Pentax SMCP-FA 77mm f/1.8 Limited 35mm Primes

Available At:
SMCP-FA 77mm f/1.8 Limited

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
danag42   Professional [Jan 24, 2006]
Strength:

Sharper wide open than most lenses, which counts for a lot in a portrait lens. Getting the leading eye in focus doesn't mean the rest of the image is soft, just not as well focused! Exactly the effect we want. Small and light, and amazingly well built. They just don't make 'em like this any more, it is as solid as my A 50 1.4. But overall a better lens, if that's possible! I got one in black, better to match my cameras. It is not intimidating to the subject, be it man or beast. Autofocus is spot on, never needed to touch it up.

Weakness:

Price. But it's worth it. Just try it!!!

This is one impressive lens. First off, the build quality tells you it's meant to be around for a long time. All metal construction feels like the old days (one craveat: polycarbonate is more thermally stable than metal, but polycarbonate doesn't give that "jewel like" feel, so metal it is). Manual focus is smooth and well damped, unusual in an AF lens. And the autofofocus seems to be dead-on. although that may have more to do with the camera than the lens. Sharp as a tack, even wide open! And the sharpness stays sharp out to the edges, which showed me some embarresing stains on a supposedly blank wall in a test image! Be careful what you wish for, and all that!! Out of focus areas have a realy creamy smooth look to them. I suppose this is whatpeople mean by "bokeh". If so, bokeh is fantastic! And I see now what people mean by a "three demensional feel" to the image. Well worth the high price!

Customer Service

Never had to call them. My few email exchanges with Pentax in Colorado have been extremely positive.

Similar Products Used: Pentax lenses, 20mm to 200mm primes, some zooms, canon lenses, Nikon lenses (I had several brands of camera. I started in the 1960's, when Pentax was THE brand, and having tried a few other brands I am one of a small number of professionals that have stuck with Pentax for the optics. They are still THE lens maker, along with Zeiss. I stil have the A 50 1.4, perhaps the best 50 out there, and the 31mm Limited for my digital to use as a normal. It's also an astounding lens.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
derbyc   Expert [Jul 19, 2004]
Strength:

Beautiful portraits. Small compact size. Luxurious feel.

Weakness:

Slow AF. Hard to find matching (silver) filters. The slip on cap isn't really practical with a filter on.

Gorgeous to hold. Much handier than the FA85/1.4 (which I haven't really used since I got the 77mm). But the prize is the creamy bokeh and sharpness without being harsh. Little too small on the PZ1, but perfect on the MZ5. Doesn't scare the sitter

Similar Products Used: FA*85/f1.4, FA100 macro (good for portraits too).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Winston   Intermediate [Dec 02, 2003]
Strength:

Superb Optic Small 49mm filter (for f/1.8!) Superb Build Quality Excellent manual focusing Excellent color rendition Built in hood (increases ruggedness) All metal construction Very reasonable price

Weakness:

Slow AF, rotating front lens Too beautifully finished, I'm so afraid to scratch it

An extremely sharp lens! A must have for Pentax users. I use this lens mostly from f/1.8 & f/2.8 (for portrait) or f/8 for landscape. While stopping down to f/8 increases the sharpness, it has 3D look already from f/1.8!!!

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used: Nikkor 85/1.8, Nikkor 105s, Pentax 70-200/4-5.6, Nikkor 80-200
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Paul Zabodal   Professional [Aug 10, 2003]
Strength:

Sharp Bokeh performance Light weight Nicely saturated colours Great contrast Superb flare control (SMC) Versatile focal length

Weakness:

None so far.

I've used this lens for over a year now and if you are after a 5-star optical performance with build quality to match, get this (metal) lens! I use this lens for head-and-shoulders portraits for my commercial work, weddings and children's portraiture. Besides being sharp, it gives a wonderful bokeh performance. It's not only sharp in the centre but holds exceptionally well in the corners, too. I haven't done any "scientific" testing but I can't notice any rectilinear distortion. On transparency film, the colours are well saturated with a slight tendency towards being warm. Contrast is also excellent. Flare control is superb from this lens. It really has been a plus when shooting outdoors. I have 2 pentax lenses (the 77mm and FA 50mm f1.4, also a great lens) and 3 third party lenses. The difference in flare control between the Pentax and the third party lenses is very noticeable. Smart focal length, too. There's enough telephoto there for it to give great results for portraiture and I've used it for environmental portraiture, as well. Whilst it isn't a cheap lens, I still feel you get a lot of bang for the buck. I'm just waiting for Pentax to bring out an ultra-wide angle lens in the limited series.

Customer Service

Haven't needed it for this product.

Similar Products Used: Tamrom 90mm F2.8 macro. Sigma 70-200 EX F2.8.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
okayla   Intermediate [Mar 23, 2002]
Strength:

Optics (excellent wide open performance, highly staurated colors and nice bokeh) great looks, well built, cute lens pouch, small 49mm filter size and nice lens cap.

Weakness:

Front barrel rotates while focusing

The lens exudes quality in all respects. Quite unlike the plasticky feel of most other FA* lenses. A unique and must have lens for the Pentax system. Optically superb, overall on the saturated of the scale, nice "bokeh" performance. Great for portraiture, the only draw back for me is the rotating front portion of the lens barrel will prevent you from holding the lens normally when attached to the camera. Not pricey for the performance and overall quality. I am so impressed that I immediately bought the 31 1.8 Ltd as well, and the 31 is every bit as good. I also tried the 43 1.9 (L39 version)but optically not as outstanding as the other two Ltd lenses.

Customer Service

None required

Similar Products Used: Canon EF 85 1.2L, Leica R80 1.4, Minolta 85 1.4G
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Wayne Chiu   Intermediate [Nov 11, 2000]
Strength:

1.Beautiful colour!
2.Nice coating for anti-reflection!
3.Small body;handy!

Weakness:

n/a

Oh!It's very vrey nicely to have this lens's experience.
Pentax FA77/1.8:
1.The tone is good!
2.The color is good!
3.The "Bokeh" is good!

MZ3 + FA77mm/1.8 is a handy kit for portrait even snapshot or landscape!(Comparing with other SLR brands)

Whole image's tone just likes Leica's standar !
So it is an amazing and unique lens from Japan.
You won't imaging it if you haven't tried it before!
Yes,that is a special lens among the other Japan's lenes!

Customer Service

pass

Similar Products Used: Nikon AF85/1.8D....
Canon EF85/1.2L....
So much......
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alan Chan   Intermediate [Jun 20, 2001]
Strength:

Nice bokeh, very sharp, excellent for portrait, small size, precise AF, solid built, nice MF feel, excellent flare control.

Weakness:

It was built too beautifully to be abused.

Still reasonably priced, I would prefer this one to the FA*85/1.4.

Similar Products Used: SMCP-FA*85/1.4
AF Nikkor 85/1.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ed   Expert [Aug 12, 2001]
Strength:

Everything! Great handling, compact size and nice weight. Great quality build. Fantastic sharpness and excellent bokeh, and virtually no linear distortion.

Weakness:

None, except the price might deter some. Oh, and I'm afraid that lenscap will cost a fortune if I ever lose it.

If you can afford this lens, and want a great lens to carry for high quality snapshots and people shots, you will not be disappointed with this. The AF is not great and entirely accurate on my ZX5N, or the pre-production MZ-S I tried it with in the store (but didn't buy). But I attribute that to the cameras and not the lens. And the manual focus feel is excellent also, so that makes up for it.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: I own lots of Pentax and Nikon equipment.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com