Pentax SMCP-F 100-300mm f/4.5-5.6 35mm Zoom

Pentax SMCP-F 100-300mm f/4.5-5.6 35mm Zoom 

DESCRIPTION

Manual focus, Pentax telephoto zoom lens.

  • Aperture range: f/4.5-32
  • Min focus: 1.5m (4.9 ft.)

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 10  
    [Jul 20, 2016]
    jim ballantyne
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    stays within over all length even at max zoom.

    Weakness:

    manual focus ring a bit thin

    I bought this lens in the 1970s to use with the z1 35mm film camera. It has always given good results although the power zoom didn't work on the early digital Pentax cameras. Once I moved up to a k5 only the in catch focus didn't work. I retired the lens a year or so ago in favour of the 55 to 300 mm wr lens, but since up grading to a k1 full frame I'm tempted to bring it out of retirement, as I have with some of my other 35 mm oldies.

    Similar Products Used:

    Pentax f1.4 50mm, versus other film and digital Pentax lens.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Aug 13, 2004]
    Roland Mabo
    Expert

    Strength:

    Good colour rendition Low flare

    Weakness:

    A bit big and heavy Rotating front lens element Zoom collar unpleasant to use

    I bought this lens to replace my manual focus Sigma A70-210 f/4-5.6. It feels unbalanced on my MZ-5, even with the battery pack/handgrip attached, and it has a rotating front lens element so using it with filters is a pain. But, it was quite cheap and it delivers decent images. It has good center resolution, even at 300mm. Autofocus is reasonable quick. Colours are nicely rendered, flare is low and contrast well extended. It's no longer in production (the newer FA 80-320 is a better lens) but it's a solid lens with solid performance and can be picked up cheap at eBay...

    Customer Service

    Not used

    Similar Products Used:

    Sigma A70-210 f/4-5.6, Pentax FA135 f/2.8

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Aug 08, 2004]
    Lance
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Apart from the plasticky zoom ring the lens IS made of metal and feels solid because of its weight. It is quite sharp and the colour rendition and cotrast is good. The Pentax SMC coatings obviously help here. For its price point it's quite a good lens, but not up to the better Pentax offerings. Internal zoom motion.

    Weakness:

    I dare say Pentax have made better lenses. As stated before the zoom ring feels a bit cheap and plasticky but the rest is well made and solid. Front element rotates which can make it difficult when using a polarizer.

    Although the outer ring (the zoom ring) is plastic and maybe a little flimsy to the feel, I find it quite amusing to find people here saying that it is like a toy. The actual main barrel and the internal workings of this lens are all made of METAL. That is why it is quite a heavy lens compared to some of the aftermarket offerings. To the people who have this lens check your lens out as you will find that is mainly metal except of course the outer zoom ring.

    Customer Service

    N/A

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Apr 19, 2004]
    gjufer
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    I don't find any strengths... I know that pentax has some really great lenses but this must be a defect lens I had.

    Weakness:

    Softness, Size, Build quality (loke a toy), Powerzoom (you can zoom with a motor) is more a toy.

    I bought this lens with my new camera body mx(zx)-5n with a 28-80 pentax lens as well. after developing my films from my holidays I was realy disapointed of the results. All the pictrue was very soft and was grayish. I guess that I get a bad lens because it was a 2nd hand lens (from a shop). I trade it with a Sigma Lens and now I'm happy.

    Customer Service

    not used

    Similar Products Used:

    I've sold the lens and bout a Sigma 80-300 DL Lens which is quite ok.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    [Apr 04, 2003]
    Ayash Kanto
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    1. Sharp photographs. 2. Good colour saturation. 3. The lens length remains constant while zooming which is unlike other third party telezoom lenses like those made by Sigma, Tamron etc.

    Weakness:

    1. It feels like a plastic toy. Therefore, handle it carefully. 2. It weighs about 600 gm. When I mount it on MZ-M (weighing 320 gm) and fix the system on a sturdy tripod, the whole camera shows cantilever action as the front is heavier than the rear. 4. Again because of the weight of the lens, I can not take photographs in vertical format while the system is mounted on tripod. Because of the weight of the lens, the system unscrews from the quick release plate (once it almost hit the floor; fortunately I caught it in mid-air.

    Since I candid street photography, I needed a zoom lens in the range of 70-300mm. I wanted purchase a low quality third party zoom like Sigma DL Macro super but at that time it was not available at the shop (?) but I required the lens urgently. The saleperson showed me F 100-300mm. Well, it is a Pentax lens and I always like using Pentax lenses. Though the price is higher than Sigma but you get what you pay for. Purchased the lens and started using it. The colour saturation is quite good. I don't use a autofocus body, mine is MZ-M and I got satisfactory with this lens. It produces better images from the point of sharpness if you can use it stopped down to f/8.

    Customer Service

    No experience.

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Nov 20, 2000]
    Piotr Kozarzewski
    Expert

    Strength:

    Strong body (for AF lens), sharp pictures, low flare

    Weakness:

    Slightly too low zoom range, a little bit too heavy and too long for amateur lens. Autofocus in dark shooting conditions is not reliable. Use IR beam of Pentax flashes - it works great!

    Very good value for the money. A must for outdoor amateur photographer who agrees to carry extra weight on his shoulder. For weaker (and more careful) people Pentax FA 80-320 is more suitable.

    Customer Service

    Never needed.

    Similar Products Used:

    Pentax FA 80-320, Sigma AF 75-300, Granit 80-200 (from the Ukraine)

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Feb 02, 2001]
    Alexandre Suaide
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Good optical quality for this zoom range. almost no flare.

    Weakness:

    the build quality is poor. It looks like a toy, not a lens. I would like something faster than 4.5/5.6 but for the price it is good enough.

    It is a good lens for the price. I took very good photos using this lens

    Customer Service

    din't try

    Similar Products Used:

    Others 75-300 lenses (don't remember the brand)

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Apr 07, 2001]
    Cheong Yin Fan
    Beginner

    Strength:

    light, suitable for lady, can produce the very good effect (with this price of lense)

    Weakness:

    hard to use the auto focusing in some situation

    A very good lense for beginner

    Customer Service

    don't know

    Similar Products Used:

    Pentax MZ-7

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Aug 16, 2001]
    Andrew Leeth
    Casual

    Strength:

    Great Optical quality for the price. Super sharp at 300!

    Weakness:

    Mediocre build quality.

    I have been completely satisfied with this lens its just not forgiving in low light so bring a tripod or use fast film! The detail and color rendetion are very good. A truly good buy..get one.

    Customer Service

    NA

    Similar Products Used:

    Smcp - FA 70-200

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Dec 15, 1999]
    Tom Keller
    Intermediate
    Model Reviewed: SMCP-F 100-300mm f/4.5-5.6

    Strength:

    This lens provides a good range (100-300). Pentax SMC coating is very good option.

    Weakness:

    Focusing mechanism failed after 6 months. Lens had to be returned for repair. Focus and zoom mechanisms feel loose and sloppy.

    Lense is poorly built but returns average optics.

    Customer Service

    Pentax very good about taking care of repairs and customer service questions.

    Similar Products Used:

    Tamron

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Showing 1-10 of 10  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com