Konica Minolta Hexanon 50mm/F2.0 35mm Primes

Hexanon 50mm/F2.0

Konica has developed three interchangeable M-HEXANON lenses for use with the HEXAR RF body. The "normal" 50mm/f2 lens has the brightest aperture setting in this series.

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
SushmaS   [Jan 16, 2018]
Pros: test
Cons: -
Price: -   New/Used: -    Year Purchased: -
OVERALL
RATING
5
Greg Chappell   Expert [Dec 31, 2002]
Strength:

Build quality, optical quality

Weakness:

The Konica name alone will guarantee a large loss in value compared to buying the Leica brand if you buy new, which I did. That is the only weakness. Buy a mint example used and you'll come out WAY ahead.

Ever wanted to own a Leica system but couldn't justify the expense? Here's your chance with the Hexar RF and its' lenses. Having owned prior to this a Leica M6 outfit that included the current 50/2 Summicron with built-in hood I have to say this 50/2 Hexanon is fully the equal on all fronts. Build quality is exquisite-quite simply as good as it gets, which is to say fully the equal of the Summicron. Optically sharp, sharp, sharp. Even the mechanical "feel" is impressive. F-stops at full and half-stops and are very positive & smooth. Focus is buttery smooth and very pleasant to use. I hope you get the picture here! The body Hexar RF body itself is quite different from the M6 in use (but just as fun!), but the Hexanon lenses compare absolutely to the Leica equals. If you had one of each and had to identify them with your eyes closed you'd probably guess wrong half the time.

Customer Service

Bought the extra warranty service, meaning my outfit is guaranteed for 5 years. Have not needed yet and don't anticipate the need with the lenses.

Similar Products Used: Leica M
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
amateriat   Expert [Dec 06, 2002]
Strength:

Lifelike palpability in sharpness and contrast, subtly rendered out-of-focus highlights (you know, the "b" word). Mechanical feel and build quality is on a par with the other M-Hexanons, which is to say it's up there with the very, very best.

Weakness:

None.

About the only thing humble about this lens is the focal length. Then again, the 50mm lens is rather underrated in its usefulness. Wonderful.

Customer Service

None needed.

Similar Products Used: Leica 40mm f/2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
patotts   Intermediate [Oct 22, 2002]
Strength:

Very sharp, nice tonality, great bokeh and most of all a fantastic value. I cannot see the difference in terms of output between this lens and the Summicron 50/2 I used to have at 2-3 times the price. Easy and fast to focus. I bought this lens to use on my Leica M6TTL and so far I have encountered no problems whatsoever.

Weakness:

The built in hood is pretty weak. It is larger than a Summicron 50/2 but by no means big.

An excellent allround rangefinder lens that delivers outstanding quality to and an unsurpassed value.

Customer Service

Not used for this lens. I've dealt with Konica Service for a Hexar AF I used to have and they were very responsive.

Similar Products Used: Leica Summicron 50/2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Davidde Stella   Expert [May 10, 2002]
Strength:

Just sharp as anything. The perect M-mount 50.

Weakness:

Built-in lens hood is a bit useless. Konica would have been better off including a vented 40.5mm hood that would not block the rangefinder.

The Konica Hexanon 50/2 is certainly one of the great optics of all time. Loosely based on the Summicron lens design, the build and quality are indistinguishable from the equivalent expensive German product.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used: Canon 50/1.8 in Leica Screwmount. Konica SLR Hexanons 50/1.7, 57/1.2, 40/1.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Detlef Rehn   Intermediate [Apr 18, 2002]
Strength:

sharpness, contrast etc etc...

Weakness:

none

together with the 2/50 Summicron the best 50mm-lens i´ve ever seen

Customer Service

not needed yet

Similar Products Used: Summicron 2/50; Pentax SMC 1,8/50
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jsmith45   Expert [Oct 13, 2001]
Strength:

Optical quality, build quality, price. You would pay many times the retail price for a comparable Leica M lens.

