Olympus OM-Zuiko 50mm f1.8 35mm Primes

Available At:
OM-Zuiko 50mm f1.8

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
rong hua   Expert [Oct 01, 2014]
Strength:

* excellent mechanics: firm aperture clicks, and very smooth focus ring
* excellent image rendering: sharpness, colour, contrast, control of chromatic aberration, bokeh, very low barrel distortion.
* lens has "character"

Weakness:

* coma

I am using a 5th generation F.Zuiko1.8/50 lens on an A7R camera. This lens surprised me for its overall excellent quality. The images are excellent and have a texture to them that is very different from the lenses designed specifically for digital. Long ago when the lens first came on the market, I recall many experts telling me this lens was the equal or better to all other lenses, including the German brands. I am now not surprised by this assessment. Since purchase recently, I was able to find the MTF chart (in German) that displays the performance at f4. The MTF results compare very favourably or exceed to other lenses. imho, surpassed on the A7R only by the Contax G2/45 lens, which has higher resolution and followed the Zuiko by about 10 years. I see prices are now rising quickly, and Zuikos in excellent condition are very rare. The Zuiko 1.4/50 will cost about double the Zuiko 1.8/50. The extra f-stop may not be worthwhile, as I find f1.8 to be more than adequate for speed, and gives very good bokeh. and the lens seems to be a better performer all round. Overall, the images are excellent and the lens is a joy to use. People are most welcome to view and download images from my Flickr gallery. If you consider one, get the 5th gen lens, with S/No starting at 500,000.

Similar Products Used: Zeiss Contax G 2/45
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
ausser   Intermediate [Jun 10, 2006]
Strength:

Sharp, even at f/1.8, gorgeous bokeh, cheap a sin (or so cheap it ought to be a sin, take your pick), built very solidly, small and light, renders light beautifully.

Weakness:

OM mount is film-only so you'll need a mount adapter for digital, no autofocus (obviously) so you'll have to MF through the tiny viewfinders on today's DSLRs.

Wow, what an amazing lens for the price of a pizza delivery! I'm using it mounted to an Olympus E-300 digital (8 megapixel) with an OM adapter bought on eBay for half the price of a pizza delivery.

The lens renders light beautifully. Contrast and tonality are subtle and lovely, while in-focus areas are sharp. Bokeh is lovely. To a one, images from this lens have a timeless, clasic look that you don't often see anymore--even the "snapshots," especially at f/1.8.

I'm more than happy to sacrifice autofocus to have the opportunity to shoot a lens like this on a modern digital body. What a joy!

Customer Service

None needed. Ordered used from Adorama, who was no-nonsense, rapid, and professional.

Similar Products Used: Sigma 24mm f/1.8 EX DG
Sigma 28mm f/1.8
Nikkor 28mm f/2.8
Haminex 40mm f/1.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ethanl   Intermediate [Jul 13, 2005]
Strength:

Build quality, size, cost - all OM photogaphers should have one of these!

My Zuiko 50mm f1.8 lens came with my OM1n, which was purchased back in 1982. I have used it regularly since then, and am still impressed with the images it delivers. The fact that I have been using it for so long is testament to its build quality. The only signs of use are a few insignifican dust particles between the elements, which do not affect picture quality. This aside, it is as good as new! These lenses are very inexpensive and their usefulness should not be underestimated.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: Zuiko 50mm f1.2 lens.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
jack carden   Expert [Feb 21, 2003]
Strength:

Optics that deliver on all the technical measurements and something beyond. Will remind you of Leica lenses and the great Konica lenses. Ridiculously low prices.

Weakness:

Sometime focus gets stiff on older ones. Best to handle before buying. The demise of the camera line isn't good, but not really a weakness of lens

This is my favorite lens along with the following: 55mm Nikkor 2.8 macro, Leica Summicron 50 f2 R, Voigtlander Nokton f1.5, the 40mm Summicron from the Leica CL, the 35 f2 on the Konica Hexar AF. It is up there with them. Why? This lens does all the measured stuff right--resolution, contrast (high but not harsh) and anything else the lens testers at the magazines can throw at it. In addition, I find that the pictures are beautiful esthetically. It renders the roundness of faces superbly and reminds me of Leica lenses I have owned and loved. There are lens qualities that cannot easily be described in test targets. I have shot my wife (elegant cheekbones), my kids, freinds' kids and the results are beautiful. Bokeh is very nice. Mine is the latest MC model, but I have good results with earlier lenses.

