Nikon AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D 35mm Primes

Available At:
AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D

This lens provides an exceptional range of applications and high-quality performance. Close-Range Correction System ensures high resolution from infinity to close-ups down to 8 3/4 inches (1:1 reproduction ratio). A-M (Automatic-Manual) switch enables quick changing from autofocus to manual focus.

User Reviews (35)

Showing 1-10 of 35  
Axle   Intermediate [Feb 06, 2008]
Strength:

* Fast
* Sharp at Portrait or Macro Photography
* Heavy, well built

Weakness:

* Looses a stop when focused right in

You want Macro, I'll give you Macro! I removed this lens from it's box after purchasing and was very pleased with the weight of this sucker, and then I used it.

The results were amazing, sharp, fast, and easy to use. The deep lens element negates the need for a lens hood in most situations. However the thing I like about it is the limiting switch, speeds up the Auto-Focus process when shooting just straight portraits or straight macro.

However the one problem I found with the lens is even though it's a f/2.8, you focus in close and you loose a stop (f/3.8).

Customer Service

none required

Similar Products Used: Sigma DC 18-50mm EX Macro
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
ahmed ghazzawi   Intermediate [Aug 19, 2007]
Strength:

macro work , sharp in portraits but with suffecient light ...5.6 & above.

Weakness:

none

this is a serious lense , no doubt , for macro work it is one of the best lenses i have ever put my hand on , i love the weight, the look , the touch of it . the bokeh is so nice , i mounted it on my D50 then i attacked every single element in the room , i used an SB 400 bounced it upwards and the result was very high , but for portraits i still prefere the 50 mm 1.8 ....dont hesitate if you are thinking about it ,you will enjoy working with that piece of art for sure.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chris   Intermediate [May 29, 2007]
Strength:

Clear image quality, well built lens, ease of use. great price. great for everyday use as well as macro. Used with Nikon D200 DSLR camera. I am going to rate this lens as five star until I find a reason to give it a lower rating, so... this may take a while.

Weakness:

not found one as yet

From taking the lens out of the box I could tell by the weight of the lens that this was no cheap lens. I have been looking for a good macro lens for a while and have spent a few weeks reading reviews on various websites including this one. I was supprised to find how easy it was to use. I spent most of the first day taking photos of everything I could find, from flowers to fag ends. The quality of the images were crystal clear and very happy with the results. I have also been using the lens for portraits and the results are as good as some of the more expensive lenses that I own. I bought the lens from a Ebay seller in based in Hong Kong. The price in some of the UK camera shops was around £320. I bought this, brand new with tags for £179 plus postage. If your after a great macro lens without breaking the bank or wasting your money on cheaper makes then this is the lens for you.

Customer Service

great service from seller

Similar Products Used: wide range of Nikon telephoto lenses
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
chris   Intermediate [May 29, 2007]
Strength:

Clear image quality, well built lens, ease of use. great price. great for everyday use as well as macro. Used with Nikon D200 DSLR camera. I am going to rate this lens as five star until I find a reason to give it a lower rating, so... this may take a while.

Weakness:

not found one as yet

From taking the lens out of the box I could tell by the weight of the lens that this was no cheap lens. I have been looking for a good macro lens for a while and have spent a few weeks reading reviews on various websites including this one. I was supprised to find how easy it was to use. I spent most of the first day taking photos of everything I could find, from flowers to fag ends. The quality of the images were crystal clear and very happy with the results. I have also been using the lens for portraits and the results are as good as some of the more expensive lenses that I own. I bought the lens from a Ebay seller in based in Hong Kong. The price in some of the UK camera shops was around £320. I bought this, brand new with tags for £179 plus postage. If your after a great macro lens without breaking the bank or wasting your money on cheaper makes then this is the lens for you.

Customer Service

great service from seller

Similar Products Used: wide range of Nikon telephoto lenses
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
swissfoto   Intermediate [Jan 08, 2006]
Strength:

Sharp, sharp, sharp Build quality

Weakness:

None

Wow, this is one sharp lens. I like the solid build too. Macro detail is incredible. Very happy with my choice of macro (was looking at the Tamron 90mm but thanks to the reviews went with the Nikon and cannot fault the choice.)

Customer Service

Cannot complain - lens was over from the US to my door inside one week. Well wrapped up for the journey. Okay, B&H are never going to win prizes for friendly service, but they are quick and efficient.

Similar Products Used: Nikon D70, Nikon 18-70mm kit lens, Nikon 80-200 f2.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
accorddude   Intermediate [Nov 22, 2005]
Strength:

Excellent glass Very Sharp WOW

Weakness:

none. If you want more focal length they have a 105 that is almost as sharp but not quite.

