Canon EF 22-55mm f/4-5.6 USM 35mm Zoom

Canon EF 22-55mm f/4-5.6 USM 35mm Zoom 

DESCRIPTION

The replicated aspherical lens element makes this wide-angle zoom lens light and small. The Canon-exclusive Micro USM makes it fast and quiet, too. Great for traveling light. It’s also perfect as your regular wide-angle lens. When the lens is attached to an EOS Advanced Photo System SLR camera, the 35mm-equivalent focal length is 28-69mm.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 25  
[Nov 24, 2017]
P.J.
Expert

Strength:

Sharp (tested on 1D mkIV), cheap, fast AF, silent AF, light, small.

Weakness:

Plastic, F/4-5.6, looks a bit silly on my 1D mkIV

I think this is a hidden gem, at least my version is. I bought it for €10!! and use it on my 1D mkIV and love it.
Its very sharp and fast focussing.

Similar Products Used:

24-70 f/2.8 L

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 25, 2012]
Jan
Intermediate

Strength:

Weight - You always can have this one in bag
Optical quality - yes, this one is better than 28-80/90, but not as good as 24-85. But usable. Some distorsion on 22mm on 55mm some softer. Better sopped down to f8.
Price - very cheap, performance/price ratio is very good

Weakness:

Build - cheap feeling, plastic, mount and filter mount
Focusing - slow (compare to L lens), noisy (compare to true USM), no FTM, rotating front, very hard to focus manually (short, no focus ring, only front ring), no distance/DOF scale (but I do not use them)
Filter size - 58mm are cheap, but these are used on consumers lens, so I have only this one and 28-80 in this diameter. So an other set of filters needed.
Zooming - changes lenght, shortest is about 35mm, is not comfortable (also manual focusing is not)

This lens is suitable as treavel lens. As primary lens, only in very small budget situation. I have this one when I need light wide lens....

Similar Products Used:

17-40L, 24-70L, 24-85 all EF

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 08, 2010]
JEAN GENIBREL
Intermediate

Strength:

INEXPENSIVE. FITS ALL CANONS DIGITAL D SERIES. EASY TO CARRY. TAKES GREAT SHOTS

Weakness:

HARD TO FIND. I HAD TO LOOK FOR SEVERAL MONTHS TO FIND ONE

FOR A $150 LENS I MUST SAY IT IS FANTASTIC. IT IS LIGHT AND HAS A FAST AUTOFOCUS. UNFORTUNATELY I NEED TO SELL IT ALONG WITH OTHER EQUIPMENT TO GO BACK TO SCHOOL. SHOOT ME AN EMAIL IF YOU CAN HELP ME OUT.

Customer Service

SAMMY'S ALWAYS HAS THE BEST SERVICE AND KNOWLEGEABLE PEOPLE.

Similar Products Used:

CANON 28-135 L AND 70-300IS

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 05, 2005]
rogerslade
Expert

Strength:

Good wide angle coverage with acceptable distortion. Contrast and definition when closed down proved to be extremely good.

Weakness:

Not very solidly constructed although it did survive being dropped 3 feet onto concrete by my wife! Prone to flare so a lens hood is essential. Wide open apertures best avoided.

I was a bit doubtful about buying this lens as I had heard various reports about it - some good, some bad but I wanted a wide angle zoom for a trip to Rome but did not want to spend a fortune.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 18, 2004]
marty01_uk
Intermediate

Strength:

Cheap light wide andgle zoom

Weakness:

no good till you get to f8 build quality

I can see where they ar coming from with this lens.but by making it so small and light they have ruined what could have ben an excellent lens lack of contrast throughout the zoom range and lots of vignetting at wide.It needs to be used at at least f8 or even smaller to get good results. It's achilles heel is also its saving grace.It is very light and compact ideal for travelling and it is also cheap for a zoom of this range.

Similar Products Used:

canon l series sigma ex

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 17, 2003]
Xpose_biz
Professional

Strength:

Light, cheap, versatile.

Weakness:

Build quality. Soft when shot wide open. Needs a lot of light to perform at its best.

