Sigma 55-200mm f/4-5.6 DC 35mm Zoom

Available At:
55-200mm f/4-5.6 DC

This remarkably compact high performance zoom lens is ideally suited to a wide range of subjects and was exclusively designed for use with digital SLR cameras.

  • Aperture range: f/4.0-22
  • Min focus: 110cm (43.3in.)

  • User Reviews (9)

    Showing 1-9 of 9  
    Franglais   Expert [Jun 04, 2009]
    Strength:

    - Cost
    - Size and weight
    - Image quality
    - Speed (and silence) of autofocus
    - Maximum aperture
    - Efficient lens hood

    Weakness:

    Difficult to attach and detach the lens hood without turning the focus barrel which makes a grating sound

    The zoom barrel is at the back of the lens instead of being at the front as on the Nikon lenses. It takes a little while to get used to it

    No possibility of retouching the focus manually as you can on the (much more expensive) Nikon lenses

    This is a review of the 2009 version of this lens in Nikon mount version with the HSM auto-focusing. This means it’s compatible with low-end Nikons like the D40/D40x/D60/D5000

    I bought the 55-200 to stand in temporarily when my Nikon 18-200 VR developed a fault while on holiday. I’m rather impressed with it and I’ve decided to keep on using it.

    The lens is very small and light, with a big circular lens hood that is almost as long as the lens which makes it very efficient. For this price I was expecting a plastic lens mount but it’s made of metal. The zoom barrel is stiffer than on the 18-200 but it’s regular and stays put when set on a focal length (unlike the Nikon). Overall the Sigma doesn’t give the impression of being a cheap lens.

    The Sigma has good performance. Generally it’s slightly better than the Nikon 18-200 but and slightly worse than my huge Nikon 28-70 and 80-200 f2.8 AF-S lenses. The photos are sharp and clear and I have found no cases of light falloff at the edges, loss of definition in the corners, etc. Same story with the autofocus – it’s faster than the 18-200 but slower than the big lenses.

    The Sigma has about ½ stop greater maximum aperture than the Nikon 18-200 at most focal lengths i.e. at 105mm the 18-200 has a maximum aperture of f5.6 while the 55-200 is at about f4.5. If you need to freeze action this could be important

    My impression is that the 55-200 is a good basic lens that gets the job done with no surprises for a very reasonable price. It feels like a natural partner for the D60. I’m not wild about it, perhaps because it’s not very exciting (unlike the 18-200).

    Customer Service

    Not needed

    Similar Products Used: Nikon 18-200 DX VR
    Nikon 80-200 AFS
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    C R Hickman   Intermediate [Jun 25, 2006]
    Strength:

    Sharp, light, fast focusing, inexpensive. Made in Japan.

    Weakness:

    Lens hood is a little fiddly. Rear lens cap does not seem to fit Nikon brand lenses.

    I bought this lens for my Nikon D70. In the past I would only consider Nikkor lenses but did not believe the equivalent Nikon offering would be any better given a similar cheap contruction at double the price. From the reports I have read so far, the Nikon 55-200mm is unimpressive. I like this Sigma and recommend it as excellent value.

    Customer Service

    None needed

    Similar Products Used: Tokina 12-24mm, Nikon 18-70mm
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    drg   Professional [Mar 15, 2006]
    Strength:

    Good color rendition except as noted.
    Metal mount.

    Weakness:

    Chromatic aberration! (purple/colored fringing).
    Zoom binds.
    Plastic lens hood and awkward in design.
    Corner Falloff that is erratic in intensity across the zoom range.

    This was part of the two lens kit that Sigma offered that combined the 18-50mm 3.5-5.6DC and 55-200mm 4-5.6DC lenses.

    Perhaps expectations were unrealistic with this lens, after using the companion from the kit, the 18-50mm. The lens feels cheap, is not smooth and in fact, it binds at places in the zoom. This might be a convenient length, for the cost if nothing more, but recent experience with wide to telephoto zoom combos leave this lens as an odd man out.

    The copy I received displays significant Chromatic Aberration under a variety, but not all, lighting conditions and for significant aperture ranges. It is prominent enough to eliminate this lens from most any use other than casual snapshots.

    It has adequate AF performance. Outdoors under bright light with good contrasted subject, it still is not 'speedy'.

    The lens produce reasonably sharp images with little corner fall off at the short end but more so towards the long end of the tele/zoom.

    As part of a kit to get a longer lens for a Digital camera, it is only O.K. You might get a better copy than I did.

    The hood is cheap plastic and started to warp a bit in sunlight after just a few minutes.

