Nikon AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D 35mm Primes

Available At:
AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D

This fast, compact lens is an excellent choice for indoor or outdoor portraits, as well as indoor sports and stage productions. Autofocus capability for easy indoor or outdoor portraiture. Exceptionally compact for a telephoto lens. Focuses down to 36 inches. An excellent choice for your first telephoto lens.

User Reviews (60)

Showing 1-10 of 60  
mohawk51   Expert [May 15, 2009]
Strength:

Sharpness, Contrast, Weight and a Fast lens. What more?

Weakness:

None really noted.

This lens, I like. I like a lot. Photozone did a lab test on this lens and the 1.4D. This lens outperforms the 1.4D in distortion, resolution, chromatic abberations and vignetting from each of their respective widest openings to F11. Check it out. I just don't see the point of spending 3 times as much for the 1.4D (Unless you do portraits for a living). The bokek on the 1.4 is nicer. I shoot landscapes, what would I need for bokeh for? Heck, you could go through (3) 1.8D's for the cost of (1) 1.4D. Not likely! Save your money for other goodies in the photo world.

Customer Service

None needed.

Similar Products Used: Everything Nikon.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
bhobg   Intermediate [Mar 28, 2009]
Strength:

Sharpness, colors, bokeh.

Weakness:

None.

Sensational lens. For such a reasonable price you get a brilliant medium telephoto. The image quality is magnificent in low light for concerts. Portraits are great too. Bokeh is lovely and sharpness is absurdly good.

Colors are also much richer here than on my 55-200 VR zoom. I also use this for soccer with very pleasant results. i can't wait to shoot billiards with this. I can't imagine the f/1.4 version of this focal length being three times better.

Highly recommended to all serious Nikonians. It won't autofocus with the D40 or D60 but I have a D80.

Similar Products Used: 50 mm f/1.8, 30mm f/1.4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Axle   Intermediate [Feb 06, 2008]
Strength:

* super fast autofocus
* sharp
* low profile telephoto
* FAST! Great for concerts or low light events

Weakness:

* a little soft at full open aperature

f/1.8 telephoto for under a grand...yes please.

Alright so I've used this lens for a couple weeks now and only now realizing how awesome it is. For portrait and photojournalism options this lens is brilliant, set it to f/8 slide on a flash with a lightsphere on it and you have your self a portable studio.

Really sharp with a clean bokeh at f/8. A little soft at full aperature (f/1.8). I've used this to shoot people, objects, and various events and it hasn't failed me.

Customer Service

none required

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
xml5000   Expert [Sep 08, 2006]
Strength:

Sharpness, colour rendition

Weakness:

build not pro like, but not bad either

A really good purchase for me. Totally sharp, accurate colour rendition, actually sharper I think than the F1.4 version cost 3x more +. A wonderful lens.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
VinnyP!   Intermediate [Jul 05, 2006]
Strength:

Lens speed, image quality and build quality.

Weakness:

Noisy (none IF) AF, focusing ring is fiddly and turns under AF.

A good value lens that easily fills a gap in most kit bags. If you are a portrait specialist then this lens is not for you, also if you regularly take pictures in low light again the 1.4 85mm or 50 will be higher on your list. But if like me 2.8 zooms and tele lenses are fast enough for 95% of your work and you don't work much in a studio then used or new this represents great value and produces good results. Its sharp and because of the bright image manages to focus very fast despite having no internal motor.

On a digital SLR it allows you to be a good distance from the subject when used as a portrait lens and can throw the background out of focus with a quite pleasing bokeh. It also performs well in low light situations (being a 127mm 1.8 equivalent) like a theatre but the noisy AF may prove annoying.

It handles well except for the fact the focusing ring doesn't disengage when in AF. Its well made robust and optically sound. I would buy it again and it would be good value at more than I paid for it. Not many lenses you can say that about.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
ChrisWilliamsPhotog   Intermediate [May 23, 2005]
Strength:

Very sharp Beautiful color rendition under harsh conditions (theater lighting). Bokeh is smooth and buttery and adds creativity to your shots. Lightweight telephoto lens that can be used anywhere. Cheaper than the f/1.4 version for just 2/3 stop less light.

Weakness:

When the hood is attached, the lens cap is a little difficult to get on.

