Contax Planar T* 50mm f/1.7 35mm Primes

Planar T* 50mm f/1.7

The standard lens in the system, featuring the same optical performance as the f/1.4 50mm lens in a more compact package.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
bmoc   Intermediate [Dec 17, 2004]
Strength:

Well built, sharp, good colors, very cheap, small.

Weakness:

Found myself needing closer focus and traded it for a 50/1.4.

Great lens to enter the Contax system with.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Zeiss 50/1.4, Nikon 50/1.4AFD, Leica Summicron 40/2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
VincentD   Intermediate [Jan 16, 2004]
Strength:

Fast, has that warm romantic feeling that CZ is noted for. Color rendition is great.

Weakness:

None

Very sharp wide open or stoped down. Great Bokeh. It is, size wise, smaller than the 50 1.4. This one is the MM version and works well with my RX and Aria. I like it a lot.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: CZ 50 1.4ae (Also Great) Yashica Ml 50 1.9(Good cooler than Zeiss but just as sharp)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick R   Expert [Feb 20, 2003]
Strength:

Small, light, cheap and optically superlative.

Weakness:

Close focus distance.

I own both this lens and the 1.4. Of course I don't need both, it's just the way things panned out. So - which is better? I don't know. They're both fantastic. This one is smaller and lighter, and mates bette with my 139 - the 1.4 is a better match with the 137MA.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Nikon 50mm f1.8 Canon EF 50mm f1.8 Pentax 50mm f2 Yashica 50mm f1.7ML Zeiss Planar 50mm f1.4 And lots and lots of others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Christin   Expert [Feb 09, 2003]
Strength:

-super smooth focus and handling -high resolution -great contrast -wonderful colors

Weakness:

none

This is a very fast, very sharp lens. I use it with the Contax 139 and they go beautifully together. It's a perfect travel combination, lightweight yet solid feel. The lens is a perfect balance for this camera. I've just shot some rolls of family portraits and they're fantastic. Ok, the clarity of the lens shows up every freckle and hair but that's the character of someone.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Canon EF 50mm F1.4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris Lau   Intermediate [Feb 09, 2003]
Strength:

light weight 190g sharp and saturated colour Zesis len but cheaper than Nikon and Canon

Weakness:

60 mm min focus range

I use Nikon system before, since I purchase contax T3 compact camera, I addicted into Zesis tone and color. I buy a 2hand FX3 body, cost $80, with P50 F1.7. the result is excellent, retain sharp image @ F2.8.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Nikkor 50mm F1.4 AIS Canon EF 50mm F1.8 II
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AlejandroM   Intermediate [Jul 16, 2002]
Strength:

Superb image quality. Compact and lightweight Really cheap

Weakness:

None

This is my default lense. It´s light, compact, very well built and sharp. I find that it delivers excellent images both in slides and B&W being always clear, colorful and super sharp images. It´s really hard to see the differences with the Planar 50 f1.4 and this lense is less than half the price. This is a lense that you can trust in every situation, with every film and in every light situation. Just great.

Customer Service

Not needed yet.

Similar Products Used: Other Minolta´s, Canon´s and Nikon´s normal primes
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Isaac Wong   Intermediate [Jun 26, 2002]
Strength:

Everything a "normal" lens should do. Doesn't cost you an arm and a leg like other Zeiss lenses.

Weakness:

None.

Perhaps one of the cheapest Zeiss lens, but not the least in terms of quality. Indeed, it is quite an excellent lens which lives up to the expectations of Zeiss users. When the lens is wide open at f/1.7, it is just a little bit soft but it is in a nice kind of way soft. Otherwise the sharpness is superb, as is the colour and saturation. The pictures it produces are so vivid that you feel like you are looking at the real things.

Customer Service

None needed.

Similar Products Used: A 30+ year old Minolta 58mm f/1.4 prime.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard Hughes   Casual [Mar 19, 2002]
Strength:

Light excellent image quality in all respects

Weakness:

Only a two foot minimum focus, though this is easily (but not conveniently)overcome with an extension tube

Happy to write the first review of this excellent lens. Very sharp indeed excellent contrast and colour rendition. In common with nearly all my Zeiss lenses the images have to be blown up to really appreciate the quality on offer. I use Fuji Velvia slide film and the results are just amazing, my pictures often look better than reality, absolutely first class. I also use this lens as a macro lens with some extension tubes and the results are excellent except for a slightly distorted image field but hey what versatility (wish I had a proper Zeiss macro though)

Customer Service

Not needed (yet!)

Similar Products Used: Many the best being an old Pentax screw thread but it was different rather than better not as sharp or as "lively"
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Glen   Intermediate [Feb 24, 2002]
Strength:

Reasonably priced, razor sharp

Weakness:

None

Excellent lens, razor-sharp, vivid colors. If your photograph includes a nearby wall poster for example, every line of print is readable. Other than the extra half-stop of light it gives up nothing in quality to the CZ 50mm/1.4.

Similar Products Used: CZ 50mm/1.4, Yashica 50mm/1.4, Nikon 50mm/1.8 AIS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com