Weakness:

None

Stunning clarity, resolution, contrast, and build quality. I cannot imagine getting better results from a 50/2 RF lens. Simply magnificent.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used: 50/1.5 Summarit, 50/1.8 Serenar, 50/1.2 Canon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rouard Etienne   Intermediate [Aug 26, 2000]
Strength:

Bien fini. Très beau matériel. La bague de MAP est moe¨lleuse et ferme à la fois. La luminosité est exemplaire. Précision de MAP incroyable. Ouverture à f:2 très pratique par rapport à n'importe quel zoom, forcément moins lumineux. Je l'ai reçu avec l'Hexar RF. Donc, le prix : ???
Pas de vignettage à pleine ouverture et un piqué extraordinaire.
Aucune distotrion notable. Réponses Photo l'a classé dans ses "TOP ACHATS" sans hésitation : même performance que l'équivalent en Leica. C'est dire. Et pour 4000FF seuelement?

Weakness:

J'aurais préféré un 35mm avec mon Hexar RF. Le 50mm est un peu limite pour les photos "dans la foule", les intérieurs, etc. Mais ce n'est pas cela qui remet en cause la qualité intrinsèque du caillou.

Exceptionnel sous tout rapport! Hé les leicaïstes : courrez l'acheter avant rupture de stocks!

Customer Service

? Je compte acquérir le Skopar "Classic" 35mm de Voigtländer. Monsieur Konica ne fabrique pas de 35mm en monture M pour l'instant...

Similar Products Used: Canon f:1.4 pour A1.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dante Stella   Expert [May 25, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Hexanon 50mm/F2.0
Strength:

Stunning optical performance (symmetrical double-Gauss; 6 elements in 5 groups) from a non-Leica maker; LD and multicoated throughout; heavy metal barrel; ten-blade (=bokeh) aperture that is quiet and precise; Leica M mount; standard 40.5mm filters (not 39mm); built-in shade; easy-to-grab focusing grip.

Weakness:

Unusually heavy for something that the manual says is made of "alumite." If it"s that heavy using aluminum, I"d hate to see brass. I could do without the pull-out lens shade, because it"s the kind of thing you never remember to use. Leica users will be distressed that there is no focusing "knob," but for those of us who came in from the grab-n-twist SLR world, the Hexanon is much easier to handle.

If you want a Leica-class lens with bokeh better than a Leica 50/2, this is your stop. Well-centered, usable wide-open and a great lens for overall shooting - and outstanding for portraits. All in all, a well-made hand-built precision lens.

If you consider that this adds a minimal amount (~$250) to the price of the Hexar RF body when you buy it in a kit, it"s a steal - cheaper than any *used* Summicron. Even new, it"s not that expensive. Is it an optical match for the Summicron? Yes. Does it beat the Summicron in bokeh? Yes.

But then again, Konica has been making optics for 125 years; Leitz/Leica for 75. It gives you a little bit of perspective.

Customer Service

None should be needed. This lens is a tank, and if anything, it will break *you*!

Similar Products Used: 50/2 Leitz Summicron Wetzlar; 50/1.2 Canon LTM; 50/1.5 Jupiter-3 LTM; 50/1.5 Canon LTM; 50/1.8 Canon LTM; 50/2 Jupiter-8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Henrik Rundgren   Expert [Sep 23, 2000]
Strength:

Tack sharp.
Quality ooze.

Weakness:

None really.

Borrowed a Hexar RF with this lens and what I saw made me forget I hated my first camera; a Konica SLR... I doubt leicas equivalent is better. I doubt any lens is better. My Contax G 45mm2.0 performs just as well but as I prefer MF I wish I could stick this lens on the G2...
Why can't Contax release a MF Rangefinder with the same lens line-up as the G2? With a 135mm and sugar on top... I would be FIRST in line...

Customer Service

Wouldn't have a clue.

Similar Products Used: Contax 45mmG2.0
Contax 50mm1.4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com