Nikon AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED 35mm Primes

Available At:
AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED

Ideal for sports, action or news photography. Features Nikon Internal Focusing technology - lenses inside the barrel adjust, without requiring an extension of the barrel. Autofocus capability. Nikon ED glass assures superb sharpness and image quality. Accepts 72mm filters. Built-in lens hood.

User Reviews (37)

Showing 1-10 of 37  
Joseph   Intermediate [Sep 21, 2007]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

None

Absoloutly the best three is. This is one sharp glass you can not afford not having one. I have number of lenses in my bagpack but none takes to be the sharpness and clarity of this unit. This is the ED IF lens. Solid, well built, yet easy to handle. I know it has been in the market for sometimes, but this is one I can talk about it over and over.

Similar Products Used: 105mm f2.8 VR, 70-200 f2.8 VR
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Jeff McCloughan   Intermediate [Jun 29, 2007]
Strength:

Light weight for its fast 2.8 Aperture.
Solid build.
Sharp. Even at 2.8
Beautiful Bokeh.
Built in hood.
Couples well with a tele converter

Weakness:

Sometimes it doesn't seem long enough. ie sports photography
Only really practical for head shot portraits unless you have alot of space to back up. I mainly used it for this anyway.

This is possibly the sharpest lens I have ever shot with. It produces beautiful colour and I loved using it to take portraits on my D70.
Really good for portraits and for sport if you can get close enough to the action.
This type of lens would suit a user with the need for a fast light weight medium telephoto. Very easy to use and get superb results.
The built in hood is a fantastic idea for use when the sun is glaring.
If you are even slightly considering this lens then don't hesitate as it is a great buy.
I have successfully used it with a flash inside and got surprisingly good results.
Great for the price. I got mine second hand and it was the older version which has a very solid build quality.

Similar Products Used: 70-200mm 2.8ED VR
70-300mm 4-5.6G
105mm 2.8D Micro
300mm F4
D70
D200 with MB-D200
SB-600
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff82   Expert [Jul 21, 2004]
Strength:

Excellent optics. Very fast auto-focus. lightweight and compact. Built in lens hood.

Weakness:

None really.

This is really a fantastic lens in a very useful focal length. It also mates well with both 1.4x and 2x Kenko teleconverters. I use it mostly for nature and candid shots. While it's not my most used lens, its very sharp, and almost always in my kit. I needed to decide between this lens and the 80-200 2.8 zoom. I went with the 180 prime because its much lighter and more compact than the 80-200 zoom. The built in lens hood is also a really nice bonus. In summary, it's a really great lens.

Customer Service

Typically rude, but not needed for this lens.

Similar Products Used: 70-300 and 80-400 zooms.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
  Intermediate [Jan 10, 2004]
Strength:

Everything about it!

Weakness:

none that I can think of (really!)

This is the second time I have owned this lens ( I had, and foolishly sold, the non "D" AF version before). It is as sharp as a lens can get. Great color and contrast as well. No distortion. Well built.

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used: 80-200mm f2.8 AF-D (to big for my taste and not as sharp as the 180mm).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jean heintz   Professional [Jul 03, 2003]
Strength:

Compact, rugged, ED glass, internal focus

Weakness:

No rear lens to protect the diaphragm blades, weight (due to ruggedness, though)

This lens was already very useful with film, it is now a dream on a D100 : you get not less than a lightweight professional 300/2.8 lens ! Color rendition is very good, build construction is fine (I've been carrying this lens for years all around the globe) and manual focus is no pain. Just be careful about the blades since there isn't any rear lens protecting them. It's been my one and only telephoto lens since 1998. Browse www.jeanheintz.com to see some pics.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Nikon AF 20, 24, 50
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
goldblend   Intermediate [Jan 30, 2003]
Strength:

Exquisitely sharp, contrasty images with excellent colour rendition. Superb build quality Well damped - precise manual mode Light & compact(for a fast tele)

Weakness:

NONE

I have owned two of these lenses in the last 10 years. Both produce superb images time and time again. Pictures are contrasty & tack sharp with excellent color rendition. The lens is extremely well built with a nice crinkly finish. In particular, its manual mode is among the best of all AF Nikkors - well damped and precise - very close to manual lense. As I mentioned earlier, I've owned two of these lenses. The first lens was sold to upgrade to a 80-200 f2.8 AF Zoom-Nikkor. While that was an excellent lens, it was not able to match the pop and sparkle of images produced by the 180f2.8. I eventually sold off that lens and purchased another 180mm which I have been happily using for the last year.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200 f2.8 AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300 ED AF Zoom-Nikkor 75-300 AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-210 AF Nikkor 85 f1.8 (also excellent!) AIS 105mm f2.5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Phil Love   Professional [Dec 21, 2002]
Strength:

SHARP//SHARP at all F-stops. best at5.6 to 11 Wonderful Macro with tubes.

Weakness:

Could have a better shade//tends to flare at direct sun.

One of the sharpest lenses ever made, almost as sharp as 300/2.8. Great balance on my F-100. SHARP enlargments and great contrast. Great alternative to the sky-high super telephotos without the second mortgage prices. If you ever get the chance to qwn one you wont be diappointed.

Customer Service

none////built like a tank.

Similar Products Used: Tamron 180 2.5 close//Nikon 200 2.0 but 7times the cost
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
christmas   Intermediate [Nov 01, 2002]
Strength:

lightweigth. Sharp. Contrasty. Nice colour in images.

Weakness:

None

An excellent lens. Lightweight, sharp focus. Nice colour in images. Autofocus seems a little slow. On a D1X it gives 270mm focal length! It is a long lens.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: Nikon 60mm (even nicer)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott Warn   Expert [Oct 28, 2002]
Strength:

Light weight, auto focus.

Weakness:

Very poor sharpness, 2000 x 3000 pixel scans of K64 look soft on screen and when printed larger that 5 x 7.

Huge disappointment. Enlargements larger that 5 x 7 show softness, I doubt if my sample is resolving more that 30 lines per mm. Thought I must have focus problems but is soft with N8008s or F5 on or off the tripod. 200mm f2.8 Soligor I traded for it was a much sharper lens, gave acceptable 11 x 14 enlargements.

Similar Products Used: 200mm f2.8 Soligor produced in late 70's.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Available At:
Sean Depuydt   Intermediate [Apr 19, 2002]
Strength:

Construction. SHARP!.

Weakness:

None

Great Lens. I traded my 180 for the 80-200mm thinking that I needed the flexability of the zoom. Although happy with the 80-200mm, I would jump at the chance to get another 180mm lens. The 180mm lens produces great shots time after time. The construction is on par with any pro lens. Get one

Customer Service

Expensive to get something fixed.

Similar Products Used: Nikkor 85mm, 24mm, 80-200mm, 300mm
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 37  
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com