Tamron AF28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 Aspherical 35mm Zoom

Available At:
AF28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 Aspherical

A standard zoom lens from a wide 28mm to a medium telephoto range of 80mm. The use of aspherical elements in the front group reduces the number of elements required, and the use of strong engineering plastic in the barrel makes the body a light 237g. Consequently, it is easy to carry.

  • Aperture range: f/3.5-22
  • Min focus: 27.5in. (0.7m)
  • Available for Canon, Minolta, Nikon, Pentax AF mount

  • User Reviews (31)

    Showing 1-10 of 31  
    Trevor Goble   Casual [Jul 02, 2010]
    Strength:

    low price, good performance

    Weakness:

    weak on zoom, zoom slow, manual focus is a must

    What can one say. If you are looking for high grade then this is NOT the lens. The lens in suitable for outdoor conditions by cutting out glare. When used correctly its a fine addition to any photographer's lens array.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    James   Professional [Aug 04, 2008]
    Strength:

    Cheap - can be had for less than $60 new
    useable IQ stopped down
    light weight

    Weakness:

    Poor build quality
    poor IQ opened up

    Stop down to f/8 and use it outside. I use it as a throw-away lens for shooting sports events in poor or dangerous conditions. I don't care if it gets ruined for this price, and stopped down it will offer useable results.

    This one is due for replacement and I'll be looking at other options instead. Definately better glass out there.

    In short, if you have one, use it & abuse it, then throw it away.

    Customer Service

    N/A

    Similar Products Used: Sigma 17-70
    Pentax DA 18-55 AL
    Pentax DA 18-55 AL II
    Pentax FA 28-105 PZ
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Logan   Intermediate [Apr 07, 2008]
    Strength:

    It's a decent value, and a fine substitute for the kit lens if you want a little more range on the long end. It's also only about 2 pixels from perfect sharpness - consider that most high-end L glass is 0.8 - 1.5 pixels off.

    Weakness:

    AF is slow and inaccurate, tends to hunt, and is completely useless and night. Inner barrel feels very loose. Flaring is a major problem as well.

    This lens came with my kit when I bought my Rebel XT online, so I don't have the 18-55 to compare it to. However, I've seen some fairly good performance from this lens in terms of sharpness and CA control. It's nice and compact, although the inner barrel extends forward in a very awkward way at both the wide and zoom ends. The AF is also a major weakness. However, it's a good value and a highly usable range, so it's well suited for a beginner who's just starting with SLRs.

    Similar Products Used: Canon 50mm 1.8 <- EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE THIS LENS
    Sigma 70-300 4.0-5.6
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    Ivan Chertov   Expert [Jun 09, 2007]
    Strength:

    Comes with a hood.

    Weakness:

    Plastic body, poor picture quality, colours are not so good, sharpness is bad, and overexposed areas are screwing up the picture.

    I personally think that the Tamron 28-80mm f3.5-f5.6 is a very bad lens.
    It’s maybe good for beginners to learn something, but otherwise it’s awful.
    Colours aren’t so good, sharpness is bad, overexposed areas are huge disaster. I’ve tried it with a Canon EOS 350D (a.k.a. Digital Rebel XT) and the results were dreadful.
    In my opinion you can get a better image with the kit lens Canon 18-55mm EF-S 3.5 – 5.6, I’m talking about picture quality, colours, sharpness, even the autofocus of the kit lens is faster and les noisier.
    I would prefer the lens to be with an aperture like 2.8 - .3.5 or only 2.8

    Customer Service

    none

    Similar Products Used: Canon EF-S 18-55mm - f3.5-5.6
    Canon EF 17-40 - f4 L
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    randall   Intermediate [Dec 22, 2003]
    Strength:

    low price

    Weakness:

    see above

    This lens is a dog, even its low price can't save it. Many criticize the speed of zoom lenses and their poor picture quality, yet I have 4 zooms for my Nikon N80 that are so much better than this. This lens is the reason I began purchasing and exlusively using prime lenses. The biggest flaw is the lack of sharpness, even with a tribod and a cable.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Available At:
    annapoal   Intermediate [Jan 12, 2003]
    Strength:

    Good value Low cost Light weight OK not great 4x6 prints Seems rugged enough to me

    Weakness:

    Not top level resolution, color, contrast, sharpness, or distortion.

