Tokina AT-X 270 AF Pro II 28-70mm f/2.6-2.8 35mm Zoom

AT-X 270 AF Pro II 28-70mm f/2.6-2.8

Tokina redesigned the AT-X 270AF with a new focusing system which increases AF speed and provides a more stable way to handle the lens. Durability has also been increased by using an all metal body. Multi-coating has been applied to a larger number of lens surfaces improving contrast while reducing reflections and ghosting. HLD (High Refraction Low Dispersion) glass is also used with this new version.

User Reviews (58)

Showing 1-10 of 58  
Peter   Professional [May 06, 2015]
Strength:

Sharp, cinematic image quality. Good mechanics, parfocal design suitable for filmmaking/video use. Inexpensive.

Weakness:

Difficult to find a good copy without centering issues.

This is an extraordinary lens, which we use both for photography and filmmaking. For the later it is unmatched as the best cine zoom below 19K. Originally designed in the 1980s by the French cinema lens manufacturer Angenieux, the optical design was later licensed to Tokina for mass production in the 1990s. Sharpness is good wide open and great by 5.6 with cinematic image quality to the rendering and colors, virtually no breathing in the focus, parfocal performance when zooming, and good mechanics which are smooth and damped (decent focus path for pulling focus and a linear zoom action). Providing you have the time and patience to track down a good copy (many have centering issues) either the Version I or II is excellent. I have found this lens to outperform the much more expensive Nikon AF-S (except in terms of absolute sharpness). It is very inexpensive, fairly lightweight (at around 750 grams) but difficult to find. It can also be adapted to a variety of mirrorless mounts or used with a Speed Booster for low light. Highly recommended!

Similar Products Used: Nikon 28-70 f/2.8 AF-S, Nikon 28-70 f/3.5-4.5D
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
fotofill   Professional [Oct 27, 2011]
Strength:

+Sharp wide open +Short throw zoom +2.8-2.6 makes it applicable for dark

Weakness:

The lens is heavy (From Jurassic Park when the kid picked-up the binoculars... He was asked, "Are they heavy?" he replied that they were. "Then they must be expensive, put them down."

This lens came to me new. I have used it for weddings, sports, just about for everything. It's heavy because it full of wonderful glass. Angenieux designed this lens. Others think that is what made it the quality instrument that it is. It came with a 10 year warranty. I sent it back to Tokina once, because the was a little catch in the zoom mechanism. This lens was always attached to a camera as it was used often.
It now sits on a shelf, as a "back-up" whatever that is. I had a Nikon 24-70 at the same time TI had this lens. I really thought the Tokina was sharper, so I used it more.

Similar Products Used: Nikon 17-35 Nikon 24-70
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
tman   Casual [Oct 23, 2011]
Strength:

Sharp, good colors

Weakness:

Exposure off
Chromatic abheration if you pixel peep

I have used this as my workhorse lens with Nikon on film for >12 years. When I moved to Digital I compared this lens against recently acquired primes and fast zoom lenses always testing on a tripod on the same subject.

On my D7000 pixel peeping, I see no difference in sharpness between this lens and my other lenses. I find that the lens overexposes 1 stop (it chooses different settings for speed) if I do not set on the body to correct it. It has considerable obvious chromatic abheration (purple) taking images indoors if you pixel peep. It also has what I see as not great bokeh (looks busy when you have an unfavorable background).

That said, I am very happy with the quality of this lens given the low price I paid and the images it takes are quite sharp even fully open (though improved with stopping down as many prime and zoom lenses do. Lens is reasonably fast if the camera body is decent (good speed on D7000). though certainly not equivalent of the best AFS's or even the much better than average.

Hunts sometimes if it misses the focus, but not as badly as Nikon 180ED-IF 2.8.

Overall, I would say a good example of this lens is fairly priced and I see the high end Nikkor zooms as largely overpriced for what they deliver in comparison. Owning this lens for a $300 price used should be a pleasant experience. Enjoy!!!

Similar Products Used: Tokina 11-16/2.8
Tokina 50-135/2.8
Nikon 105/2.5 AIS
Nikon 35/1.8
Nikon 180 EDIF 2.8
Nikon 50/1.8
Nikon 55/2.8 AIS Macro
Nikon 70-300ED
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Ricco   Professional [Apr 30, 2010]
Strength:

Very sharp

Weakness:

None

Build quality, sharp and speedy at a good price.

Similar Products Used: Nikon 28-70
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ncphotoman   Expert [Jan 05, 2010]
Strength:

Build quality, sharp and speedy at a good price.

Weakness:

Hood not much use.

Bought this used to get a faster lens than my Canon 17-40 f/4 L. Thought I might miss the 17 but so far not and I do enjoy the extra length at 60+.

Very fast lens and so far sharp though out the range. Build quality high. Motor is pretty quiet.

Has some bulk to it but similar to 17-40.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used: Canon 17-40 f/4 L
Canon 17-85
Canon 17-55
Nikon 17-55
Olympus 14-42
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shadokachr   Professional [May 18, 2009]
Strength:

Built like a tank. Fast glass. Reliable, even after 12 years.

Weakness:

Slightly soft at 70mm at f2.6
Manual - Af switch is a pain on top of the clutch.

I bought the Tokina 28-70 AT-X Pro 2.6 -2.8 in 1997. Originally, I wanted to purchase the Canon 28-70 2.8 L, but I didn't want to part with $1400. So I tried the Tokina. This is a solid heavy duty piece of glass. I have traveled the world with this lens and 12 years later it is still going strong.
I have used this lens for thousands of rolls of 35mm and now thousands of digital pics.
The 28-70 has been my go-to lens for years. Now that my main camera, Canon 50D, has a 1.6 conversion factor, I do use my Tokina 12 -24 a fair amount, but the 28-70 is one of those lenses I can't seem to replace.
I am, however, getting ready to send it back to Tokina for a clean and adjust.
Would I buy another Tokina? Yes, I already have, three times since. Soon to be four.

