Leica 90mm Elmarit-M f/2.8 35mm Primes

Leica 90mm Elmarit-M f/2.8 35mm Primes 

DESCRIPTION

The Leica ELMARIT-M f/2.8/90 is a compact, light-weight and covering an optimum range of practical applications.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Jun 12, 2009]
Ramray
Intermediate

Strength:

small, light and super sharp

Weakness:

None really, only that the Zeiss (equal in performance) is cheaper

A great lens! small, light and super sharp. I still kept it for my Minolta CLE and Leica CL when I sold my M6 outfit. The only lens that is an equal is my 90/2.8 Sonnar for the G system, and as the Sonnar is just as well made, just as good optically, I'd have to rate the Sonnar a better value, but no other short tele I have ever used (and I have used many different camera systems) were better than the 90's from Leitz and Zeiss.

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used:

100's from Canon, Nikon, Minolta, Olympus, 90/4 Elmar, 135/4 Elmar, 135/2.8 Elmarit, 90/2 Zeiss Planar

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 24, 2003]
nagelchr
Expert

Strength:

Superb mechanical and optical quality !

Weakness:

None !

Super sharp, super precise mechanics and optics. No need to buy the heavier summicron. This one is perfectly balanced with the M6 and doesn't obstruct the viewfinder. The pics couldn't be better. And this one is very lightweight compared to SLR-lenses of the same focal length. A great lens ! Built for a lifetime !

Customer Service

Great ! Fast, efficient, friendly, worth the money !

Similar Products Used:

Leica R 24, 50/1.4, 100 Apo, 4/35-70, 2.8/70-180 Apo.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 01, 2002]
harbormor
Expert

Strength:

Superb color, contrast and clarity.

Weakness:

None in my opinion.

I'm surprised this lens has not been elevated to 'legendary' status by Leica afficionados. Yet. It scares me how sharp it is; and the color rendition is vibrant. Contrast is right on, not excessive. This lens ranks equal to the new 50mm Summicron-M in terms of overall performance, but I'll venture to say it's a notch better than the 50 Sum.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

None other.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 17, 2002]
jhsymington
Expert

Strength:

Relatively compact Rugged Faultless results Good value for money

Weakness:

I wish there was a way of locking the sliding lens hood in its extended position; I feel you would get better protection from knocks.

Bought alongside a 35mm Summicron and the 50mm Summilux. When I am out and about the 50mm doesn''''t get used so much. I would say a 90mm would be the second lens to buy after the 35mm for outdoor/travel photography.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

35mm Summicron ASPH 50mm Summilux 135mm Tele-Elmar

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 17, 2000]
Chanjin Shin
Intermediate

Strength:

Compact, light, easy to use, good color saturation and balance.

Weakness:

none

Very good performance and color balance.
Reasonable price(comparable to other leica lens)

Similar Products Used:

Nikon AF 105mm F2.8D

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 07, 2000]
Al Smith
Expert
Model Reviewed: 90mm Emarit-M f/2.8 Silver

Strength:

Sharpest medium tele I've ever used. Smaller and better performing than the Summicron at both f2.8 and f4.

Weakness:

purely subjective but I can't use this lens with ease due to it's lack of balance on M series bodies. vertical compositions in particular are difficult due to the off-set eye piece. The bracing hand obstructs the rangefinder window. If you flip the camera over, (left side down), the bracing hand obstructs the veiwfinder window. Another limiting factor is the small frame for the 90mm lens in the camera's finder. While not actually a weakness in the lens, it can't be ignored.

The highest accomplishment of the lens crafter's art. But I don't find myself using it as often as I envisioned prior to purchace due to the points made in the weakness catagory. When I shoot a portrait, I grab my Nikon with a 105mm, 2.5. Even if it could be proven on paper that the Elmarit is sharper than the Nikkor, (they are close), the handeling makes me grab the Nikon. After over 10 years using Leicas, I believe that after a 50mm lens, it is time to go for an SLR. Incidentally, this lens is optically the same as the R version. If money is not a factor, you can enjoy the performance with the ease of a SLR, but dollar for dollar go with the Nikon.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

Leica 90mm, 2.0
Nikon 85 and 105 lenses

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 13, 2000]
David Kernaghan
Professional
Model Reviewed: 90mm Emarit-M f/2.8 Silver

Strength:

Compact size, reasonable cost (for Leica), hard to beat performance. Great travelling lens.

Weakness:

This lens doesn"t have any!

Black model, - the chrome has a weakness, it is too heavy. This lens is optically the same as the Elmarit-R, and there are few if any medium telephoto lenses that perform at this level.
Resolution, contrast, and flatness of field, are outstanding. This is one lens that will amaze you every time you get your film back from the lab.

Similar Products Used:

90mm Elmarit-R, 85mm Sonnar.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 10, 2000]
Louis Lam
Intermediate
Model Reviewed: 90mm Emarit-M f/2.8 Silver

Strength:

Excellent sharpness and contrast even up to 20X24 enlargments. Compact size suitable for travelling. Relatively modest price tag. Excellent surface finished in shinny silver chrome.

Weakness:

Too heavy for Silver chrome finish. Out balance the M6 TTL , better with handgrip.

A really sparkling sharp lens with excellent contrast performance lens. In my opinion , best at f/4 to 5.6. However, the background and out of focus rendering were somewhat course when compares to the 75/1.4 Summilux-M. The performance of the Elmarits and APO Summicron is somewhat similar.

Customer Service

Good

Similar Products Used:

Nikkor 85/1.4 AIS and AF(IF)-D, Nikkor 105/2.5 Nikkor

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 17, 1999]
Will von Dauster
Professional
Model Reviewed: 90mm Emarit-M f/2.8 Silver

Strength:

excellent color balance, sharp at all apertures, fine bokeh

Weakness:

None

Superb, compact lens.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used:

I have the black version

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com