Manfrotto 3030 Pan/Tilt Tripod Head w/ Quick Rel. Tripod Heads and Accessories

3030 Pan/Tilt Tripod Head w/ Quick Rel.

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
Joe Oberman   Intermediate [Feb 07, 2013]
Strength:

Well built for the cost and would cost 2 times today what it cost 5 years ago!!!

Weakness:

Bubble level, but most high quality cameras come with built in levelers. So, NO need for one.

Easy to set up on Tripod, smooth fluid action and the handles are great for large hands. If you have tiny hands get a different three way head with small handles.

@ racermd: This is not a beginners head nor is it bulky, if you want smaller (ladies choice) get a ball head instead of a study solid three way Manfrotto head for your tripod.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
racermd   Casual [Apr 30, 2006]
Strength:

Solid head. Easy to grip adjustment handles. Fairly inexpensive, making it a great value.

Weakness:

No bubble level. Handles stick out quite a bit.

A good, solid head for basics. I purchased this head with another set of 3021 legs as a slight upgrade to my *obviously* well-used 3028/3021 combo.

Compared to my old 3028, the handles on the 3030 stick out much further. Not that it's a bad thing, but it could be of concern if the tripod goes through checked luggage in a soft case on a plane trip.

The combo of the 3030 head and the 3021 legs make a *really* stable platform. My heaviest setup right now is a Canon 20D and either the 28-135IS or 70-300IS. The head has never slipped or wobbled on me. So far, I haven't had any blurry shots due to motion of the camera.

This is defnintely not a head for shooting fast action due to the single control per axis. The best use of this head (in my opinion) would be as a low-cost primary head for beginners, or even pros that want a solid backup, for shooting landscapes or fairly controlled studio subjects.

Similar Products Used: Bogen 3028 (a.k.a.: Manfrotto 056).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Adrian E   Intermediate [Jun 14, 2004]
Strength:

Very durable, good quick release, not too expensive, good build quality.

Weakness:

Knobs too large, sticking out a lot. Heavy. No bubble scales.

I bought this head with the Manfrotto 155 legs initially to work as a backup, for studio work only. When my primary tripod gave up, I've just taken this one from then on. The head is a sturdy, big mofo that can support quite some heavy cameras and lenses. Very pleased

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rpclark   Intermediate [Feb 09, 2004]
Strength:

Solid & Affordable If you use it enough you're forearms will look like Popeye the Sailorman.

Weakness:

Too much tweaking & fiddling while your shot passes you by.

A solid head when one cannot afford something better. I'd say it is a good beginners head. The plates are also affordable, and unobtrusive - work nicely. Getting the camera on to the tripod even in the dark is quick & simple. Setting up the shot in a short period of time, not as easy. Seems like I'm constantly adjusting those 3 knobs. The knobs at first seemed small, but as I mature in photography these knobs just seem to keep getting bigger and bigger, and seem to always be in the way. I simply think I've outgrown this head. Moving on to ball heads now.

Customer Service

None Needed

Similar Products Used: Bogen 3047 Bogen 3126
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Ralph Wagner   Intermediate [Jun 25, 2003]
Strength:

Large handles, solid as a rock. a lot of bang for the dollar.

Weakness:

A little stiff and choppy at first, but getting better as I use it. Probably some good poly lube should be used.

Good, solid pan/tilt head. A little big for some applications, but a good all around head if you can only afford one.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
HCC   Intermediate [Jan 13, 2003]
Strength:

Very sturdy, steady, compact, easy to set up. The 200 QR system used has a better design on this than the newer Monfrotto heads using it (stronger spring, better lever design).

Weakness:

No bubble level, bulky to pack unless you remove the handles.

I bought this with a 190 tripod as a package. While it was fine with that tripod, it now sits on top of a 144 and is better suited. The head itself is very steady - probably the steadiest I have. Like other reviewers, I have found the movement a bit stiff, but that's a small problem. With a three-way head, you're only changinging one axis at a time, so it's no problem to get it back. There is an "architectural" QR plate available which solves all problems with the 90 degree shots.

Customer Service

None needed and none ever likely.

Similar Products Used: Various Manfrotto and Velbon heads.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Greg Halliday   Intermediate [Aug 25, 2000]
Strength:

Fits my budget (or lack thereof) Allows my camera to tilt to 90 degrees which is something my other tripod doesn't do. Quite small and lightweight. Excellent head for the 3001 legs.

Weakness:

No level, sticky movement.

I really like this head. It is inexpensive and a perfect match for the 3001 legs. The movements are a little sticky, but for 60 bucks I can't complain. The quick release is very nice and seems well built and has a safety lever which keeps one from inadvertently releasing the camera. That would be bad.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Gitzo (too expensive), Slik 700DX.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Salina Hallenbeck   [Jul 18, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 3030 Pan/Tilt Tripod Head w/ Quick Rel.
Strength:

Easy to get to handles.
Sturdy enough to support my camera, which is heavy when using my zoom lens.
Handle on the quick release attachment make it easy to attach and remove from my camera without searcing my pockets for a cion to loosen it.

Weakness:

None to report.

Very sturdy head. Easy to manipulate. Handles are easy to get to, I don't hae to search for small adjustment knobs while setting up a shot. Easy to use quick release and attachment. I highly recomend this head.

Similar Products Used: Just small ceap tripods.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Aimee   Professional [Jun 22, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 3030 Pan/Tilt Tripod Head w/ Quick Rel.
Strength:

* Very easy to use.

* Works great for heavy cameras.

* Adjust level, tilt, pan separately by just holding knobs, no need to hold or secure camera while adjusting.

Quick-release is wonderful. Camera clicks right in. Very secure. Has lock as well for extra security.

* Very sturdy and well made. Quick shoe as well.

Weakness:

* a level would be nice but not crucial

*

Wonderful. I love it. Has made my shooting so convenient. Makes me look more professional as well. No awkward fumbling with tripod in front of customers.

Customer Service

Haven't had to use

Similar Products Used: Ball heads
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jenetta Penner   Professional [May 22, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 3030 Pan/Tilt Tripod Head w/ Quick Rel.
Strength:

Sturdy, well made, good value

Weakness:

no level

I like this tripod head. It gave me the kind of control that I needed at a good price. The quick release was important to me for shooting weddings where moving quick is essential. Bogan has good products that will last a long time. I would definatly recommend the 3030 tripod head.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com