Pentax SMCP-FA 24-90MM F/3.5-4.5 AL 35mm Zoom

SMCP-FA 24-90MM F/3.5-4.5 AL

This versatile zoom lens covers the most frequently used focal lengths and offers a minimum focusing distance of 1.65 ft. (0.5 meters) at any focal length for a maximum magnification of 0.18 times at 90mm. Thanks to the incorporation of two aspherical lens (AL) elements and extra-low-dispersion glass lens elements, it offers a high-contrast, high-resolution image reproduction over its entire zoom range.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
rechitansorin   Expert [Nov 12, 2006]
Strength:

IF, very good flare control for a zoom, color rendition.

Weakness:

Mechanically speaking, could be better...

Very good optical quality for a consumer lens. The focal length is ideal for hiking and altitude trips. Acceptable softness and vignetting ( reduces at f8, f11... ) on the edges at larger apertures.

Similar Products Used: AF Nikkor 28-105mm f 3,5-4,5 D, Nikkor AI-S 28-85mm f 3,5-4,5
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Bellthecat2003   Intermediate [Apr 09, 2004]
Strength:

Lightweight Internal focus Lack of flare Image sharpness

Weakness:

Build quality

I got this lens based on the reviews on this site (after a long, agonizing period of comparison shopping), and must say that I've been pleased with the results thus far. This is now my standard lens for most purposes, and is particularly useful to me since I shoot mostly landscapes. The images that I've gotten are sharp at all focal lengths, with no flare. Another major advantage is its internal focus, which keeps the barrel of the lens from rotating--an important feature when using a circular polarizer or graduated filter. The build quality is pretty good for such a lighweight lens, although I did notice some play in the barrel. The latter, however, does not seem to affect image quality, but is annoying for a lens that lists for $700.

Customer Service

First rate, at least when it comes to answering queries. I've never had to send back a Pentax product for servicing.

Similar Products Used: This is my first autofocus lens.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
adphoto   Intermediate [May 12, 2003]
Strength:

Image quality - sharp as a prime doesnt quite has that 3 dimensional look of the FA 24mm F2 or the pentax 77mm limited. Range 24 -90mm you cant go wrong. Multi Coating at its best Flare control - each your heart out every other stinking brand - this is where pentax rule. Bow down to the Flare control gods you nikon and canon users. Hole in the hood for polarizer control

Weakness:

Poor manual focusing-to quick! Not damped at all. Build quality

Great lens especailly for travel and hikes. Much Much better than the pentax/tamron 28-105 and 28-200mm. Not quite as good as the 24mm f2 but sharp and pleasing non the less. Build is a little shabby compared to the tokina 28-70 atx pro it replaced but the pentax handles flare better has better range and is sharper when stopped down to F8.

Customer Service

never needed

Similar Products Used: Canon 28-70mm L 2.8, Nikon 35-70mm 2.8 Tokina 28-70mm atx pro, Pentax 28-105, Pentax 28-200mm, Pentax 24mm f2, Pentax 77mm 1.8 Limited
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sylwiusz   Expert [Jan 08, 2003]
Strength:

Sharp and contrasty images, zoom range, fast AF.

Weakness:

Buil quality could be better (more metal?)

Very good zoom lens - one of the best around, especially stopped down slightly. Althought built quality is at consumer level (polycarbonate case with metal bajonet), optics are at pro-level (2 aspherical glasses, 1 anomalous dispresion one). Slightly stopped down it produces sharp and contrasty images with low distortion pleasant to look at. AF is quick, thanks to IF, and hood is smart - it has window underneath that allows you to rotate filters like polarizer! Althought not cheap, it is worth every penny for its great optics!

Customer Service

None needed

Similar Products Used: Pentax 28-80/3.5-4.7, Tokina ATX-Pro II 28-70/2.6-2.8, Sigma 28-135 Macro
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Humann   Casual [Sep 03, 2002]
Strength:

Light and best zoom range with good optics quality. Very useful for 24mm.

Weakness:

The pricing is too high for the materials it used (the look). But considering the optics, it is good.