Customer Service

Did not need it ever.

Similar Products Used: 50's from Nikkon, Leica, Canon, Zeiss, Pentax. Oh, yes, the 50mm 1.8 pentax AF lens is superb too.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
andres esteban   Intermediate [Feb 16, 2003]
Strength:

colour rendition, contrast, compact size easy to find and good value. legendary zuiko lens, a must have for any OM user

Weakness:

aperture ring feels cheap. Mine has dust inside though it doesn't seem to affect picture quality.

there were several design changes to this lens so they are not all the same. The last type with 'made in japan' on the front is the one I own. I cannot fault picture quality whatsover,I have taken some breathtaking shots with it. I have a single coated zuiko 50mm f1.4 and its clearly inferior to this f1.8

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: zuiko 50mm f1.4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Stephen Scharf   Intermediate [Jan 18, 2002]
Strength:

Sharpness, contrast, compactness, ruggedness, build quality.

Weakness:

None.

I bought this lens new with my first OM-1n body for $50 over 22 years ago. It was a steal then and it is still a steal now. It still works, looks, and operates like new. Outstanding 50mm standard lens. Very sharp and contrasty. I have lost count of the number of photos I have taken with this lens. I took a Yosemite photo workshop many years ago where we had to bring some of our work with us for critiquing. I was always asked what lens I had taken the photos with, and the answer was always the same-the Zuiko 50mm standard lens! It was the only I had at the time. While my Yashica T4 has an excellent lens, this lens blows that Tessar T* out of the water for crispness and sharpness.

Customer Service

Never needed it. Lens looks and works perfect to this day, 22 years later! d

Similar Products Used: Nikkor 50mmµ
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Philip Canard   Expert [Dec 22, 2001]
Strength:

Compact, light, sharp, high contrast, rugged, no linear distortion that I can tell. It is a better lens than the 50mm f1.4 at half the cost. I know because I own both models. I know of no better value in a standard lens in all 35mm photography.

Weakness:

The 50mm f2 macro lens is supposedly even better, but look at the cost difference!

One of the great standard lenses, and possibly the best value on the used market. The lens is very well corrected in all areas. Mine is an old silver nose single-coated lens, yet the color quality is excellent and contrast is high.

Customer Service

Never used Olympus service. I buy used Olympus gear and use Camtech for service work. They do a very good job.

Similar Products Used: Zuiko 50mm f1.4, Nikkor 50mm f1.4, Canon 50mmf1.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Evan Newell   Beginner [Aug 13, 2000]
Strength:

Typical OM- small, light, and sturdy. I use it on my OM-2n and get excellent results.

Weakness:

I don't know... It's too inexpensive?

Its impossible to find a lens for this price that performs this well in any other line. Available for around $20, you could just use it as a functional body cap and still be getting a deal. OM characteristics and Zuiko optics make this a great choice!

Customer Service

Olympus doesn't do much for the OM line anymore, but there are COUNTLESS other resources available and a long line of OM junkies out there.

Similar Products Used: Minolta and Canon equivalents.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
elmer del campo   Intermediate [Apr 18, 2000]
Model Reviewed: OM-Zuiko 50mm f1.8
Strength:

-light
-sturdy construction
-compact
-magnificent color contrast
-inexpensive
-basic

Weakness:

None

I believe that this lens is sharper than my OM-Zoiku 50mm/1.4. I tested both lens @ f5.6 and enlarged the negative to 8x10. The Zoiku 50mm/1.4 was somewhat lacked detail.

Compared to the other manufacturers 50mm lens- it's extremely similar to the Nikkor's color contrast. I also didn't detect a sun flares with this the lens. It's great overall.

This lens fits my OM systems well. Overwhelmed by AF lenses in the market today, I can't believe the OM system is still going strong. Forget the zooms, stay with the standard lens- make mine 50mm baby!

Similar Products Used: -OM-Zoiku 50mm/1.4
-Nikkor 50mm/1.4 AIS
-Canon FD 50mm/1.4
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
John Prosper   Intermediate [Dec 28, 1999]
Model Reviewed: OM-Zuiko 50mm f1.8
Strength:

Very sharp, compact unit with good flare control.

Weakness:

N/A

I have used this lens with a Minolta 49mm dual element diopter with very good results. High quality performance at a bargain price!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Zuiko 50/1.4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com