Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM 35mm Zoom

Available At:
EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

Provides ultra wide-angle coverage on Canon APS-C sensor DSLRs. Equivalent to a 16-35mm zoom, it offers excellent performance and optics designed from the ground-up for digital SLR use. Three Aspherical lens elements, plus a Super-UD element, assure image quality. Its ring-type USM means fast and silent AF along with full-time manual focus.

  • Aperture range: f/3.5-22
  • Min focus: 9.5 inches
  • Full-time manual focus

  • User Reviews (17)

    Showing 1-10 of 17  
    Digital SLR Seller   Professional [May 09, 2015]
    Strength:

    Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Lens with Flash + 3 Filters + Diffusers + Hood Kit for EOS 7D, 70D, Rebel T3, T3i, T5, T5i, SL1 Cameras
    Canon Go get it here ------------------>>>http://amzn.to/1EsmBWQ $639.95

    Weakness:

    Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Lens with Flash + 3 Filters + Diffusers + Hood Kit for EOS 7D, 70D, Rebel T3, T3i, T5, T5i, SL1 Cameras
    Canon Go get it here ------------------>>>http://amzn.to/1EsmBWQ $639.95

    Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Lens with Flash + 3 Filters + Diffusers + Hood Kit for EOS 7D, 70D, Rebel T3, T3i, T5, T5i, SL1 Cameras
    Canon Go get it here ------------------>>>http://amzn.to/1EsmBWQ $639.95

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    bitflogger   Expert [Nov 24, 2013]
    Strength:

    Superb wide angle shots compared to the others I tested. It has held up to what ever has been thrown at it.

    Weakness:

    None.

    I did test shots with this, 3rd party competitors and other camera system maker lenses in same range. This lens was better and with the Canon 70-200s reason for me to commit to the Canon system for digital.

    Customer Service

    N/A

    Similar Products Used: See above - I tested Sigma, Tamron and Nikon.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    tourtrophy   Intermediate [May 10, 2007]
    Strength:

    Almost fisheye view at 10mm focal length. No need to buy fisheye lens in my opinion for casual photographers.

    Image quality is excellent and is reasonably priced. This lens could have been labelled "L" if not for its non-water resistance build.

    Weakness:

    Back focus cannot be used for 5D and other full frame cameras.

    Filters are expensive for this lens size.

    I have been contemplating between 16-35mm f2.8L and this lens for my EOS 20D. Finally I decided that I wanted a wide angle lens that would allow me to be creative with the photo shots. With 16-35mm, it it not wide enough for the small sensor. I have some sample photos taken by 10-22mm, and they convinced me that this is the right lens for half the price.

    It turns out I was right. Image quality and the near fisheye view at 10mm blew me away. I particularly like the way it distorts the image at 10mm focal length.
    You can stand very near to the objects and would still be able to capture the whole thing.

    Overall I am happy with this purchase and I am glad that I did not plunge in another $600 for the L lens. I used that money to buy a 50mm f1.4.

    Make sure to get an ultrathin polarized filter. It 's expensive but needed for landscape. That 's the whole point of super wide angle, right?

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    andrewsfoto   Expert [Jul 22, 2006]
    Strength:

    Excellent sharpness and resolution at all focal lengths and apertures. Remarkably well controlled distortion and chromatic aberration even at the wide end of the zoom range. Fully suitable for interior architectural photography. Very clean, sharp images in all settings yet tested by me. Fast, accurate AF. Flare is well controlled.

    Weakness:

    None, really. Images are slightly soft in the extreme corners, but its no big deal. There is a touch of barrel distortion at the wide end and pincushion at the long end, both easily corrected in Photoshop. No internal stabilisation but its not much of an issue at these focal lengths.

    This is a highly desirable ultra wide zoom for Canon small sensor Digital SLR's. The performance equals or exceeds that of wide and super wide primes which I have tested. Images made with this lens on an EOS 20 D are very smooth and sharp at all focal lengths and apertures. There is really nothing about which to complain. I highly recommend this lens for any purpose requiring an extreme wide angle view.

    Customer Service

    Not required but usually excellent from Canon Australia.

    Similar Products Used: Canon EFS 17 55 mmf2.8
    Canon EFS 17 - 85 mm
    Numerous Canon primes 20, 24, 35 mm
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    daveb   Intermediate [May 08, 2006]
    Strength:

    Low distortion
    Good even sharpness across the sensor
    Well made
    Just the right weight for the size

    Weakness:

    Having to buy that funny, expensive lens shade
    Expense? Not really when you look at the image quality - beats many of the older wide angle L lenses
    Quite limited zoom range. A 10-24 or even a 10-28 (yes I own a 28-70 L) would increase the usefulness.

