Canon EF 80-200mm f/2.8L 35mm Zoom

Canon EF 80-200mm f/2.8L 35mm Zoom 

DESCRIPTION

Discountinued professional, autofocus zoom lens.

  • Aperture range: f/2.8-32
  • Min focus: 1.8 meters

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-6 of 6  
    [Jun 10, 2013]
    MacAttack
    Expert

    Strength:

    This is the lens (together with the EF 20-35mm 2.8 L) that began the pro photographer exodus from Nikon to Canon in the early 1990's. This lens is sharp and contrasty, and uses a much-improved arc-form drive for AF that is both fast and quiet. Three UD elements eliminate color fringing, and the all-metal barrel is tough and sealed (mostly!) against the elements.

    This is a better lens optically than the 70-200 that followed it. More metal and better optical correction: from 100mm up infrared and visible light focus on the same plane, meaning the lens is apochromatic at these lengths. For IR shooters who include visible light this is heaven: you get sharp IR images on both film and digital -- no more mushy shots! A fast 2.8 aperture and superb low-light performance make it ideal for shooting dance and concerts (my workhorse lens for those type of events).

    It takes reasonably affordable 72mm filters, and shipped with a hood, tripod collar, and a HARD case! Regarding the collar, it is also black and of a quick release design that you can work with one hand while the lens is still mounted on the camera. The new release for the 70-200mm requires you to remove the lens from the body. This older design is much better...

    Weakness:

    For me the primary weakness is WEIGHT. This is a REALLY HEAVY LENS. It weighs more than the EF 70-200mm 2.8 L IS USM Mark III, which is a bigger lens! It is so heavy I have to talk myself into carrying it around. Once I see the images I'm always glad I did but still, it is a grueling lens to walk around with. It led me to invest in its predescessor, the EF 50-200mm 3.5-4.5 L, this year. Shooting architecture I don't need 2.8 and already have to carry a bag full of lenses, so smaller and lighter are better. But for shows, this lens still rules...!

    It does not take the Canon teleconverters, so you have to resort to lesser third-party options. Not a huge factor for me. Ditto the lack of USM. This variant of the AFD is both fast and quiet; plus I can bump the focus ring and know that I haven't changed the focus.

    Finally, Canon did not see fit to put a gasket around the lens mount. The lens is otherwise 'weathersealed' but water could seep in through your mount. Normal care shooting in wet environments won't be a problem.

    A great lens that has deservedly become legendary. Prices are still up there on the used market but there is a good traffic in these (unlike the 50-200 L) so you can hunt one down. A fantastic lens, one of Canon's all-time greats. Some places you can check out images are:

    http://www.pbase.com/kodachrome/80_200
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/rtsan/sets/72157629210212919/
    http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography/hardwares/classics/eos/EF-lenses/EF80200mmf28L/index.htm

    The last one also has more information on this lens, the EF 100-300 5.6L, and the 50-200mm 3.5-4.5 L. The Flickr page has images from all three as well. The Pbase site has a gallery for the 100-300 also. Enjoy!

    Similar Products Used:

    EF 50-200mm 3.5-4.5 L http://radium25.tuchong.com/686250/ http://dcbbs.zol.com.cn/3/32_22191.html

    EF 100-300mm 5.6 L http://www.flickr.com/photos/rtsan/sets/72157629210048851/ http://www.pbase.com/kodachrome/100_300

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 16, 2009]
    sigmacanon
    Expert

    Strength:

    SHARP, COLOUR, PRICE,
    Making me want to go out there taking pictures what ever the weather.
    Best lens i have ever owned.

    Weakness:

    GETTING OLD BUT WHY CAN CANON NOT FIND THIS CLARITY FOR UNDER £1,250 THESE DAYS.

    Read the reviews and just had to try it, was using a Sigma 70-200 F2,8 APO IF,on my 40D then this arrived and it has not been off my camera since.
    It is heavy but i have no probs hand held unless tring to full frame a small object, can see why it is called the drain pipe no USM but still smooth and quick even indoors at f2.8.
    My first real shot with this was at the Zoo and i was totally blown away with how sharp clear exact what ever you want to call it. The clarity was something i never saw on the canon 70-200 f4 or the sigma f2.8 and the Bokeh blur was awesome.

