Mamiya RB67 C 50mm f/4.5 Medium Format

Mamiya RB67 C 50mm f/4.5 Medium Format 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jan 08, 2020]
daliborwalk


Strength:

Perfect for landscapes and also for specific people photography. Widest no fisheye RB67 lens and also sharp - checked via enlarger. I think that most usual scanners can not show full sharpness of the lens for landscape photography (Smallest and furthest details are behind the ability of a scanner resolution. Please check them via enlarger.)

Weakness:

1. --- Problematic focusing on shorter distances (1-8 meters) (I am using waist level finder) 2. --- Floating element - should be set properly and I often forget to its setting (Floating element setting is not recognizable via waist level finder but has effect on the final result.) --- Note: If you get practice enough with this lens you will get perfect results. Year of purchase: 2018

Price Paid:
160 EUR perfect condition
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[May 17, 2003]
Gary Kim
Professional

Strength:

This lens is very good at landscape & interior .It works better with F8 & F 16 in landscape.The body of this lens is make of very solid aluminium & its barrel is very smooth with no rubberise attachment on the body .This is not only piece of precision instrument but also a workhorse for me.Comparing the price I 'll pay for my other system in which I am using for my other photography work.

Weakness:

Not very much to complain about ,only a slight softness on F5.6 but u have to use the Floating Ring on the Barrel to get it right using test shot on the Polaroid by using the NPC MFB33 Holder for 4x5 holder for polaroid.

This lens is awesome ,very sharp & high in contrast if u really know how this lens works & the way I control the aperture for different field of my work.Try to use a very good U.V filter like the B&W or the Heliopan.Taking picture with Reala(Fuji) or the Velvia .You can see through a good loupes that it can capture every single detail & colour that comes out so vivid .I always uses a Sekonic L778 Spotmeter or the Pentax Spotmeter F to get most accurate reading & with many colour correction filter by FujiFilm (only sell in Japan for professional only)Much better than the Lee Filter system .Just get it if u really need for landscape or interior photography.It work so well with this lens ,Two thumbs up.I have two of this 50mm C lens one is for my standby in case it break down.

Customer Service

Customer Service is first class in the U.K & Japan If your product is bought in UK Or Japan.But have have to be a bit patient as there need to time to service & repair.

Similar Products Used:

Pentax 67 II,Mamiya RZ 67,Mamiya 7II,Fuji GSW 690 & GW 690 & Arca Swiss 69

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 08, 2002]
Austin
Expert

Strength:

Pronounced distortion can be created as a nice effect with this lens, as with any lens angle this wide. There is no light falloff, the lens has been extremely durable. I had it ''lubed'' shortly after purchasing the lens and have not had any trouble with it in the least. Fun fun lens for landscapes and downtown cityscapes.

Weakness:

If you have the floating lens element in the improper position, edge sharpness can be a problem. However, this can be addressed if the photographer is attentive to the extra step in turning the ring to compensate for lens-to-subject distance. Note that this problem cannot be noticed through the viewfinder, but can be seen only in the film and prints. It is rare, and usually unnoticable in most cases. Also, this is just about the heaviest wide angle lens you can find any camera system. (All lenses for this camera require a herculean effort to carry them anywhere beyond 10 feet of the car.)

Overall a very good lens with high acuity: fine resolution and contrast. It appears that some of the previous reviewers for this lens have failed to use the floating element focuser properly, to enhance edge focusing when using this lens on a subject that is closer than infinity. This is a real issue that can make a subtle difference in sharpness around the edges of the image.

Customer Service

Mamiya customer service is generally very good, with an online user forum that is monitored by Mamiya representatives, sometimes questions are answered by them.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 23, 2002]
Steve
Professional

Strength:

Very sharp and really easy to use. The folating element may be a bit confusing but you get used to it.

Weakness:

None

This is a great lense. I can easily make a 20x24 print. The lense is very sharp with great contrast. I notice no fall off around the edges and it is sharp from edga to edge. My chromes are tack sharp. I use this lense a lot.

Customer Service

I never have to use custome service, the camera is built like a tank and the lenses are always great.

Similar Products Used:

I use a 90,140,210,350 for the RB

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 02, 2001]
Stephen Dixon
Expert

Strength:

Sharp, well corrected

Weakness:

slow

High quality ultra wide lens (approximately equal to 24mm lens on a Nikon or Canon). I have made 11" X 14" prints with good results from Black & White. Velvia 'chromes seem equal in quality to Velvia shot with Nikon when viewed with 10x loupe on lightbox.

Cannot tell much if any difference when using the close focusing compensation.

Customer Service

Never used on this lens, however have had 120 backs serviced. Mamiya seems to continue to service even very old products.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 24, 2001]
Bob Fleming
Professional

Strength:

Widest non-fisheye RB67 lens.

Weakness:

Worst resolution of all RB lenses; OK near center, dramatic fall-off at edges.

Until I got a 65/4 KL, I avoided using all RB wides. My 50/4.5C remains the weakest lens in my system. (I've owned three; all were just so-so.)

Customer Service

Mamiya is great.

Similar Products Used:

65/4 KL is a much better optic.
58/5.6 on Rapid-Omega is best.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 17, 2001]
David Munson
Expert

Strength:

Easy to focus, lots of depth of field to work with. Also, it'll focus ridiculously close at full bellows extension.

Weakness:

This lens, at least the one I had, is unacceptably soft. Even enlarged only to 8x10, pictures taken with this lens are *very* soft and, if my lens is at all indicative of others of it's type, I'd be tempted to say just stay away from this lens altogether. I've heard that there are a few sharp ones floating around out there, but unless you can get your hands on one of those, I suggest you try to find an alternative optic. Also, contrast is only so-so.

If you can find a sharp example of this lens, go for it. Otherwise, I would stay away. I've heard *much* better things about the KL 65mm (intend on buying one once I get the 50mm returned), and if you can live with a not-so-wide angle of view, I would go with it. Given the price and performance, this lens is not a good value.

Customer Service

Didn't buy new, so Mamiya customer service wasn't an issue.

Similar Products Used:

Mamiya KL 127mm
Mamiya KL 250mm
Both of these lenses are very sharp and exhibit very good image characteristics.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 01, 2001]
Guy Edwardes
Professional

Strength:

None

Weakness:

This is not a good lens. Centre resolution is fair but the edges fall away dramatically. A lot of detail is lost around the edges of a landscape photograph. I can get sharper 18"X12" prints from my 35mm transparencies. Also there is a lot of distortion, preventing level horizons.

Don't buy this lens.

Similar Products Used:

90mm KL lens delivers far better results

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com