    A really good lens for the Canon 20D. Pincushion and barrel distortion are minimal compared to the 17-85 EFS; colour and contrast through this lens are also very acceptable, and it is a great interiors lens. It is much sharper to the edges than the 17-85, and because of the very wide angle, the apparent depth of field is very good. The build and size ate good, and it is light enough not to be a problem when moving it around with the tripod (low light interiors). With the 20D, this is the ideal second lens.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    dhaeze   Expert [Jan 11, 2006]
    Strength:

    Little distortion Little CA 16mm is very wide angle

    Weakness:

    None

    I use this EF-s 10-22mm on my 20D and gives me wide angle from 16mm tot 35mm. It opens the world with landscape and interior pictures. No need of full-frame and 16-35mm L when 20D with this lens. Minimal distortion an CA. Light and well build. AF fast and accurate. 77 filter thread is same as my 24-105mm and 70-200mm.

    Customer Service

    No

    Similar Products Used: Sigma 15-30
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    vibrio   Intermediate [Jan 07, 2006]
    Strength:

    light wieght, contrast, sharpness image quality.

    Weakness:

    cost, huge hood has to be bought

    this is the best UWA lens you can get. sharpe wide open from 10 to 22mm and its light and compact. this lens plus the 24-105 and a 70-200 f2.8 is the perfect set up. you have to buy the hood however. I also got £70 cash back from canon too

    Customer Service

    not required thankfullu

    Similar Products Used: sigma 12-20
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    racermd   Casual [Dec 17, 2005]
    Strength:

    Finally, an ultra-wide lens for small-sensor digi-SLRs! It's short length and light weight make it very portable.

    Weakness:

    Price - OUCH! $800 isn't cheap. But a decent ultra-wide lens on a digi-SLR appears to be difficult to do correctly. Price is probably reflecting that fact. Large filter size means expensive filters, too. Definitely not a lens for those with shallow accounts.

    I purchased this lens for the sole purpose of shooting Hoover Dam while on the guided tour. From the observation deck, I was able to take the entire front of the dam into frame. That's just about a 90 degree *HORIZONTAL* FOV! On a digital SLR with the APS-C sensor (mine is a 20D), that's impressive. This is certainly not the most-used lens in my bag, but I'm going to try to get creative with it in the spring. It's an excellent lens, but I don't tend to shoot ultra-wide very often. Who should buy this lens? Not many, that's for sure. Those with a real need for wide-angle lenses are probably considering the tilt-shift lenses. No, the real buyer of this lens is likely mid-level amateurs looking to expand their lens coverage on the wide end. Beginners with lots of disposable income might also consider this lens. For me, it's complementing a 28-135 IS and a 70-300 IS. This lens takes 77mm threaded filters, which tend to be expensive. Do yourself a favor and at least buy a decent UV filter to protect the front of the lens. At about $800, this is probably a lens you won't want to buy twice.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    ReLe   Intermediate [Jul 27, 2005]
    Strength:

    10mm! I have missed this in digital. Good quality even at 10mm, when @ f/8 (compared to other zoom's). Fast & silent focus. Good build quality. Looks pro with hood ( bought separately )

    Weakness:

    Not as good as in 22mm area as like 20-xx lens, but hey this was designed to be 10-22. Won't come with hood ( bought it separately ). Won't fit to 1D series, but we would not have this lens if it would fit. Bit pricey.

    I had 15-30mm Sigma in my Dynax 7 film camera and missed wide angle so after jumping to Canon i bought this. Feels quite solid and build quality is good. Image quality is good @ f/8, better corner sharpness than 15-30mm sigma had. Fast focus compared to other wide angles i have used. Overall very pleased to this lens and best wide zoom used so far.

    Customer Service

    no needed yet.

    Similar Products Used: Sigma 15-30mm.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    Chi   Intermediate [Jun 30, 2005]
    Strength:

    light and wide

    Weakness:

    - no lens hood included and its so hard to find anywhere in the world! - not super cheap - can't use on non EF-S mounts. lets hope Canon continues with this mount

    I bought this lens for wide angle coverage on the 20D. Its certainly wide and fantastic for outdoor, landscape & long exposure night city shots (even with slim polariser). However I have used it for wedding photojournalism and it wasn't as useful mainly because of its smaller max aperture/not so sharp. It seems very sharp at f8 and beyond. I also have seen every now and then some softness or out of focus on the right hand side of this lens when used f3.5-f7.

    Customer Service

    not tried using yet

    Similar Products Used: Canon 24-70f2.8 - much sharper at large apertures
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Showing 1-10 of 17  
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com