    Similar Products Used:

    Canon EF 70-200 F4 L
    Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L NON IS.
    Sigma 70-200 EX APO IF HSM.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Apr 19, 2008]
    Photogoo
    Professional

    Strength:

    Built like a proverbial tank and tack sharp wide open across it's entire focal range. The only lens I've used that even came close was the 200mm 1.8L

    Weakness:

    Did I say it was built like a tank? It weighs almost as much, but it's still my go to lens.

    The Magic Drainpipe says it all......

    I bought this lens 9 years ago off of a photo bulletin board and it possibly the best photo related investment I have ever made. Theatre, sports, model portfolios, commercial work, this lens has done it all and never disappointed. I recently had a chance to mount it on a brand new Canon 1Ds MKIII.......... what a combo.


    If you can find it, buy it. Even if you have to trade in a 70-200 2.8L lens to do so, you won't be disappointed

    Customer Service

    Never

    Similar Products Used:

    300 mm 4L, 200 mm 1.8L, 28-70 mm 2.8L , 20-35 mm 2.8L

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Aug 16, 2005]
    Christiano
    Professional

    Strength:

    all; sharp sharp sharp did i say sharp super colour and etc......

    Weakness:

    weight!!!

    Fantastic lens ! I have tried them all,and only the new 70-200 f 2,8 usm IS Lens is better! that says it all; its a shame it went out(its on par w the famed 28-70 2,8L) if you can find one buy it(as the 100-300 5,6 L its a gem too!) BOUY IT

    Customer Service

    nope

    Similar Products Used:

    many many in the lenght from 50 mm- to 1000 mm bot zooms and fixed all from both canon and nikon due to almost 20 yrs!

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Oct 05, 2004]
    Bevan
    Expert

    Strength:

    Outstanding optically Sharp with open at all focal lengths Affordable (for an 'L'lens) Internal focusing Built like a tank

    Weakness:

    Nothing major, lens hood is the old clip on type which I'm not a fan of. Some may consider the lack of USM & FTM a weakness but I didn't.

    I was wondering when someone was finally going to get a link going for this lens. I traded mine in for a 70-200 f4 about 6 months ago, the sole reason for doing so being the 70-200 is 1/2 a kg lighter. As my main style is travel/street photography this is a factor. I love the 70-200 but can't help wonder if I should have kept the 80-200 as well. I'm missing f2.8 more than I thought I would. Yes this lens is old, but they were built to last. Mine was a bit battered but worked flawlessly. It's not as quick as USM but not a problem IMHO. For the quality of the results you adjust. It doesn't have FTM which I enjoy, but again you just adjust. I bought mine after owning 75-300 consumer lenses so initially found it heavy, but without sounding like a broken record, again you adjust IMHO. Something that wasn't a problem for me but may be for some is that this lens isn't compatible with Canon extenders (or the Sigma ones either) because of the extenders protruding element. I have read that good results come with the Kenko or Tamron SP converters. Make no mistake, the optical quality of this lens is outstanding. I can't say much more than that because it is. Useable at f2.8? Absolutely! Quality wide open is outstanding, as an 'L' lens should be. Yes IS, FTM and USM are great but if you're looking for an affordable, top quality 'L' lens you will not go wrong with this gem. If I had the oppotunity (and finances) to get another one, I wouldn't hesitate.

    Customer Service

    Not Needed

    Similar Products Used:

    Canon 75-300 Mark 2? Canon 75-300 IS usm (my copy was worse than the non USM) Canon 70-200 f4 'L' (Awesome lens)

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Aug 17, 2004]
    EOSThree
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Sharpness, build quality, f/2.8 across the entire range. Absolute bargain for a lens of this quality.

    Weakness:

    Arc Form focusing motor(pre USM)is a little slower and noisier than the USM motor, not really a problem for me. Heavy, it is heavier than my 300 f/4, a price I am willing to pay for the quality results from this lens.

    The magic drainpipe. This lens is the precursor to the highly regarded 70-200 f/2.8L. This lens is sharp, very sharp, sharp throughout the entire zoom and aperture range. The build quality is pro, focus and zoom are internal. This is probably my favorite lens right now. This lens holds up in quality to the 70-200L, and some believe it is a bit sharper across the board. It is a wonderful mid range zoom.

    Customer Service

    Haven't had to use them.

    Similar Products Used:

    FD 70-210, Tamron 28-200

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-6 of 6  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com