Customer Service

THK in Cali has always been helpful and very professional.

Similar Products Used: Canon 28-70 2.8
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Leader4u   Expert [May 03, 2009]
Strength:

Built like a tank (metal, professional quality) and smooth zoom motion. I like the push / pull autofocus mechanism. It actually works well once you are used to it. Extremely sharp and contrasty even after all of these years. Very little distortion at all focal lengths. Did I say sharp and contrasty? Really, I just got a D700 and wanted either a 14-24 or 24-70. After doing my research, there are people who say this lens from f4 on is every bit as good as the 24-70. I decided I could live without the 4mm and got the superb 14-24 instead. I'm sure some day I will get the 24-70 and sell one of these 2 lenses but until then, I am a happy camper. Nikon 14-24, Tokina 28-70, and Nikon 80-200 all on a D700. For the first time in years I am actually NOT missing film!

Weakness:

Vignetting wide open at 28mm. A tad soft at 2.8, especially at wide angles. Other than that, none.

Have owned two of these. One I bought new nearly 12 years ago. Still works perfectly and is extremely sharp. Does vignette a bit at 28mm wide open but by 5.6 that is gone. from 50 - 70mm you can use this at any apeture without concern but stop down one stop (f4) and things do sharpen up a bit. I bought the second one on eBay for $250 and it is in perfect condition (like new). That happens to be a backup... lucky me! Be sure you get this model. The later versions are NOT supposed to be as sharp or as well made. This lens really is a steal. My used version of this lens cost me 1/8 the price of the slightly 'better' Nikon 24-70!

Customer Service

Never needed. Once got sand in the outside barrel but after cleaning it out it is as smooth as it ever was (I was worried I had ruined the lens).

Similar Products Used: Nikon 18-70.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rosario   Professional [Apr 30, 2009]
Strength:

Sharpness
Color
Build Quality

Weakness:

Horrible Manual to AF

I have used two versions of this lens and both have been outstanding. Sharpness, color balance, and build quality are among the best.

I have used the Nikon 28-70mm 2.8, which is a great offering. However, the Tokina is a little smaller and is on par overall. I use this lens with Nikon F5, NikonD2H, and Nikon D200 with super results.

Tokina has some new products like the 50-135mm 2.8 that mate well with the old products such as the 20-35mm 2.8 to make a killer combination.

I shoot with some good gear, but if I had one lens to keep on the camera it would be either a Leica (1950's Circa) or the Tokina 28-70mm 2.6. Yes it is that good.

Similar Products Used: Nikon 28-70mm 2.8AF LD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Adam-T   Professional [Dec 20, 2008]
Strength:

Pro, NOT Pro-II Tested .... Wide open performance Compared to later models, especially the awful 28-80 and SV models - better Centering and long end performance compared to the Tamron 28-75 - Tough all metal build, internal zoom - Smooth manual focussing

Weakness:

Vignetting full frame, loses contrast wideopen, awkward shift to manual focus, weird Angenieux non bayonet hood design and hoods rarely still with used ones, substantial weight, hardly 28-70L AF speed but as fast as any Sigma. extreme edges blurry on FullFrame wideopen, but far better than the later models which can have a third of the frame wiped out (either on one side or shared equally L&R)

This is for the Original ATX-Pro version of the lens - the last of the models true to the Angenieux Design from what I can tell as the header lists that the Pro-II version changed the optical formula and seemedly where this lens went down hill because both the Original Pro and Previous non-Pro "ATX" are superb, sharper even than the Tamron 28-75 F2.8 wideopen with far better centering too (though not as good as a 28-70L wideopen at the edges)- the lens is faultless at F5.6 ..

I`ve used the 28-80 F2.8 ATX Pro II and the 28-70 SV and both are very poor wideopen and of little use wider than F5.6 (but sharp there) so if you`re in the market for a Cheap F2.8 standard Zoom for FF then I`d suggest going for the old Tokina 28-70 F2.8 ATX or ATX-PRO models -- easy to tell as they don`t take a Petal hood like the Pro-2 models - the Hood is a weird Angenieux design which is rarely supplied with used lenses - they Vig on full frame and lose contrast at F2.6 due to the old type coatings no doubt but that can be punched up in Post processing..

If you can find a non decentered Tamron 28-75 which happens to be usable at 75mm wideopen further than 10 feet, it`s a faster focussing and more importantly LIGHTER lens but going by the number of Duds I`ve seen, you`ll find a Genuine Angenieux for a Tenner first :( - this non Pro-2 Tokina is a good alternative and cheaper too .

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Tokina 28-70 F2.6-2.8 ATX (1st version)
Tokina 28-80 F2.8 ATX Pro-II
Tokina 28-70 F2.8 SV (last Tokie 28-xx)
Tamron 28-75 F2.8
Canon 28-70 F2.8L
Canon 24-70 F2.8L
Nikon 28-70 F2.8 AFS ED
Pentax 28-70 F2.8 AF
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
rodneypetersen   Professional [Nov 19, 2008]
Strength:

Built like a tank. Great image quality

Weakness:

They don't make it any more . . .

This has been one of my favorite lenses. GREAT build. Excellent image results. I've used this lens daily since I bought it new in 1994. Never a problem. It outlasted four cameras, so far

Similar Products Used: Nikkor 28-70 f/2.8. Sigma 28-70 f/2.9. No comparison to the Tokina, IMHO
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 58  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com