Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX Macro 35mm Primes

Available At:
50mm f/2.8 EX Macro

Designed as a quick-focusing macro lens the AF speed of 50mm, f/2.8 EX Macro is 1.4 times faster than previous 50mm f/2.8 macros. It features a non-rotating front lens group which makes it easier to work with polarizing filters and has a focus limiter.

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
drg   Professional [Jan 18, 2006]
Strength:

Verry good optically, sharp corner to corner and accurate color rendition. Value for the money. True 1:1 without converter. Fast AF (see note above) Great depth of field possible with F45.

Weakness:

Needs a larger focusing ring. An option of hoods might be a plus.

This is a good sharp fast lens that I find myself using fairly often. I've used these now on both Canon Film and Digital SLR's with great success. As part of a review and extended testing of a Sigma SD10 I used on the Sigma DSLR and a Film SLR also with equally good results. In some reviews I've noticed comments regarding AF speed and noise, there are older versions of this lens that though optically are great, mechanically are very different and do sound like a low speed drill. The lens model in question here has the modern fast motor and a limit switch when not using it as a Macro lens. It limits the excursion of the focusing tube to a 'normal' range. The supplied screw in hood is well made and has an interesting feature that you can screw in a 72mm filter in front of the hood! I would like an optional petal hood or a bayonet mount for non-macro work. A small issue but not major is the focusing ring, it could be wider/bigger but the AF works even at macro range so well that it is rare that it would be required. There's nothing I've seen in using two variants (diff. mounts) of this lens to warrant giving it any thing less than a great rating both for value and performance.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Canon 60mm 2.5 (not a 1:1, requires a converter) Various macro lfilters and extension tubes and othe Macro capable lens in various lengths.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
prole   Casual [Mar 20, 2005]
Strength:

very sharp, cheapo, nice feel, focus limiter, aparture range.

Weakness:

That AF is sometimes annoying, but with macro you've usually got the time to play.

All prices are in pounds. Lens £200 new, £130 paid. Ahh, the joys of macro. People seem to use the terms macro and close-up interchangeably, so just to clarify: Macro means reproduction ratio of 1:1 or more. Macro photography is great, because anything is potentially a subject - be in indoors or out. You can manipulate the light to your hearts content using nothing more than a desk lamp and churning out anything from closeups of flowers to abstract "cool...what is that anyway?" photos is possible. Oh yeh, the lens. Bearing in mind I have reconditioned stock (so long as there's no huge scratches on the glass and it works fine, I don't see the problem people have with reconditioned stuff) let's have a quick gander at the pictures it throws out. Sharpness and definition are blinding, I would have no problems using this lens for semi-pro work and with a nice aparture of f/2.8 - f/45 you can really play with the depth of field. I have found best results at f/11, but at f/8 detail and sharpness is brilliant and at f/2.8 you get perfectly useable shots. AF is sometimes bang on and sometimes annoyingly precarious, even when you can't see any reason why it misses it hunts... persistantly. Due to the long focus ring, Sigma have included a lock button, which locks out the other half of the focus ring so if it does hunt, it doesn't waste ages doing it. Sometimes it's easier to focus by doing it roughly manually and then using AF to fine tune. Speedy AF on a macro lens isn't essential, but this is a lens that could be used for all sorts due to it's sharpness and overall quality. When I first got the lens, at a certain point on the focusing ring there would be a disconcerting sound akin to gears crunching, however this has gone after a couple of hours useage. Another reviewer commented on 50mm focal length not being quite enough, and I have to agree (although I use digital and it becomes a 75mm). A 105mm lens would elminate the problem of shadowing and might be the better investment. In short - a cheap, sharp, functional lens that fulfills all the requirements of macro photography. This is a fine example of what Sigma is capable of and makes me want to seriously consider their EX series for my next lens.

Customer Service

I avoid customer service. Who wants some 18 year old reading from a computer screen over the phone? Well, maybe there are "specialist" phone numbers for people who want that.

Similar Products Used: Only ever used macro facility on prosumers - none match this lens.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SF Rebeldude   Beginner [Nov 26, 2004]
Strength:

Build Quality, Price, Macro 1:1 Reproduction. Extra Long 4 Year Sigma USA Warranty.

Weakness:

Focal Length can be a little short.

