Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L USM 35mm Primes

Available At:
EF 300mm f/2.8L USM

Out-of-production autofocus telephoto lens.

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
filmbuster   Professional [Dec 13, 2003]
Strength:

fast 2.8,good weight

Weakness:

none

oh yes the 300 2.8L telephoto lens. I snagged one back in 97 brand new. Tack sharp,works well with 1x converter,sharp contrasty lens,at six pounds you still can hand hold it. I haven't tried the new IS version but I just acquired the new Canon 400 2.8 IS lens,need more time to report back on it. but if the 400 lives up to the old 300 2.8 then I'm in for a real treat.

Similar Products Used: canon 50 2.5 macro,17-35 2.8L,28-70 2.8L,70-200 2.8L(non IS version) and Canon 400 2.8L plus life size converter and 1.4 teleconverter.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
eos4me   Professional [Dec 18, 2001]
Strength:

sharpness, contrast, AF speed, bullet proof construction

Weakness:

none found yet

The EF 300 2.8L has been the standard of sports shooters since it was intoduced. As a motorsports shooter I have to shoot everything from a very close <1 m to as far away as 1/2 km. This means I have to carry around a LOT of glass, EF 17-35 2.8L, EF 28-70 2.8L, EF 70-200 2.8L are the standard track lenses in the bag. The EF 300 2.8L is my normal lens because it''s incredibly sharp and contrasty, has very fast AF and is extremely versatle. With the zooms and eF 300 2.8L I add an EF 1.4x and/or EF 2x converters to the EF 300 2.8L and have the most flexible fastest focusing 35mm SLR system available anywhere covering a focal length ranging from 17mm to 600mm with AF and manual focus out to 840mm when used with the 12mm extention tube combining EF 1.4x and EF 2x converters.

Customer Service

CPS is the best!

Similar Products Used: Canon EF 70-200 2.8L, EF 200 1.8L, EF 200 2.8L, EF 300 4L, EF 300 4L IS, EF 400 2.8L
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom Just Olsen   Intermediate [Aug 14, 2000]
Strength:

Very sharp, contrasty, fast in all ways. Despite it's size and weight; quite handy, - possible to shoot hand held at fast shutter speeds

Weakness:

Price, weight (somewhat)
No room for lense protection (filter)

Possibly just as sharp as 'The World's Sharpest Tele-Lense' (Canon 200/1,8). No differense in contrast when using x1,4 converter,- a little 'softer' when applying x2 converter, but still excellent result. Just fine when using a single-leg pod, but fully possible to shoot hand held for short periods. -Really a lense for the very special purposes. - If you don't have the money; buy Canon's excellent 200/2,8 and a converter. You feel 'stupid' buying such a large peice of equipment that will be used (possibly) only for some 5% of you pictures.

Customer Service

Expensive (Norway, Sweden)

Similar Products Used: 17-25/2,8 28-70/2,8 200/2,8 50/1,0
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
T. Searing   Expert [Jul 28, 2000]
Strength:

Fast Focus, crystal clear.

Weakness:

None that I find, if to fast could be a weakness. You will burn some film.

Expensive but worth it, rent it and try it you will then go buy it....

Customer Service

Canon Service good

Similar Products Used: Canon: 100-400 IS, 75-300;400 f/2.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian Garrett   Intermediate [Jul 20, 2000]
Strength:

Phenominally sharp! Even w/ 2x converter it's remarkable!

Weakness:

Expensive. Try renting one. Heavy; you really need a mono/tripod for more than very short sessions.

If you can afford it, you'll not be dissapointed. The weight is a bit to bare, but your images will prove it's worth the effort.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: 75-300 3.5-5.6 Obviously not in the same universe as the 300 2.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
Rich B.   Professional [Apr 07, 2000]
Model Reviewed: EF 300mm f/2.8L USM
Strength:

Unbelievably Sharp !!!!!. Just incredible. Fast Autofocus

Weakness:

NONE !!!!

Probably the sharpest 300mm ever made. Autofocus is fast and sure

Customer Service

Canon CPS is the Best

Similar Products Used: Nikon 300/2.8 and Tamron 300/2.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chuck szazbo   Intermediate [Dec 02, 2000]
Strength:

Superb image quality, usefull for many types of work when combined with the teleconverters. Have used it for various sports, wildlife, public events, and it has become my favorite outdoor portrait lens.

Weakness:

auto focus slows noticably with teleconverters. Not a weakness of the lens, but a charicteristic of the eos extenders.

My lens has been around the block a few times, and is very ugly but works flawlessly.
I wanted a 400 f2.8L, but after using one for a weekend speed skating event, found it's weight too obtrusive. I then compared the 300f2.8 and the 500f4.5, using ach for a weekend, and bought the 300. Combined with the extenders it is a very versital lens and the optical quality is as good as anything I have ever used in 35mm (and I have used a few systems and some of the best rated eos lenses out there).
A little short for big time wildlife work, but just about right for sports and covering public events when you can't get a front row spot in front of a speaker or performer.
I love using this lens for portraits.
Now that the IS version is all the rage,used prices are dropping, making it a better value.

