Nikon 28mm f/2.8D Nikkor AF 35mm Primes

Available At:
28mm f/2.8D Nikkor AF

Designed for the photographer who wants to carry only one wideangle lens, the 28mm f/2.8 AF Nikkor offers exceptional flexibility, from landscapes to star trails. 74° picture coverage. Focus down to 9 inches. Close-Range Correction System ensures sharpness.

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
zeissica@yahoo.com   Expert [Jul 05, 2007]
Strength:

Compact, fairly fast, not terribly expensive.

Weakness:

My sample did not focus properly (exhibited back focus) on my D200.

I was hoping that this lens would be the perfect, slightly wide "normal" lens for my D200. I was not thrilled with the image quality - it seemed to focus properly and sharply at very close distances, but was not sharp at normal distances. The problems could have been due to the sample I had. I sold it and bought a 35mm f/2.0D instead, and it is much better.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: Nikkor 35mm f/2.0D, Olympus 28mm f/2.8, Zeiss "G" 35mm f/2
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
magpie38   Expert [Feb 07, 2003]
Strength:

Sharpness, Multicoating, Greart optiona HN2 hood, Price, comparitively cheap.

Weakness:

For the price range it has no weaknesses really, if you want 'better' build quality, then higher prices will inccur.

A recent trend towards the ultra end of the wide angle market, means that the 28mm focal lengnth has gone out of vogue, and consequently a lot of people deem the 28mm, with its 74 degrees of view, as 'not wide enough', and therefore , 'not very good'. More fool them I say, back in 1978 I bought my first wide angle lens, a Sigma 28/2.8 and was very happy with it, a few years later and here I am with the AF Nikkor 28/2.8 D, and I'm more than happy with my example, the colour rendition, saturation and sharpness are all very good, infact this is a very sharp lens indeed, great for landscapes, especially at arround f5.6- f8, particularly if you want to get a bit of foreground in frame. All in all this lens represents a bit of a bargain, particularly if sharp prime Nikkors are your thing, all gadget bags should have one.

Customer Service

Nikon UK, have always been informative and helpfull and Greys of Westminster, (London), is a great source for your Nikon needs, (I'm not on commission).

Similar Products Used: Sigma, 28/2.8 MF, Nikkor 28/35 NAI MF, Nikkor 28/2.8 AI MF, Nikkor 35/2 AI MF.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Fonzo Woods   Intermediate [Jan 01, 2003]
Strength:

- Opens up to 2.8 which, while not spectacular, is a whole lot better than typical zooms. - Sharp images. - Saturated yet nuanced color rendition. - Little distortion.

Weakness:

None, really.

I bought this lens after noticing that I usually took pictures with my 28-80mm zoom at 28. At 125 USD and in perfect condition, I consider it somewhat of a steal, given the sharp pictures it produces. At 28mm it covers a wide enough angle, yet the images are still natural looking.

Customer Service

Not needed yet

Similar Products Used: 28-80mm
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Jerry Woszczyna   Expert [Aug 17, 2000]
Strength:

Very sharp lens with almost non-existent distortion, small filter size, very affordable price

Weakness:

none i could find.

If you need just one wide-angle lens and want quality, it is simply perfect choice. Maybe not that convenient in use like zoom lenses, but quality of the image will compensate that.

Customer Service

Nikon has very good CS support center with very knowledgeable people

Similar Products Used: Sigma 28 f/1.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Keith Dowling   Intermediate [Aug 07, 2000]
Strength:

Small size,
52mm filter size,
Sharp images,
Fast (2.8)
Quality build

Weakness:

-

A great lens.
28mm is wide enough for landscapes and cityscapes, but not too wide for people photos.
The build is solid (for a Nikon AF lens), and even focusing the lens manually has a nice feel to it.
With a speed of 2.8, it gives a nice bright image in the viewfinder.
Colors reproduce naturally, and images are sharp across the field, no curvature or vignetting.
With a 28mm lens, you can use a polarizing filter without vignetting (I do remove the UV filter first).
The lens hood (extra $) is nice, solid metal. Keeps stray light from the lens.

