Nikon AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G 35mm Zoom

Available At:
AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G

Compact and lightweight, this 4.3x zoom lens is ideal for candids, portraits, travel and sports photography. Nikon optics provide outstanding picture quality.

User Reviews (49)

Showing 1-10 of 49  
Adhikari   Intermediate [Feb 20, 2010]
Strength:

its very light, you will find it convenient handling without a tripod.

Weakness:

Best results in outdoor (makes more sense in day light).

I read many reviews and based on its price I was not prepared for great results from Nikkor 70-300mm G lens, but to my surprise its a great lens and high value for money. Pictures are great at

Customer Service

In my experience, Nikon never failed, good consistency, great quality.

Similar Products Used: Compared to Canon 18-200 IS lens.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
R Kamel   Intermediate [Jun 06, 2006]
Strength:

Very cheap, sharp after some playing around with it, lightweight.

Weakness:

Creeping zoom ring, some clumsy sounds when focusing, slow autofocus ability, no dust protection but of course expected for a lens in this price range.
USed it with a tamron pro 2x TC and the results were very bad, u can see CA in the LCD of the camera when using the TC. i beleive it was designed to be used without any other accessory:)

I have purchased this lens three years back because i wanted to get into telephoto in addition to the other nikon lenses that i own. This lens is very cheap and very light for walking around with it for long distances.

Contrary to what people have commented here i beleive this lens can deliver very nice results even at 300mm!. The point is that u have to tweak the lens to find when it can perform really nice. I have always beleived like many people here that the lens is very fuzzy after 200mm, however i have used it at full focal length recently, at 300mm and got sharp results when the lens stopped down to f/10 and when shooting birds at close distance. When doing that i pop up the iso to 800 or iso 1000 on my d70s body.

For the money i find this is a very pleasing lens, come on it is only for $100 u can drop it and u wont feel sorry for it.

For some sample shots taken with it, please visit this link:

http://www.photo.net/photos/rafikrkamel

all of the bird shot there are taken with this cheap G lens

PS: MY RATING ARE DONE IN TERMS OF VALUE FOR MONEY:)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tonys   Expert [Mar 25, 2006]
Strength:

It is cheap. Light. Priced within most budgets. I think this is a starter lens and if you get it knowing that you may be ok with it for awhile. If you buy it thinking you will be getting a great NIKON lens you may be in for a let down.

Weakness:

It just does not live up to the Nikon quality that you expect. It can produce good images from time to time but not most of the time.

It says Nikon on the Lens but I beleive it may be a Tamron, have not seen nothing to actually confirm that. This lens will work but do not expect it to perform like most NIKON lenses. I think this lens was designed to sell as part of kits to intice the consumer into thinking they got a great deal on the camera, just speculation on my part. I have not used it since getting my other lenses over time. I do not even carry it anymore and tend to use it if the weather is bad or when I go mountain biking. If I crash, oh well. I take my old N65 sometimes with it in the backpack, if I crash, oh well. It will work ok for general photography and serves its purpos ok when I am ridding. I would rather break this camera and lens in a crash and not feel to broke up over it. The lens is a poor performer past 200=220 mm. The pictures tend to be soft and color kind of flat. I think these lenses may vary in performance because of the way they were built. I have read reviews were people love it and get great results, mine did not. On the flip side they are cheap, they are light and somewhat compact. They are ok to begin with and can always be used in a similar situation as i use it. At least I can still take pictures without worrying about dust and ect, because I do not care. If it broke on me now I can say I honsetly got my money out of it. I use it to take picture while out in the woods when we go ridding just to have something in case someone does something woth getting on film or If i run across something. Usually I never pull it out of the pack.

Similar Products Used: Nikon 200mm F2.8, 28-200mm,400mmvr, several other non Nikons with similiar results as this review.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Available At:
Tonys   Expert [Mar 21, 2006]
Strength:

It works well for the price. Know the limitations on it and use it in those parameters and it will do fine. It is light and easy to use and carry around. When using this lens I do not worry to much about tree limbs, people, ect. If it gets banged up so be it. I have left this lens in my glove box of my Xterra and the floorboard. It still wroks like it did several years ago when it was new. I would never treat a more expensic=ve lens like that. This lens goes with me in my backpack when I go mountain biking, so it does have a place. Get a good camera first and use what you can afford until you can step up, but step up when you can. This lens will still find its way onto your camera from time to time. i use it mainly on my Nikon N80 now. The N80 cost me a alot more than i could ever get for it now, remember film. So it gets tossed in the backpack also for Mountain bike trips. When you upgrade at least you will have a spare to use for other things.