I first got this lens when I bought my Canon D60 digital SLR and this makes an attractive cheap option for a first short range zoom. The 22mm end is short enough to get you good indoor shots and up close people work, the 55mm just long enough to reach a few metres to the other side of the room. Build quality is at the lower end of the scale and generally the lens is quite soft at virtually every focal length. It's best shot at around f9.0 or even more to sharpen up the images. It is very light however and you won't even notice it's on the body most of the time. It does need a lot of flash light to keep it producing decent work when in the dark or indoors, due to its high f-stop range (f4-5.6). Although this lens was originally made for film cameras, it suits the digital enthusiast looking to add a bit of closer range work to their kit, for not many $$. As a shorter walk-around digital zoom lens for an enthusiast working in bright outdoor conditions, it can be shot at around f9.0 with success.

Customer Service

N/A

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 08, 2003]
qchan
Beginner

Strength:

Zoom Range Fast AF Light & Compact (I love plastic!)

Weakness:

Slow Aperture

I love this lens. It has a fast AF (faster than my EF 50mm 1.8), its very light weight and compact and the best thing is it has the absolute unique focal lengths ranging from 22 to 55mm. And the price is even better. Yes it is cheap, and therefore it’s also cheap made, but it’s light and that’s good for me. The only real contra is the maximum aperture is not very high. But nevertheless this lens has so many pros it became my favorite lens and stayed 80% on my EOS300.

Customer Service

Never used.

Similar Products Used:

Canon EF 50mm 1.8 mk II Many zooms but no one in this zoom range.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 14, 2002]
R_ N
Intermediate

Strength:

Very reasonable budget choice for wide angle. Compact size. Nice wide-angle complement to a lightweight, low-cost kit. 58 mm filter size.

Weakness:

Filter rotates while focusing, making use of circular polarizer a 2-handed operation. Manual focusing a bit tricky, but manageable. Has USM, but not full time manual focusing. Does not match performance of more expensive primes and zooms. I would say plastic mount a weakness, but makes no difference in practice. Out of production. Find a closeout or buy used.

Really decent performance for what it is. A good budget choice. At f8, f11: slides looked sharp and contrasty edge to edge w/ 8x loupe. I was pleasantly suprised by its performance. Bought this lens 'cos it was as cheap as a filter and because Canon hasn't come out with a 24mm f2.8 USM lens yet! I'm giving this 4 stars within its category, dinging it for tricky manual focus.

Customer Service

The best: never used. However, I've received several cordial responses to my repeated suggestions that they come out with a 24mm f2/8 USM lens retaining 58mm filter size and with updated optics.

Similar Products Used:

28-105 MkII 3.5-4.5 USM. A definite step up in optics and handling.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 17, 2002]
LabRat
Intermediate

Strength:

Light Cheap Sharp at f/8 + Good AF

Weakness:

Slow distortion at 55mm

I bought this lens 'cause it was cheap for a wide angle and i found it very good for this price. I made very sharp images with it, of course at f/8 or so, but in landscape, these f/stop are very usual. Distortion is not so bad at 22mm but is very high at 55mm, but i don't buy this lens for 55mm.

Customer Service

Didn't have to use it

Similar Products Used:

Canon 28-90 " 50 1.8

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 12, 2002]
Wes Dobson
Intermediate

Strength:

Light Cheap Decent images 22mm is pretty wide and 55mm is just about normal

Weakness:

Distortion Slow Plastic Image quality just isn''t anywhere near a GOOD zoom or a prime.

It''s . . . ok. I''ve taken a few rolls with this sucker, and I do have to say that the quality of the images I took from it were better than I expected. Distortion is a problem. But, I just don''t know about this plastic 4-5.6 stuff. Made in Taiwan. No focus distance #''s or depth of field info. It''s cheap because it''s a consumer lens. Most everyone out there today wants zooms, but zooms are kinda cheezy until you start shelling out the large bills, and then they start getting really heavy. I think that most people just don''t realize how powerful those numbers written on your lens are. f4-5.6 means that when you''re zoomed in all the way, your lens gets 4 TIMES less light than a 2.8 lens, and 16 times less light than a 1.4 lens. When you put a 2.8 on your camera, your 100 speed film is what 400 speed film is to everyone using this lens. So my advice? If you are only going to have one lens, get a 50mm 1.8. If you want wide angle, get a 28mm 2.8. Both of these primes are priced in the same range as this zoom, but their quality is much, much higher. And if you''re deadset on getting a zoom and your price limit is 120, then get this. It''s a better lens than the booty 28-80 that comes with most of the Rebels.

Customer Service

Haven''t needed it.

Similar Products Used:

Canon 28-80 4-5.6 (piece of crap) 24mm 2.8 28mm 2.8 50mm 1.8 50mm 1.4

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 25  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com