Pentax SMCP-FA 100mm f/2.8 Macro 35mm Primes

Available At:
SMCP-FA 100mm f/2.8 Macro

  • 1:1 macro telephoto autofocus lens
  • Aperture range: f/2.8-32
  • Fully automatic diaphragm

  • User Reviews (7)

    Showing 1-7 of 7  
    stemked   Expert [Mar 31, 2005]
    Strength:

    Excellent optic stopped down. Limitor for closeup work Reasonable price used

    Weakness:

    Heavy. Ok, but not great manual focus feel. Very expensive new.

    A nice lens (FA version). Said to not be as good as other brands at f2.8 but I rarely use the lens at anything other than f11-f22 where it shines. Very heavy for a Pentax lens and doesn't balance well on many smaller bodies.The wider ring makes this a better manual lens than the very similar F version. I think the Sigma 105 f2.8 and Tamron f2.8 are in many ways nicer manual focus lenses and are cheaper new.

    Customer Service

    NR

    Similar Products Used: Most K mount macros
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    Stan M   Professional [May 09, 2003]
    Strength:

    Absulute top quality - everything.

    Weakness:

    None

    I own Pentax 645N, Bronica GS 1, Eos 3 and L lenses. I use also Pentax MZs (as good as anything from Canon) and this 100mm macro. In short, it is a perfect lens. The quality is wonderful. I use it for tight portraits, and nature close-ups. Instead of using heavy MF cameras, I use my Pentax set up for head and shoulders portratits. When used with 100 ASA Reala, I print 11x14 and I see single m hair on ladies' faces. Talk about sharpness. Absolutely no grain in this combination. It looks just like my MF prints. Never tried beyond 11x14, but feel that 16X20 would be excellent as well.

    Customer Service

    Very good, much better than my Canon (L Lenses and IS are great!)

    Similar Products Used: Too many to mention
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Doug Stemke   Intermediate [Aug 15, 2000]
    Strength:

    Very sharp, esp at f4 or greater. 1:1 macro. Great looking.

    Weakness:

    Very heavy. Could be a tad sharper wide open (f2.8). Not a factor for macro work when you need more DOV. Pricey (new often greater than $500, used $350-450).

    A very lovely lens. Extremely sharp, but heavy. The new ZX/MZ line of cameras are so small that the system doesn't always seem well balanced. I haven't tried it with a PZ-1(p) however.

    The fact that it isn't super sharp at f2.8 is frankly unimportant for macro work when you'll probably be shooting at f16. Sigmas new 100 macro may fit the bill for those who want a sharper 2.8 (it's cheaper/lighter too). However at f16 It is consistently rated as one of the best lenses. Very fast autofocus.

    Customer Service

    Generally excellent. Pentax does not tend to serve old equipment well, but few companies do.

    Similar Products Used: Pentax 100 A F4, Tamron 90mm f2.8, Pentax 200 A* F4
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Dan Scott   Casual [Nov 12, 2000]
    Strength:

    Sharp , bokeh is generally good to excellent. No flare. No distortion.

    Weakness:

    Heavy--expensive new.

    I'm glad I bought it. The lense is heavy, but you get used to it pretty quickly (Kodak Supra 400 and Fuji Superia 400 help and give great results with this lense). At 1:1, use a tripod and remote release. I've run 10-15 rolls through it in the last 2 weeks and gotten some great shots from it (wildflowers and insects). Might be a little too sharp for portraits unless your subject is flawless.

    Customer Service

    Untried.

    Similar Products Used: None. This is my first macro.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Wilson Chow   Casual [Apr 06, 2001]
    Strength:

    Good optics, Very solid structure and metallic handheld feeling. Focusing ring is rotating smoothly.

    Weakness:

    Slow AF speed, but most non-USM marco lens has this problem.

    Very good optics, good colour reproduction and sharpness. Friction control of focusing is useful to ensure accurate focus point. Surface finishing give very good handheld feeling.

    Customer Service

    No experience

    Similar Products Used: Sigma EX AF105/2.8Marco, Nikon AF200/4Marco. Pentax FA50/2.8Marco.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Alan Chan   Intermediate [Jun 20, 2001]
    Strength:

    Solid built, nice bokeh, nice optics

    Weakness:

    Aperture ring is a bit difficult to access, focus ring could be made smoother. Not particular sharp at wide open.

    Still an excellent buy if you use Pentax.

    Similar Products Used: SMC PENTAX 100 f4
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Don Sivori   Professional [Aug 16, 2001]
    Strength:

    fast 2.8 fstop, very sharp optics, 1 to 1 without any extension tubes, clamp on lens for copy stand work

    Weakness:

    Pentax should have kept exterior construction same as KA macro lens

    A nice lens for all around macro work. Used mine for both closeups in nature as well as a portraiture lens. I think the plastic barrel made it a little more bulky than the older 100 Ka mount that I owned. Traded that for this one. New one seemed slightly sharper than older version.

    Customer Service

    had to send in once for sticky aperture

    Similar Products Used: none
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-7 of 7  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com