Leica 70-180mm Vario-APO-Elmarit-R f2.8 (ROM) 35mm Zoom

70-180mm Vario-APO-Elmarit-R f2.8 (ROM)

User Reviews (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6  
lotusman   Expert [Nov 07, 2003]
Strength:

-Optically superb -Fast f/2.8 aperture

Weakness:

OK, it is expensive and huge, but it's not really a 'weakness' as such!

A top-class telephoto zoom lens from Leica, which will not only easily blow other zooms out of the water, it will also match and better almost all fixed focal length lenses as well. At nearly 2kg, quality doesn’t come without a weight penalty, but I personally don’t find this a problem – anybody thinking about this should really try this lens out first in the shop to see if it is a problem for them. Optically, the lens is perfect, showing amazing sharpness and resolution across the frame at all apertures and focal lengths. Indeed, I might even conclude that it is slightly better than my 100/2.8 apo lens, and that really is a fantastic lens!

Customer Service

Not needed yet

Similar Products Used: Other Leica lenses
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
nagelchr   Expert [Nov 01, 2001]
Strength:

Optical performance compared to other zooms of the same focal length is beyond comparison. Built quality is exceptional and

Weakness:

Under certain circumstances heavy veiling flare in the max. focal position (180). Can''t be corrected by Leica service as reported in an earlier review. You can''t change the aperture and construction !

I got this brand-new dream-lens at ebay for half the price with full guarantee. Built quality is exceptional, the best I''ve ever experienced. I also have the Vario-Elmar 4/80-200, which is also great in all aspects, but the Vario-Apo-Elmarit just shows it its limits. I also use a Canon EOS-1 with the EF 2.8/28-70 L and the EF 2.8/80-200 L (which is also a little bit better in optical terms than the newer 70-200/2.8 L). But the Leica VAE blows them out of the water. Paired up with a Leica R8 + Winder, this is the combination to go for. Everything out of solid metal. The built-in hood is covered with rubber and much more practical than the seperate burger-king-crowns of Canon and Nikon, that stay at home most of the time. Otical performance at full aperture is brilliant. The best performance is at f/4. After that there is a slight fall-of till f/8. There is noo need to stop down when focused to infinity. You have to do so if getting pictures from Objects closer than 5 meters. With other zooms from Canon or Nikon, the 2.8 position is not the best one and normaly you have to stop down to f/4 or f/5.6 or f/8. Not so with leica. Apart from a high depth-of-field you can use f/2.8 or f/4 to get the max. out of your lens. The original Price of 6000 $ is very hefty. But the costs for Leica for each lens are something around 4000 $. The lens is very expensive. But if you could hold one in your hands and use it, you''ll get to know, that ist''s worth every penny. The only disadvantage is the veiling flare at the max. focal position under certain lighting conditions. I also use the Leica Apo-Telyt 3.4/180, which is much better in terms of flare. But optically, the VAE is on par with it.

Customer Service

Exceptional. Fast and friendly. Canon''s Service is also quite good, but you have to wait 4-6 Weeks for repairs. Leica only takes 2-3 Weeks. I have lots of Leica lenses and all of them were checked by

Similar Products Used: Canon EF 80-200/2.8 L, Leica Summicron 2/90, Leica Apo-Telyt 3.4/180
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hugh Esmond   Expert [Mar 01, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 70-180mm Vario-APO-Elmarit-R f2.8 (ROM)
Strength:

Optically superb, performs better at full aperture at some focal lengths. Sharpest lens I have ever used. Exceptionally solid construction.

Weakness:

Expensive and heavy, but thats the price you pay for optical excellence. The focus ring is geared a little too low.

I always do my own lens tests , I found this lens to be exceptional. You won't be sorry if you buy one, when it is attached to an R8 body it is a heavy combination. Start lifting weights to prepare yourself.

Customer Service

Good service from Germany, can't say the same for Australia.

Similar Products Used: Nikon and Canon.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex Ng   Intermediate [Feb 28, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 70-180mm Vario-APO-Elmarit-R f2.8 (ROM)
Strength:

Absolutely stunning optics

Weakness:

Heft, price

If you want the best optics, look no further, will blow almost all other lenses away. Best mated with a sturdy monopod

Customer Service

Never tried

Similar Products Used: EF70-200 2.8 and AFS 80-200 2.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
David Almy   Professional [Feb 18, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 70-180mm Vario-APO-Elmarit-R f2.8 (ROM)
Strength:

First class optically .. best in class, particularly wide open
Built like a rock

Weakness:

Heavy
Veiling flare at max focal length under certain circumstances, reportedly correctable via service buy I haven't had mine done yet

Best in class optically, in a class with some tough competition

Customer Service

V. Good

Similar Products Used: Nikon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vance Le   Casual [Jun 12, 2001]
Strength:

Sharp at all apertures.
Very portrait friendly.

Weakness:

Unnecessarily expensive
Heavy--be prepared to huff and puff with it on the field.

It's not cheap. If you want one of the sharpest image producing zoom lens out there, this is the way to go. There are some flares if you really want to get picky, but asking for more would be asking for perfection.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Nikons, Leicas
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-6 of 6  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com