Used this lens the day I bought it for some theater work. I'm absolutely in love with it! Being able to hand hold my camera again is a blessing! I used my 80-200/2.8 for most everything I've done and found that 2.8 just didn't cut it most of the time. I could tell which shots were from each lens. This lens is super super sharp wide open. The thing that I had to get used to was the DOF. If I wanted to get two actors in the frame, I had to make sure to nail my focus on which one I wanted in focus or else the actor that was 6 inches to the side and slightly behind them would be out of focus. That's not a bad thing though, just something to get used to (makes you think a little more). The DOF is very thin and something to take into consideration when doing any kind of portrature.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Nikon 80-200/2.8 Nikon 18-70/3.5-4.5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hsandler   Expert [Apr 20, 2005]
Strength:

Sharp from f2.5 on, pretty sharp even wide open. Front element does not rotate or move during focus. Metal filter thread. Solid metal lens hood.

Weakness:

Manual focus ring rotates during autofocus, which can make it hard to hold, as the fingers naturally rest on the knurled knob. Fairly loud "click" when the autofocus hits one end or the other and reverses direction. Some chromatic aberration in the out of focus area which makes the "bokeh" not so smooth if there are contrasty edges in the background.

I have evaluation samples at: http://www.pbase.com/hsandler/nikkor85f18 About the same size and weight as the DX 18-70mm "kit" lens for the D70

Similar Products Used: Nikkor 50mm f1.8 D AF. Compared to the 50, the 85 is sharper wide open and perhaps focuses slightly faster.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Available At:
since1968   Intermediate [Mar 31, 2005]
Strength:

- Sharp, even wide open - Accurate colors - Lens is small and well constructed (well, small-ish) - Good value for money

Weakness:

- Noisy autofocus. Might distract your subject in a very quiet environment, but outdoors it's not an issue.

An excellent portrait lens. I've just returned from a trip to India and 85mm on a digital body is the perfect focal length for taking pictures of people you don't know: it's short enough that you can stand close to the subject and engage the person (i.e., you're not taking voyeur shots), but long enough that you don't invade the personal space of a new acquaintance. This lens focuses quickly, even in low light. The color and sharpness are perfect, even wide open at f/1.8. Two things to keep in mind, though: - The autofocus is very noisy, especially if you're accustomed to the AF-S feature of a lens like the "kit lens" for the D70. I got used to the noise, but it was jarring at first. - Unless you're disciplined, you'll fall victim to "wide open just because I can." At portrait distance and f/1.8, this means it's easy to get the subject's nose in focus and eyes slightly out of focus. That's the fault of the shooter, not the lens, but it's something to keep in mind. Overall, highly recommended.

Customer Service

Unknown (haven't needed it yet)

Similar Products Used: Canon FD 135mm f/3.5 (when used on my AE-1, the 135mm focal length is similar to the 85mm on the D70)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
MariaK.   Intermediate [Dec 24, 2004]
Strength:

No distortion or pincusion. Sharp at every stops even at 1.8 Not overly expensive fast AF with F80 not too big not too small

Weakness:

noisy AF

I honestly think this is very good lens. Its very sharp and contrasty at every stops. To me 85mm is very pleasing focal length and f1.8 is fast enough. My samples are very sharp and contrasty in both bw and color photos. I would recommend this to anyone who's looking for excellent and on the budget portrait lens. I carry it on my F80 for sreet photography and general people shooting in/out doors. So far I am very happy with this lens.

Customer Service

not needed yet

Similar Products Used: Nikkor 85f2 AI
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
change7550   Expert [Nov 13, 2003]
Strength:

Sharp, economy, and small size.

Weakness:

Bokeh is not rendered as smooth as I wish.

I bought this lens to go with an N80/18-35mm combo for hiking trips. I need something light, sharp, inexpensive, and useful for bringing the scene closer. This lens delivers on all of these. While this lens is very sharp, I do like the good old 105mm/2.5 AIS (which unfortunately can't be used on the N80), which gives the subject a more "silky" look and rich color. This quality is important for taking portraiture, see previous review, and for landscape photos taken under bright sun light. The color of 85mm is more neutral, which is not a weakness if you do not like oversaturated color. The bokeh of this lens, however, is just OK. If you already have the 105mm/2.5 lens, I would stay with it. However, if you have a N80 or if you must use the AF, this lens will work very well for you.

Similar Products Used: 105mm/2.5 AIS.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 60  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com