    This is a low cost lens that will produce nice 4x6 prints. It is very light weight and though many refer to it as poorly constructed note that nobody has actually had one break. Low weight means low mass if dropped, etc. If you are concerned about speed, distortion, flair and color and contrast this lens is OK but no match for lens that cost several times as much, what a surprise. Better pictures than new Canon 28-90!

    Customer Service

    Not needed

    Similar Products Used: Minolta 28-85 Pentax 28-80 Canon 28-90
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    mbishop   Intermediate [Nov 07, 2002]
    Strength:

    Cheap, good optics

    Weakness:

    Construction (all in poor plastic) and vignetting at 3.5

    My first AF lens, so nothing to compare with - I expected it to be a bit sharper, but now, as I'm gaining experience I must say it's really nice lens in terms of optics. Bit soft and vignetting wide open, but considering the price (used, new too expensive, compared eg. with Sigma 24-70 UC, which is actually cheaper) it's a very fine amateur lens.

    Similar Products Used: My first standard AF
    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    happysnappy123   Intermediate [Sep 02, 2002]
    Strength:

    This lens is sharp, contrasty, and has superb optics to rival Nikon's optics for a fraction of the price. The Nikon version has the AF-D distance chip, and therefore is fully compatible with the metering systems of the latest Nikon SLRs. It also has an aperture ring, for excellent compatibility with old Nikons. The lens is built like a tank compared to the new Nikkor 28-80mm f3.3-5.6G, having a nice rubberised zoom ring, and the focusing ring is wide enough to ensure easy manual focusing.

    Weakness:

    The main weakness of this lens is the plastic lens mount.

    You can't buy a better lens for under US$100. Apart from the plastic lens mount, the Tamron 28-80mm f3.5-5.6 for Nikon AF-D could be the perfect beginner/amateur lens for Nikon owners on a budget. Highly recommended.

    Customer Service

    Never needed it. This lens comes with a 6 year warranty from Tamron.

    Similar Products Used: Nikon AF Zoom-Nikkor 28-80mm f3.5-5.6D Nikon AF Zoom-Nikkor 28-80mm f3.5-5.6D-N Nikon AF Zoom-Nikkor 28-80mm f3.3-5.6G Nikon AF Zoom-Nikkor 35-80mm f4-5.6D
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Andre   Beginner [Aug 31, 2002]
    Strength:

    Low price. Good not great color. Pretty good durability despite plastic body/

    Weakness:

    Slow speed, plastic feel.

    Good beginner lens. Mine came with camera has been very good to learn with.

    Customer Service

    Not Needed.

    Similar Products Used: Tokina 28-70 f2.6-2.8
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    B-Dawg   Professional [Apr 04, 2002]
    Strength:

    Quick focusing, whether AFed or done manually - plus, the zoom is nice and crisp. Color reproduction is good, sharpness is just fine. And hey - the plastic build may be a good thing. This one survived a three-foot drop off my desk when some idiot decided to knock about my equipment - it actually bounced on the lens hood and suffered no damage.

    Weakness:

    The particular lens I have is a bit loose on the mount - it hasn''t seemed to affect the quality of any of my shots, but it worries me sometimes. And yes, it''s a bit on the slow side - and remember, slow refers to the maximum aperature, not the speed of the focus. Still, unless you''re in a low-light situation, that''s not usually a problem. Also, because the thing''s so light, I''ve hand-held shots at 1/8th of a second or even slower and gotten good results. If your approach is sloppy, you''re going to get bad results - don''t always blame the lens. Watch out at the 28mm side - you can get some distortion toward the edges of your shots.

    Sure, it''s made of plastic. Sure, it costs about as much as dinner for four at your average restaurant. Though it may look and feel cheap and cost next to nothing, this really isn''t a bad lens. For the range of zoom, you can''t beat the price and the build quality - anyone who''s dead-set on having "Canon" or "Nikon" stamped on every single one of their lenses might not go for this one, but if you''re more interested in performance vs. price, you have a pretty good choice here.

    Customer Service

    Haven''t needed it - which says something about the quality of the build.

    Similar Products Used: Canon 50mm f1.8
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-10 of 31  
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com