28mm does not seem to be a popular length; most wide-angle shooters go for the 24mm, but I like the more natural perspective of the 28. When I want super-wide, I jump to the 20mm.

I sold my 28-70mm zoom and replaced it with this lens and the 50mm 1.4. It involves more effort to switch lenses, but the images I get now are vastly superior to the zoom.

For value, I only gave it 4 stars, because it's a little pricey (like most Nikons).

Customer Service

None needed

Similar Products Used: Nikon 20mm 2.8 AF
Sigma 24mm 2.8 MF
Nikon 35mm 2.0 MF
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
David Munson   Expert [May 25, 2000]
Model Reviewed: AF28mm f/2.8D Nikkor AIS
Strength:

1)Lightweight
2)Good build despite external looks
3)Very sharp
4)Great contrast- especially w/Tri-X
5)Worth every penny

Weakness:

The manual focusing ring is far too narrow to be very convenient.

This is a great lens and a tremendous value overall. I'd like to see a wider focusing ring on newer models, but that's my only complaint. The hood, though shallow, does do a fair job. Great for landscapes- a versatile lens for all kinds of photography and within most people's price range.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Minolta MD 28mm f/2.8
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Derrick Lee   Casual [Mar 27, 2000]
Model Reviewed: AF28mm f/2.8D Nikkor AIS
Strength:

1) It's reasonably sharp at all apertures.
2) Construction is very solid. The lens looks and feels nice.

Weakness:

none

You get pretty decent sharpness for <$250, and construction is fabulous. I think the Popular Photography review is a little too flattering, but the lens is still sharper than zooms costing a little more. I understand that the older 28mm f/1.8 AIS manual was a lot sharper, which you might be able to find used. Overall, if you need a cheap wide angle, and you want prime sharpness, this lens is definitely appropriate.

Similar Products Used: other Nikon primes and zooms
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Bill Cheadle   Intermediate [Jan 31, 2000]
Model Reviewed: AF28mm f/2.8D Nikkor AIS
Strength:

Extremely sharp, lightweight

Weakness:

Has worked perfectly since buying 6 mths ago

Great intermediate wide angle. Very sharp and light weight, and cost effective

Customer Service

Nikon USA is the best

Similar Products Used: Nikkor 24mm AI, Nikkor 28mm AIS Series E
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
R.D. Kenwood   Intermediate [Nov 14, 2000]
Strength:

Light weight (this and a 50/1.8 make for a tiny, featherweight, top-quality backpacking rig).

Sharp, and relatively flat for a wide angle.

Weakness:

Field curvature isn't obvious in real-world shooting, but stop well down if you're shooting something flat at short to middle distances.

The previous, non-D AF model was based on the 28/2.8 Series E lens. It was good, but not great, and I think photographers were disappointed that the astonishingly sharp 28/2.8 AIS with CRC was not followed by something better. The 28/2.8 AF-D still lacks CRC (I called Nikon and asked), but it does have one element more than the non-D lens. It focuses closer than the 28 f/2 AIS, but not as close as the 28 f/2.8 AIS. Like most newer AF Nikkors, it is very light weight (mine weighs a meager 8-1/2 ounces with front filter and cap) and the focusing ring is marginally damped. I sold it, not because of any fundamental performance issue, but because I tend to use wide angles either wide open in existing dark, or stopped down. The extra stop of the 28/2 is an important difference for me.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used: 24/2.8 AF-D
24/2 AI
2.8cm/3.5 non-AI
28/2 AIS
35/2 non-AI
35/2 AF-D
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Andrea Solmi   Expert [May 04, 2001]
Strength:

-compact size
-good optical quality

Weakness:

-plastic feeling (at least in comparison with my old MF Nikon lenses

This humble lens delivers good imagies and, since is light, could often come with you even if you are planning of using other lenses.
Sometimes, when shooting slow films, i'd like it was F 2.0, but price would be different...

Customer Service

never needed

Similar Products Used: -Nikon adn Canon zooms
-Nikon 28PC
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com