for me when it comes to hand held people shots in low light. I just shot 2 rolls of Kodak Ektachrome 200 slide film with this lens and the results are outstanding. As someone else mentioned above you can save $$$ and duplicate (outdo in fact) the much coveted 28-70 f2.8L by the three primes: 28mm f1.8, 50mm f1.8 and 85mm f1.8.

Similar Products Used:

Sigma 24mm f2.8

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com