Olympus OM-Zuiko 28mm f2.8 35mm Primes

OM-Zuiko 28mm f2.8

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
andres esteban   Intermediate [Feb 16, 2003]
Strength:

really compact, colour rendition, contrast and sharpness first rate. stops down to f22

Weakness:

not exactly a fault but its less easy to focus with focus screen 1 than a standard lens. something to keep in mind if your eyesight is less than perfect.

I love this lens, the results I have received are excellent. you will not be disappointed

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: zuiko 50mmf1.8 & 135mm f3.5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
babec   Intermediate [Mar 28, 2002]
Strength:

Remarkably even performance from f3.5 down to f16. Excellent wide open. Little vigneting, little distortion. Contrasty, very compact, takes 49mm filters.

Weakness:

Little darker viewfinder due to f3.5.

Review for the f3.5/28mm. Excellent lens. Unbeatable even at a much higher price level.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used: f2.0/35mm, f1.8/50mm, f1.4/50mm, f3.5/50mm Macro
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Philip Canard   Expert [Feb 17, 2002]
Strength:

It is an excellent lens even wide open. Since there is no need to stop down to get excellent results, the f3.5 aperture is not as slow as it would at first appear. There is almost no vignetting and no rectilinear distortion on architectural subjects even to the edges of the frame when wide open! Sharpness and contrast is what you expect from Zuiko, which means you compare this to much more expensive German glass. The second best value in the Zuiko line, after the 50mm f1.8. Buy both lenses in mint condition for less than $100 on eBay!

Weakness:

You will have a very hard time believing that such a great lens costs so little. It might make you value the lens less than you should. So buy two to make you feel you have spent enough money, and have a spare to use as a backup or to sell to another Zuikoholic. I wish it stopped down to f22, but I really can''t complain when looking at any photo it has ever taken.

This review is for the 28mm f3.5 which has been strangely omitted from review. It is the predecessor to the f2.8 version. It was the most popular wideangle in the Zuiko line until the f2.8 version replaced it, so it is very available at a giveaway price on the used market. Mine came with caps, hood, and case for $56 delivered from ebay. This lens is an insiders secret that I picked up from a Leica collector that also uses Olympus gear. He told me it was almost impossible to tell the difference between this lens and comparable Leitz lens.

Customer Service

You can probably find another used one cheaper than a repair bill, but if the price ever zooms or they get hard to find, use Camtech at www.zuiko.com

Similar Products Used: Canon FD 28mm f2.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
worldosft   Intermediate [Sep 23, 2001]
Strength:

Sharp, well made mechanically, light weight and compact, multi-coated.

Weakness:

None.

All Olympus Zuiko lenses are very compact and very well made mechanically. The 28mm f:2.8 exemplifies this. The optical design is going on 20 years old but this lens still holds its own with more modern 28mm lenses. It''s multi-coated and quite sharp. It''s a great vacation lens, great for shooting interiors, and a great lens to experiment with. With Zuiko lenses, it''s best to buy used. Only a few dealers nation wide sell Olympus lenses and accessories, therefore, they are way too expensive new. My value rating is only based on purchasing this lens used. A typical price for a used one is around $100 -$135 in Excellent + condition.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ray Moth   Intermediate [Jul 18, 2000]
Model Reviewed: OM-Zuiko 28mm f2.8
Strength:

* Excellent sharpness and contrast
* No noticeable distortion
* Very light weight and compact

Weakness:

(None)

This is a 'go anywhere' lens that I often use as a standard lens. It is ideal for situations where extra width of view is required because it isn't possible to get further away from the subject.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: 28mm Praktica screw-mount
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Albert Yang   Casual [Jan 18, 2001]
Strength:

Compact,
Easy to carry and use,
Good f-stop range.

Weakness:

Not as sharp as the 50mm f/1.8
Can see some vignetting under very strong light

Decent lens, which gives very warm colors, and is decent at f/8 +. A little bit of vignetting is noticable, but usually only under strong light or big sky shots.

Customer Service

None needed!

Similar Products Used: Zuiko 24mm
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
John Franklin   Intermediate [Jul 08, 2001]
Strength:

Compact, sharp, very little distortion, good contrast. The perfect wide angle for the way I see the world

Weakness:

Apature ring gets sticky occasionally (after 20 years with no service) but never let me down.

The right lens for so many travel occasions. Bit too much edge distortion for people shot if they are placed at the extreme edges. Still I love this lens for travel work.

Customer Service

Quick & courteous

Similar Products Used: 30 odd cameras over as many years but the Olympus system is perfect for me.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael Goldfarb   Expert [Nov 10, 1999]
Model Reviewed: OM-Zuiko 28mm f2.8
Strength:

Incredibly small and light, beautifully sharp and contrasty with minimal distortion for this focal length.

Weakness:

No.

A wonderful lens, produces great sharp images. My only complaint is that I wish it was faster than 2.8!

Customer Service

No occasion to find out.

Similar Products Used: Nikkor non-AI 28/3.5 on old Nikons and Nikkormats
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joel Wilcox   Intermediate [Aug 17, 1999]
Model Reviewed: OM-Zuiko 28mm f2.8
Strength:

Very small, sharp, and contrasty

Weakness:

None

Superior lens

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul Schings   Intermediate [Aug 17, 1999]
Model Reviewed: OM-Zuiko 28mm f2.8
Strength:

very small and light; balances well on an OM body w/o winder

Weakness:

none

great lens when I want to travel light

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com