Quantaray 100-300mm F4.5-6.7 35mm Zoom

Quantaray 100-300mm F4.5-6.7 35mm Zoom 

DESCRIPTION

Using original three-group zoom technology, we have created the most compact zoom lens in its class. Less than 4 inches long and under 2.8 inches diameter, with a filter diameter of just 55mm. It covers the most frequently used telephoto focal lengths, ma

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Jan 09, 2016]
Bow-Legged Snake

Strength:

It takes pictures

Weakness:

Barely

It's worth $20 bucks

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 23, 2009]
qdocs
Casual

Strength:

Zoom Quick. Take clear picture

Weakness:

Just because it is old and cheap

I use it and I like it. It is cheap but good for beginner. Don't waste money for expensive lense before you practicing.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 20, 2008]
Clay
Intermediate

Strength:

Reasonbly sharp
Light
Inexpensive

Weakness:

Cheap build matches it's cheap price

I agree with the other reviewers that this lens is built cheap-but it is cheap so what's the complaint?
I've used the lens on my Pentax K10d & while it doesn't produce saturated colors, it is pretty sharp. This lens is ok for a beginner & has some uses for a more experienced photographer.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 15, 2008]
tcp100
Intermediate

Strength:

Light comes through it.

Weakness:

As sharp as a hot dog. Zoom ring would probably turn smoother if you dipped it in sand for lubrication. Lens is about as quick as jello left out overnight in Anchorage in February. Someone with ADD can focus quicker and longer. Hunts more than Ted Nugent. Slightly quieter than the crowd outside of a Larry the Cable Guy show.

Junk. This lens is junk. Sure, it's got a great range, it's light, and small. However, a 3 year old with tracing paper can produce a better quality image.

Similar Products Used:

Canon 70-200 F4 L (Ha, right.) Sigma 28-125.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 11, 2005]
maascj
Casual

Strength:

Its compact, light and only $100.

Weakness:

Its compact, light and only $100...you are getting what you paid for. The AF is relativly slow and noisy compared to high end lenses. The zoom ring offers more resistance than what I am used to. The mount(Canon) is silver painted plastic. This is a little misleading and thought it deserved to be catergorized as a weakness.

This lens is stricktly for the low budgeted types who must have a zoom-lens. Don't expect hard core construction...you only paid a $100. If you want semi-sharp photos, grap a tripod. Otherwise, you get soft but fairly descent action shots in the 100-200 range. The 300mm range should only be used if you have the steadiest of hands and are taking stationary subject shots. You must have experience working with your camera's manual settings to get the good clean shots. Don't think just using the auto feature on you camera body is going to work 100% of the time. Plan on tooling around and learning how to use the pair together. I purchased mine for a week down at the beach. I figured if sand and/or water attack, I would only be out $100.

Customer Service

Not applicable.

Similar Products Used:

Promater Spectrum7 70-210

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 14, 2005]
rdcotton
Intermediate

Strength:

Inexpensive.

Weakness:

Poorly constructed. Plastic mount. Inability to get simple parts from Wolf.

Well ... I guess you get what you pay for. I've had this lens for 2 years now and I must say that I'm not very happy with it. First ... the focus ring has too much play in it. After autofocusing, you can actually move the ring a few centimeters left and right so I have to take care that I keep focus. The major issue I have with this lens is the mount. IT'S PLASTIC. AND ... not only that, after 2 years, all of the pins that hold it to the camera have broken off. Contacting Wolf ... they won't send you a new mount to fix it yourself, which seems fairly easy to do, but you must send it in to them to have it done. Another money making scheme on their part.

Similar Products Used:

Quantary 28-90

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 05, 2003]
Professional

Strength:

Wonderfully light and unobtrusive. AF works well on my EOS. Fair-good performance in the central area of the frame up to about 200mm. Very handy and portable. Very, very cheap for something like this. You won't get the photo with your fast, monster Canon telephoto if it's too much of a pain to take with you, and you won't work unobtrusively wielding something that looks like a ballistic missle. Everything's a compromise.

Weakness:

Cheap plastic construction; parts seem somewhat ill-fitting. *Bad* corner performance at the wider apertures. 4.5-6.7 is slow.

I've found that in photography, you *don't* always get what you pay for. I've used Leica,Contax, Rollei, etc., and the astronomical prices for some of the items do not always return value in terms of results. Sometimes, the cheapest things - while not as good as their expensive counterparts - deliver what you need and can even surprise.

Similar Products Used:

Not many zooms. All kinds of quality primes.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 11, 2001]
Lawrence
Intermediate

Strength:

none

Weakness:

Will not function correctly with the Maxxum 7

This 100-300mm lenses does not function correctly with the Minolta Maxxum 7 camera body.
To make sure of my findings, I try these lenses at another store of a different name and even tried another Maxxum 7 body.
The lenses I tried are:
70-300mm AF zoom macro
100-300mm AF zoom
28-300mm AF zoom
None of these lenses function at the 300mm end starting at around 295mm and still will not function until the lenses are turned back to around 200mm or less.
The Maxxum 7 acts as if there is no lens on the camera.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 29, 2001]
Terrence Kent
Intermediate

Strength:

Limited focal length prevents 28-300 type distortion, price is correct for level of customer lens is designed for. I would say the build is probably better than a canon lens in the same price range.

Weakness:

Will not satisfy an advancing user, lens is designed for the weekend birthday party and little-league shooter.

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. This lens, and even the other "quantaray" (SIGMA made lenses, they are one in the same, check the prices and build if you dont believe me, or even ask the reps at the stores) are quite good considering the price, DO NOT EXPECT TO BE ABLE TO SELL THEM WITHOUT TAKING A LOSS. Aside from that, you can be sure a manufacturer's lens in the same $ range would not have a metal mount, solid contruction, or even optics of the same level. (i know, it sounds crazy>) But, as an advancing shooter myself, i would not buy them, just as i would not buy any other sigma lens, or tamron lens for that matter, buyer beware. If you're shooting with any demands in mind, choose your lenses carefully based upon OPTICS and CONSTRUCTION. Do NOT buy the Maxxum 7 and put an incredibly cheap lens on it. Buy the lower end bodies, such as the HTSI or XTSI and spend that $500 on an incredible lens. (incidentally, those quanta lenses will work on those bodies just fine.)

Customer Service

Better than average, as its a generic made for the store its sold by, the sales rep is more pliant.

Similar Products Used:

MANY

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 23, 2001]
Joseph Glodek
Casual

Strength:

None that i can see!

Weakness:

Slowish telephoto aperature, zoom ring super stiff- too stiff

I didn't even try this lens on a camera body before i knew that i could never use it. I t felt like junk. I hate thin plastic (especially the type in Canon's lenses), but this lense has thicker plastic type material used and it feels like junk.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com