Weakness:

For the price it is hard to slam a product for its lack quality found on a more expensive lens. It would be nice if the lens was a little heavier, that might address some of the longer focal lenght issues. It is cheap feeling, but so are a lot of the more expensvie lenses being made now.

My wife actually purchased this lens several years ago. I used it from time to time just to see how it worked. It works like most of the revies I have seen so I will not go into detail about the fact at 300mm it is not all that great and suffers from the limitations most lenses in this price range do. It does not work as well as my 80-400vr. It does not take as sharp of an image or dispaly the same color and calrity that my 400vr does. If it did for the price it was sold you could not find one anywhere and most likley it would cost five times what it does. I am writing this because I read reviews and notice people like me who own higher end lenses are never going to be pleased with a lens that cost around 120 dollars. Once you pruchase a higher end lens a use it you are stuck like chuck. When i use my 80-400mm vr almost every picture is a keeper based on focus and sharpness. That alone makes the experience more fun. That said I have used this lens and got excellent results. I ahce also got some really bad shots. It is a light lens due to its construction which makes it unstable at longer focul lenghts, no weight tends to make it harder to hold stabile. Solution, I do not use it at long focal lengths. Yes it is slow and you have to change settings depending on conditions, like most lenses. This lens requires more tweaking and paitence and shots to obtain the right photo. If you new to photography and on a buget like most people are this lens will do fine. do expect to get excellent results with every shutter release. Recompose, readjust and shoot again, you may be surprised. This lens will take good pictures. I still use it from time to time because of its listed weakness. It is light and i can carry it around while walking without lugging a heavy lens attached to a heavy camera. If i drop it or it breaks I am not out of alot, and yes i would replace it. works out well when I am in large crowds of people and I go hiking or bumming around when my goal was not to exactly go take photgraphs. I won sevral long tele photos that work excellent. They are heavy and require at least a monopod and the tripod is always with me. This works well when I am sitting or the subjects have limited movement. This Nikon Lens is cheap and affordable, It does work. Anyone still own a 50mm !.8. They are cheap, cheap feeling, limited and take some of the greatest pictures. They work well because they are simple and cheap. The 70-300mm tries to do more than it is capable of doing, but it does do some things well. I would not even classify this lens as a telephoto because of its limitations. I look at it as a good walk around lens that lets you get pictures you would not if you were using something in the range of 85mm or so. If you are new to photography it is a good starter lens simply based on the price, if you really do not get into photograpy or just like taking pictures every now and then you will like it fine. Only when you test drive some of the more expensive ones will you see how limited this lens is.

Similar Products Used: Tamron 300mm and Quantary 28-200. They perform just like the lens in this review.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
webmagik   Professional [Mar 08, 2006]
Strength:

It is a Nikon Cheap entry into this range of zoom

Weakness:

Plastic and flimsy Poor quality results

I bought this lens as a stop-gap before I could afford something else and 5 months down the track, I'm glad I finally can afford something else (Sigma 70-200mm f2.8). For the price this lens is a cheap entry into this zoom range for a lot of people and the results are reasonable for the price. However, those results are ordinary when compared to even a moderately more expensive lens like my old D series Nikon 70-300mm f4-5.6. Same basic lens but a heck of a difference in quality. The build of this lens is plastic so it can't handle the rigors of press photography, the area in which I work. Overall, I have taken some pretty good shots with the lens but the results from even the Canon 90-300mm USM lens (about the same price range) are more consistent and better.

Similar Products Used: Canon 90-300 F4-5.6 USM Nikon 70-300mm f4-5.6 D Series Nikon 80-200mm f2.8 Nikon 80-400mm f4.5-5.6
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
nikmania   Casual [Sep 03, 2005]
Strength:

Ridiculous price, very lightweight, good color balance, sharp.

Weakness:

Probably will fail sooner due to plasticky built quality, but I'll sure enjoy the days before that time comes.

I bought this one because one site said that it will "perform as badly as the 70-300 ED". For $90 what the hey, just gotta give it a try. I was expecting weak bland color soft pictures but was blown away by the lively sharp color even at full 300mm ! Maybe, maybe part of it came from not using the usual UV filter as well as very low expectations. Overall I'm very satisfied with the results and like review below mine said, who needs f2.8 in sunshine anyway ! =) I was afraid of getting this one due to soft color of 28-200ED, but now I don't think I have good reason to keep that ED lens.