    I can't really recommend this lens other than as starter for a short time. It will produce probably an equal photo to most point and shoot lens that are in the same zoom range. There is too great a possibility for disappointment in the resulting photographs produced with this lens. Save your money or purchase the 18-200DC lens that Sigma is producing.

    Customer Service

    Not needed for this product, but past experiences with SIGMA have been very positive and they respond well via email.

    Similar Products Used: Recently used extensively Sigma's wide to telephoto zooms in these lengths
    28-200
    18-200 DC

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Available At:
    michaeljfox   Expert [Nov 10, 2005]
    Strength:

    Sharp, good color and fairly contrasty images.

    Weakness:

    Not a high end build.

    For such an inexpensive lens, it gives wonderful images. Not overly impressive build quality (what can you expect for under $200!), mine even rattles.

    Similar Products Used: All pre-auto focus Canon lenses, except a nice cheap EF50mm 1.8 and a not so nice and overpriced 17-40 "L".
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    TomP   Intermediate [Sep 18, 2005]
    Strength:

    Price, weight, sharp, comes with a lens hood, focusses in poor light even with a 1.4x converter

    Weakness:

    None at the price

    I got one of the first 55-200's before it was even mentioned in the press. Checking it against a friend's Canon 75-300, it was significantly poorer, so I contacted Sigma UK who gave me a new lens 8 months after purchase ! This second lens was hugely better and matches my good copy of the 18-55 kit lens (which is better than my 50/1.8 prime) in quality. The lesson, having tried also a very demo copy of the Sigma 10-20, which was also dreadful although a more recent copy was good, is that Sigma don't seem to get early production sorted out, but wait a few months and they are good value, but only 4 stars for the bad first copy.

    Customer Service

    Excellent, no quibble and quick in changing my first lens

    Similar Products Used: Canon EOS 300d Canon 18-55 Canon 75-300 Sigma 10-20
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    ruiwei   Intermediate [Aug 25, 2005]
    Strength:

    Low Price, Good Auto Focus Speed, Sharp Imange, Light Weight and Compact Size

    Weakness:

    Manual Focus Ring is too tight.

    Great Value, Light Weight, Good Auto Focus, Average Quality but Sharp Image.

    Customer Service

    Do not know

    Similar Products Used: No, this is my first 55-200mm len.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    normy   Expert [Aug 22, 2005]
    Strength:

    Small, lightweight, almost pocketable. Sharpness and consistency of image quality much better than I expected at this price. Nicely balanced handling on a Pentax *ist DS.

    Weakness:

    Doesn't feel like it will take a lot of abuse. A little soft wide open, especially at the long end but that's to be expected. Only f/5.6 at the long end, but that's to be expected at this price. Autofocus not as fast as some, but still very usable. A little too free feeling when using manual focusing. Very slight play in the zoom ring, but I'm being picky here.

    Remarkably good for the price.

    Customer Service

    No idea.

    Similar Products Used: Numerous Nikon, Pentax and 3rd-party tele zooms.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    disappointed   Expert [Jan 15, 2005]
    Strength:

    low price, lightweight, sharp

    Weakness:

    sometimes autofocus miss

    For the price one´s best I´ve ever seen. Sharp pictures, lightweight. Sigma has done good job!!!

    Customer Service

    no needed

    Similar Products Used: canon 70-200 2.8L canon 17-40 4.0L sigma 18-50 f.3.5-5.6
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    bthommes   Intermediate [Jan 12, 2005]
    Strength:

    Sharp images at both ends Light Easy to operate Has an MF/AF switch on the side

    Weakness:

    None really, except for maybe the undampened MF ring.

    Bought this lens based on very positive comments read on various lens forum sites. Have had it for only a couple of days. I've found it to be quite sharp; comparable(and even better) than my other essentially consumer-grade lenses. It handles well on my Canon Digital Rebel. The focus ring is not the smoothest, but very doable. I had no problems with hand-holding at 200mm. Was able to operate the lens in MF mode(there's switch on the side of the barrel)with rather thick gloves on. Most of my earlier shots were taken at full out-200mm at f8. Images are tack sharp. They almost jump out at you. I was very impressed. This lens has earned a place in my bag. Small, light, easy to handle, and best of all, it delivers at the long end where it'll likely spend most of it's time. Not sure of the minimum shooting distance, but was able to get clear, sharp pics when shooting directly down at the ground. So it's probably less than 4'. I bought it for nature subjects. And as long as they are not too far off, this lens will get the job.

    Customer Service

    No need for it.

    Similar Products Used: Sigma 70-300mm Tamron 70-300mm
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-9 of 9  
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com