Wow. This is an amazingley sharp lens. It has an excellent reproduction. It is light and very useable. I use this lens for everything. Macro is amazing. It works for everything. I love it.

Customer Service

none needed

Similar Products Used: I have a nice collection of glass.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Christiano   Professional [Nov 19, 2005]
Strength:

Did i mention sharp?

Weakness:

Too slow for my kind of work( PJ)..BUT i adapt my work to it..not the opposite..

Now almost 3 years after i have to make a review based on the 60 mm D 2,8 micro nikkor,in conjunction with Digital SLRS; This is a shamefull horrible sharp lens extraordinary in all sense of saturation and sharpness,my editor at a local newspaper( which i currently work for as a PJ) often screams to me;*> please dont show that in our newspaper !!!, the woman gonna sue us for showing her age (or acne ?..)>* when i present him for portrait of people using this Nikkor 60 mm. So, if you want a very sharp optical instrument i believe in a class of its own at a reasonable price,and you have Nikon equipment buy this one indeed,use for all kind of work; i use it for portraits,documentary ,feature,and alike with great succes! Our(my)clients is so happy and overwhelmed by this little gem. It must be one of the Nikon corporation best kept (nonofficial ) secrets; its a a true Nikon Pro glass,and nr 1 in its class. Thank you Nikon !... ......can you make it with a SW motor inside it ??*(LOL*)

Customer Service

nope

Similar Products Used: many from canon and nikon..amont them Vivtar/Phoenix 100mm 3,5 (true gem) ps..the vivitar(Phoenix ) 100 mm 3,5 mm is up there too!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Bill50   Intermediate [Jul 25, 2004]
Strength:

optics 1:1 magnification without any accessories build quality seems to be very good for a plastic(polycarbonate is what they cal it) lens

Weakness:

short working distance can be a problem sometimes

This lens never ceases to amaze me. Before I could spend the big bucks for it, I tried cheap single element close up filters on other lenses and was not happy with the optical quality. Then I bought a cheap bellows on ebay and that was more of a hassle that it was worth. When I got this lens, I started getting the macro shots I wanted. The lens is VERY sharp and contrasty. It has 1:1 capability without extension tubes or any other accessories. The only thing to consider is you don't have much working distance. At 1:1, the subject is only a few inches from the lens. This can make it difficult to shoot insects and other critters that will be scared off. Also, being this close can cause the lens to block the light from the subject. I use a 1.4x teleconverter that increases the working distance a little, but not much. If you can't get that close, get the 105 macro. Otherwise, how can someone not like it??

Customer Service

I had a lens repaired at Nikon usa. It was a good experience.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff82   Expert [Jul 21, 2004]
Strength:

The lens optics are really fantastic. Great build quality. Fast auto-focus for general shooting. Well damped manual focusing ring. Well thought out design. Excellent focal length for general shooting.

Weakness:

Non really. A 105 with a 2x TC would probably be a less versatile, but more usefull focal length for insect macros.

I purchased this lens primarily for macro model and insect photography. I was surprised to find that I also use it extensively for general photography (probably moreso than my Nikkor 28-105). For insect flash photography I match it with a Kenko 2x teleconverter to get more reach and 2:1 magnification. When I need to get to 3:1 I use a 6x close-up lens. I've had really great results with this lens and the aforementioned set-up. Images are very sharp, and have noticably more contrast than shots taken with either my 28-105 Nikkor or my 180 2.8 nikkor. The lens has a certain pop that's hard to explain, but that really punches up an image, especially when used with a high saturation film. My biggest surprise with this lens is that I use it so much for general shooting. The 60mm focal length is really versatile, and with a 2x TC it makes a good insect macro lens. However, if I were only going to shoot insects, I'd probably go with a 105 micro Nikkor matched with a 2x TC.

Customer Service

Not needed for this lens. But with other Nikon products I've found the service to be really rude.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Paolo Pizzi   Expert [Nov 11, 2003]
Strength:

- EXTREME sharpness - Best macro lens around - Convenient, relatively lightweight - Solid construction

Weakness:

None

I use this lens almost exclusively for macro work. This is BY FAR the best AF macro lens on the market, it is a compact and no-frill but *extremely* sharp objective. The picture quality is superb, I don't think I own another lens *this* sharp (and I have quite a collection!) Sometime it is actually TOO sharp, even at max aperture, and therefore not particularly indicated for shooting people (portraits etc.) as it would reveal each and every of their facial flaws (if you want to take an unflattering picture of your mother-in-law, however, this is the one you definitely want to use... :-) )

Customer Service

Never used (touching wood...)

Similar Products Used: Various Nikkors, Tamrons and Sigmas in this focal range.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 35  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com