Customer Service

None yet.

Similar Products Used: 28-200ED, 18-70DX, 35-70f2.8D, 50f1.4D
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
james231176   Intermediate [Jul 27, 2005]
Strength:

This lens opens up possibilities that you never knew you had !! I'd buy it in a flash again !! Considering ive never had a massive zoom, i just cannot belive what ive been missing out on. Its so simple to operate and no crap the results are just truly breathtaking !!!

Weakness:

NONE at this price, whos cares of the build, look after it and it will look after you, thats my moto !!

Firstly let me say thankyou to all the people that put a review in here, that understands that this lens is a CHEAP lens, and didnt expect the world from it !! And secondly let me say what a damm AMAZING lens this is !!! I got this for my D70S, used it for the first time at Taronga Zoo, and the results have just blown me AWAY !!! On a D70S its turns into a 450mm f5.6 at the long end...which is really where we would all use this lens right !! It produces SHARP, VIVID and super colourful images !! Yes there was a time i said geeezzz what i wouldnt give for 1 stop more, but hey you get what you pay for. And because its so light you are able to take photos of anything without breaking your arm !! I especially liked using this lens when the bird show was on as i was able to track an eagle soaring above me, and got the whole bird in the frame and SUPER SHARP.

Similar Products Used: to many to list, but id compare this with the 70-200mm f2.8 L IS i used to have, am IM DEAD SERIOUS !!! its just as sharp and i would hesitate to pick it over a 2.8 any day !!! As ive said in past reviews and posts all we need is a great deal of sunlight then F2.8 becomes a myth, as who needs it when the glorious sun is shinning !! !!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Dee eS   Intermediate [Jun 16, 2005]
Strength:

Price, handling, weight, picture quality in good light

Weakness:

Build quality, slow focusing, noisy.

Before going on safari for the first time I set out to buy a long telephoto lens for my old but faithful and indestructable Nikkormat FT3. The sales person persuaded me to buy a Nikon F65 with 2 kit lenses instead, one of them being the 70-300. The lens lasted for 3 trips, then it fell from the car seat on the car floor, after which the zoom ring didn't function properly anymore...

Customer Service

too expensive for this type of product

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
hsandler   Expert [Apr 01, 2005]
Strength:

About as sharp wide open as stopped down, at least in the centre. 5 year warranty Smooth zoom operation

Weakness:

Soft at 300mm, though acceptable; better at 200mm

I have a gallery of evaluation samples at: http://www.pbase.com/hsandler/tech Quite nice for the price. In daylight, even close to evening, the autofocus is accurate and reasonably fast as long as not starting from minimum focus distance for a subject near infinity. Easy to handhold. For this price I won't bother to invest in a UV filter to protect it and it's too slow to use a polarizer, so I don't care that the front element rotates during focus. The manual focus ring also rotates during autofocus, but it's small and at the front so doesn't jump in my hand while I hold the lens by the zoom control. Nice bokeh. I hope to use it around 100mm for portraits outdoors. The front element

Similar Products Used: Tried Sigma 70-300 APO in the store and shot some samples side by side with this. Slightly better in that hydro wires against an overcast sky had no fringing, while this lens showed a bit.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
ivar   Intermediate [Nov 15, 2004]
Strength:

Good zoom range (70-300mm) Very cheap All the functions you would expect Lightweight Clean and crisp pictures

Weakness:

Might not be durable due to the plastic Pros might laugh at your "cheap looking lens" that gives great results

An incredibly good product with a very affordable price. Yes it is a little slow, and yes it is made out of plastic, but then again, what do you expect at this price. I have shot more than 1000 pictures with my Nikon D70 digital camera and is very pleased with the results. The pictures are clear, with good color balance and extremely small amounts of chromatic or spherical abberation or purple fringing. Although it might lack an apperture ring, I would never have used this anyways as I use the cameras apperture adjustment. Everything I expected and a little more. Got great details in the eyes of a monitor lizard, and amazing detail in an eagle soaring a couple hundred meters away. Used at 300mm and f/5.6, the autofocus fairly quickly managed to focus a very close autumn colored leaf, and blur the background significantly enough to create a stunning photo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 49  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com