Mamiya 7 80mm f/4 Medium Format

Available At:
7 80mm f/4

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Philippe Tempel   Intermediate [Jan 19, 2004]
Strength:

Light and portable. Can flash sync at all speeds due to Seiko copal shutter. Very quiet (at least as quiet as a Leica M7).

Weakness:

Slower f/4 aperture. No half stop detents (though you can wing it by setting the aperture in the middle). Requires battery (not a big deal since the 6V lithiums can be bought at common drug stores like CVS).

Have been using this lens and also think it is one of the sharpest that I own. Sharpness isn't everything, but is certainly helpful to bring out small details. It's kind of a "wire sharp" as compared to Zeiss lenses.

Customer Service

Don't know since I never used it yet. I hear it's supposedly good.

Similar Products Used: Carl Zeiss 80mm C (for Hasselblad), Schneider 75mm Xenar (for Rolleicord).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
TBentsen   Intermediate [Sep 28, 2002]
Strength:

Ultra high resolution, very high contrast,clean colours. Very light and well made.

Weakness:

It's difficult to get "soft" portraits, because of it's high resolution and high contrast (if that's important). It's expensive (over 1600$), but most quality lenses are.

This is a very sharp and contrasty lens on all apertures. The colours are clean and brilliant. I use it most on f11-f22 for landscapes, and it delivers exellent results from nearest to infinity.

Customer Service

Very good.

Similar Products Used: Bronica Zenzanon 75 2.8 EII and PE, Nikkor 75mm 2.8 (for Bronica), Rollei Xenar 75mm 3.5.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jtcedinburgh   Intermediate [Dec 17, 2001]
Strength:

Optically perfect, or as perfect as I''ve seen. Beautifully sharp, even-handed contrast, astonishing detail, and that ''something'' that I''ve only ever seen in Zeiss glass - 3D!

Weakness:

Slightly slow - f4 max, although with the perceptibly shallower DOF, perhaps this is a good thing!

Fantastic lens, I cannot sing its praises enough! My only criticism is that it''s fairly slow as a ''standard'' lens for the M7 system.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Bronica ETRSi with 75/2.8PE Contax G2 system (28/45/90) Canon EOS with various L- and non-L glass.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Andrew Acquistapace   Expert [Jul 27, 2000]
Strength:

Incredibly sharp lens

Weakness:

None

Color saturation, ease of use, razor sharp images (hand-held) are the finest I have seen in a medium format camera.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Pentax 67 Medium Format
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Frank Dernie   Intermediate [Mar 04, 2001]
Strength:

sharp, cheap (in UK)

Weakness:

slow

The M7 with this lens is the ultimate one camera outfit for outdoors. In reasonable light nothing else comes close on portability v quality.

Customer Service

never needed

Similar Products Used: 80 f2.8 Hasselblad
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DENIS   Intermediate [Feb 27, 2001]
Strength:

Incredibly sharp!!!

Weakness:

I know I'm being picky, but the lens hood is a pain to take off and on

I should never have borrowed a similar camera and lens from a friend. Couldn't believe the picture quality. Went to a trade show and wheeled and dealed for one. After several months have only one regret, I should have tried this foremat sooner. Saving up fo a 150 and maybe a wide angle.

Customer Service

not needed, yet.

Similar Products Used: contax 50 1.4
contax 85 1.4
canon 28-70L 2.8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Henrik Rundgren   Expert [Mar 14, 2001]
Strength:

Light. Sharp as.

Weakness:

None, really.

The least expensive of the lenses in the M7 line up. A great lens. I am sorry to say ot doesn't see as much use as the others but if I want to travel light I'll bring this one and the 43 or the 50.
Works fine for portraits. Good value.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Normal lenses for SLR's and various other MF cameras.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Colin Whittle   Intermediate [Mar 29, 2001]
Strength:

Stunning image quality

Weakness:

Picky - but the lens hood is a pain to use

I found it hard to believe the quality of the images, this lens is so sharp. I examined an 8 x 10 print with a magnifier it was amazing to see the detail in the image, I must have spent 10 minutes looking into the view and discovering the pin sharp quality. I compared with a similar scene taked on my EOS3 which I thought was excellent, under higher magnification the difference was staggering.
Outdoor and street work reveals detail almost impossible to imagine.
Mamiya isn't cheap, especially in the USA, UK is better :-))
My advice would be to hire one for the weekend, shoot a few rolls then prepare to be impressed.
Go on you only live once, treat yourself....

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: Canon EOS gear
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Smallman   Expert [Aug 30, 2001]
Strength:

Very light and compact for medium format.
Extremely sharp, remarkably so at f8 and f11.
Sharp right into the corners.
No apparent distortion. no problems with flare.

Weakness:

None

The least expensive of the Mamiya 7 lenses.
Outstanding performance. I have a photograph of 500 people on the steps of Sydney Opera House made with this lens and you could identify each one of the faces.
It doesn't get any better in medium format.

Customer Service

Not required

Similar Products Used: Pentax 67 lenses, Nikon 80mm on Plaubel Makina.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
george   Professional [Jul 20, 1999]
Model Reviewed: 7 80mm f/4
Strength:

sharp!

Weakness:

no

This lens is similar to the 50 mm lens of 35 mm cameras. It is a fine piece of glass and sharp from the fore to the background. Next stop--wider angle.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com