Customer Service

good

Similar Products Used: 75-300IS, 70-200 f2.8L with tc's, 400 f2.8, 500 f4.5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Chris Valentine   Professional [Mar 19, 2001]
Strength:

Ultra sharp; tank-like construction, even on my old, battered example; front element recessed and protected by rubber edge to lens barrel, even without the deep lens hood.

Weakness:

Non-removeable tripod collar; hood could be easier/faster to attach; tripod foot only has the smaller thread size.

This lens is a 'must have' for sports shooters - I bought it for ice hockey where you really need the speed. AF is fast and silent. I've since tried the IS version and wasn't entirely impressed, although I'd probably use the IS feature for other subjects (a little slow to react for hockey). A real bargain if you can find a decent one second hand - save yourself at least $1400 over a new one, and half the price of a new IS version.

Customer Service

None needed so far, although the mount and internal flocking really needs replacing.

Similar Products Used: Minolta AF 400mm f4.5 APO G - ok so not the same focal length but an interesting comparison nonetheless; Canon's IS version; Nikon versions but only at trade shows.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dan Allen   Professional [Mar 16, 2001]
Strength:

Impeccable build quality
Phenomenal optics
Quick autofocusing

Weakness:

Expensive
Heavy
Cumbersome

I've always wanted one of these lenses and I finally got the money for one. It is an amazing lens! It is worth the money if you use it a lot. I have not used it as much as I would like (partly due to its size and weight). Do not buy this lens without buying the EF 2X converter, as it is too short for wildlife and many other applications without it. The color contrast and sharpness are much better than non L/Flourite lenses. The color is not much if any better than the Nikon AF 300mm f/4 ED-IF lens, but it is a stop faster and its autofocus is both much faster and much quieter. If you are on a budget, consider the Canon EF 100-300mm f/5.6L lens. Although it is much slower (2 stops along with noisy older non-USM autofocus), its color and quality are excellent and it is a lot smaller and less expensive.

Customer Service

Never needed

Similar Products Used: Nikkor AF 300mm f/4 ED-IF, Canon EF 100-300mm f/5.6L, Canon FD 300mm f/5.6
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
Percy Mui   Professional [Aug 15, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent color, contrast and sharpness!
Fluorite!
Can be used with 2x and 1.4x EF teleconverters. Very flexible lens.
Very fast focusing, still beating out 99% of the AF lenses out there.
Variable speed manual focus selection. Extremely nice feature for critical manual focus.
Focus preset ring comes in handy. Just preset focus (such as a hoop at a basketball game) and it will return to that point when the preset ring is nudged.

Weakness:

Weight. At 6.3 pounds, this needs a monopod or tripod for extended shooting.

Focus preset switch can be bumped by accident. You can increase the friction of the switch so it doesn't bump on as much by accident but you'll have to take apart the panel.

This is what a 300mm 2.8 lens SHOULD be. Sharp, contrasty and absolutely beautiful color rendition. Sharpness wise, this would beat out every 300mm lens that I've seen, with the exception of Canon's new IS versiion. Color rendition is possible through Canon's use of fluorite. No ED glass "green/blue" shifting.

Sharpness wise, this is one of the best lenses in any focal length I've seen. Only beat out by Canon's 85mm 1.2L EF and, of course, their 200mm 1.8L EF. These two lenses would edge out the 300 2.8L EF in terms of sharpness, but not in color rendition. Contrast wise, the 300 2.8L EF would edge out the 200 1.8L EF by about 5 percent. Barely noticable, but it is there. (Kodachrome 64, 200 and Provia F (rdpIII) use for subjective evaluations.)

A very flexible lens when coupled with the 1.4x and 2x EF extenders. 300 2.8 becomes a nice 600 5.6 for wildlife shooting. Light enough to carry around but not so heavy as to cause semi permanent back injury! When coupled with the 2x AND 1.4x extenders (place 12mm ext tube in between), it becomes a nice manual focus 840mm at f/8 lens. Only possible due to the generous amount of backfocus. This was originally designed so you can use the lens in sub zero weather. (temp compensation)

Canon's flagship lens from 1987 to 1996 until the IS series lens was introduced in the same focal length. This lens cause many a Nikon fanatic to "jump ship" due to it's near silent focusing, sharpness, contrast and unbeatable color rendition in the 35mm format. The newer IS lens is better corrected in sharpness and color, but not by much. No other lens maker can even come close to the ability to capture the depth in hard to reproduce colors (reds, violets). The "best of breed" in 300mm lenses. No sports shooter should be without this lens in their arsenal.

If you have the money and you find this lens used, pick one up! You can't go wrong with this lens for sports shooting. Always use the lens hood if possible.

(Sidenote...Takahashi, a telescope maker, had Canon help them with their fluorite lenses in 1977. Now they are considered one of the most accurate due to the use of fluorite. Scopes with ED glass can't even come close due to their inherent color shifting. For more info check out http://www.takahashiamerica.com )

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com