It is a good lense I use the most for its very useful zoom range 24-90. If you are considering 28-80/f2.8, I will recommend you this one instead. If you need quality, why not 85/f1.4, 50/f1.4. The range is important for this type of lense. The quality of this lense is good enough. If you need more ... no zoom please.

Customer Service

Service is very bad in Hong Kong. Pentax has no sales office in HK, but only a distributor. All my friends change to use Nikon. I don't know how long I can tolerate and may change to Nikon some day.

Similar Products Used: no
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
John   Casual [May 21, 2001]
Strength:

light & sturdy, takes sharp pictures.

Weakness:

too bad the focal length is not 24-135.

This is an excellent lens, sharp as prime lens. I use it with my ZX5n, auto focus is fast & accurate. A little bit pricy, but worth every penny.

Customer Service

haven't try it yet.

Similar Products Used: FA20mm,35mm,50mm,100mm & 135mm, this is my first Pentax zoom lens.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Pig   Casual [May 31, 2001]
Strength:

Very sharp and contrasty. Excellent colour rendition even at high contrast and back-light condition. Good flare and distortion control from a wide-angle zoom lens. At 24mm end, light loss at corners is not detectable at f8 or smaller aperture.

The lens is very small and light. It is equipped with a lens hood which has a small window for adjusting polarizing filters. Very convenient!

AF speed is very fast, comparing with other Pentax lens.

Weakness:

Zoom ring is very loose and the the lens barrel is plastic.

The marco ratio is only about 1:5, inferior to similar products by Nikon.

It is an excellent standard wide-to-tele zoom lens for MZ-series

Customer Service

Never tried

Similar Products Used: Pentax FA28-80/f3.5-5.6, FA28-70/f4AL, FA20-35/f4AL, FA28/f2.8 and Tokina AF235II
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Wilson Chow   Casual [Jun 16, 2001]
Strength:

Good flare control, reasonable sharpness. Very useful zoom range.

Weakness:

"Made in Taiwan" printed on box. I hope it is only happen in HK. The price is a bit higher than similar class models.

The lens construction is not solid, it happens in other similar class models. There is hole under lens hood allowing rotation of PL filter, very useful. Don't be careless to use at 24mm that most of existing pentax body's built in flash only cover widest at 28mm (don't know the coverage of MZS). Anyway, this lens is a good travelling partner and for beginners.

Customer Service

No experience

Similar Products Used: Canon 24-85, Nikon 24-120.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
George Pagonis   Intermediate [Jun 13, 2001]
Strength:

Sharp, very contrasty, great focal range. Easy to handle and a great travel lens (small & lite).

Weakness:

Very loose zoom barrel for its price, plastic feel, not very popular 67mm filter size.

This is an outstanding lens from an optics perspective. The sharpness, and even more so, the contrast are comparable to professional zoom lenses. Great wide-open and at all focal lengths, but stepped down a bit you'd think it was a prime! Distortion and light fall off are noticeable but not a big problem. Lens flair stays in check most of the time especially with the lens hood on. The only thing I don't like is that this is a $500 (average street price) lens that feels like a $150 one. It has a cheap plastic feel to it and the zoom barrel is just too loose for a lens priced in this range. It feels like you always need to be careful how you handle it otherwise it might break.

Overall, it produces crystal clear images, very contrasty, with neutral color, and excellent sharpness for a zoom. From an optics perspective you are getting your money's worth. It is very noticeably better (optically) than any of my other consumer zooms in this focal range and class. However, don't take this lens on assignment or in rough environment without backup. It just doesn't feel sturdy enough to handle anything other than gentle use.

I can't say it's the greatest value, because for this price you can get much better built quality, but if you don't care about that, then the optical performance is certainly worth every penny and more!

Customer Service

Don't know.

Similar Products Used: TAMRON 28-105
SIGMA 28-105
CANON 28-105
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Frits Wuthrich   Expert [Aug 29, 2001]
Strength:

Sharpness, contrast, distortion free at 24mm, AF speed, light weight

Weakness:

somepincushion distortion at 90mm, but not very much, and play in lens barrel, specifically at the longer focal lengths

An extremely sharp lens, compact and leight, I am very happy with it, strongly recommended.

Customer Service

Never needed sofar.

Similar Products Used: Pentax FA 28-80 3.5-4.7
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com