I purchased this lens to take close up pictures of flowers. I have gotten some excellent results. Auto Focus is faster than Sigma 105mm EX Macro, but the 105mm is a much more useful focal length than the 50mm. Sometimes you cast a shadow on your subject by having to stand so close. However, many times this is not a problem. I have two Canon Rebel Cameras (Rebel Ti and Rebel 2000), and sometimes whening walking thru Botanical Gardens I like to have both my Sigma 50mm AF EX Macro Lens and my Sigma 105mm AF EX Macro lens out and ready to shoot. Sharpness is excellent. It is best to use tripod and a Aperture of at least 16-22. Can be used for Landscape Photography as well. I have taken some Wallpaper (computer background) and possible Calender quality photographs with this lens.

Customer Service

Sigma Customer Care via email has been excellent.

Similar Products Used: Sigma 105mm AF EX Macro, Sigma 28-80mm AF Mini Zoom Macro.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
TaroOSullivan   Professional [May 14, 2004]
Strength:

quick, compact, sharp photos

Weakness:

none

At the price I paid, I figure I'd just keep it for the rare occassions that I need a macro lens and much cheaper than renting it for a day. As it turns out, I use this for a lot of wide shots...scenic, indoor and low light situations. It is a wonderful all around lens.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jk39   Professional [Sep 06, 2003]
Strength:

Very sharp lens Light weight and sturdy construction Bright viewfinder Fast f/2.8 aperture Great lens for the price

Weakness:

Autofocus not the fastest Working distance a bit too close at 1:1

Bought this lens for macro work, but found myself shooting portraits and scenics just as well (Just don't do tight headshots). Bright f/2.8 viewfinder for good low light composition. Achieves f/45 for extreme depth of field. Excellent sharpness from corner to corner. Very good flare control. Screw-in type metal lens hood provides good protection for those who frequently give their cameras a healthy workout. Sturdy construction but very lightweight. Focus ring well dampened. Small 55mm filter size a plus. Canon's 50mm f/2.5 is similarly priced and has a bit faster autofocus, but it requires a converter ($230) to achieve 1:1 lifesize reproduction, which the Sigma can already do. Great bargain.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Canon EF 50mm f2.5 Canon EF 50mm f1.4 USM Canon FD 50mm f1.8 Canon EF 24-85mm f3.5-4.5 USM
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
ToxicBug   Intermediate [Jun 14, 2003]
Strength:

Extremely sharp f/2.8 1:1 macro Feels good to hold :)

Weakness:

The autofocus can't really be considered as a weakness, so none :)

Very sharp lens. 50mm is very convinient, especially when I go to a car show. There, I use this lens to take pictures of cars, and then do some close-ups of the rims, brakes, tachometers, etc. The autofocus is decent, and it cannot be considered against buying this excellent lens.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael FCKFC   Expert [Apr 15, 2003]
Strength:

Color, saturation very sharp

Weakness:

AF noisy and slow...but not really a problem for macro work.

Excellent lens I also have Canon 100mm macro and this is just as sharp or sharper

Customer Service

none needed

Similar Products Used: Canon 100 macro
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
quenchfire   Intermediate [Mar 10, 2003]
Strength:

Sharp as a tack, Inexpensive compared to 'OEM' brand, versatile 1:1 macro, reasonably lightweight, looks good w/EX finish!

Weakness:

Need something longer for insect photos (unless it's cold or subject is static)but that's why I have the 105mm EX!

Incredible sharp lens..my first prime, and now thirsting for more. f2.8 provides bright viewfinder, images are tack sharp, almost 3-dimensional. Great lens for people and landscape pics, but focal length too shallow for all but still life macro.

Customer Service

Never needed

Similar Products Used: 105mm 1:1 macro EX, SMC-Takumar 50mm f1.4, Pentax 28-80 f3.5-5.6 POS, Sigma 35-70 f2.8-4.0 UC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gary   Intermediate [Jan 12, 2003]
Strength:

Optical quality, finish

Weakness:

Too short for most macro work. Wish I would have known before I purchased it.

This is an excellent lens and highly rated by Photodo and several periodicals. It is extremely sharp and the colors are vibrant. Seems to be on a par with my Canon 300 F4 L. The focusing is slow and loud compared to usm lenses but it is still faster than my old Minolta system. Quality/Price comparison can't be beaten. Macros are beautiful though a longer focal length would give better background blur.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: 28-105 Canon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Armando Rodriguez   Intermediate [Jan 11, 2003]
Strength:

price finish color contrast

Weakness:

The AF is really slow and really noisy. It grinds awfully.

Great lens for the money. Top quality finish. The autofocus sometimes wanders but all problems seem to be solved when switched to it's "limit" setting.

Customer Service

Called in order to make sure that its motor was suppose to sound the way it dose.

Similar Products Used: canon 1.8f 50mm
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 22  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com