Manfrotto 724B Digi Tripod Tripods

Manfrotto 724B Digi Tripod Tripods 

DESCRIPTION

This lightweight and compact tripod offers all the rock steady support necessary for high-quality imaging for today's digital and conventional cameras. It includes a built-in aluminum ball head with a single "ratchet" locking lever, as well as quick-action leg locks for fast set-up and breakdown.

  • Made of Black Anodized Aluminum
  • Max height: 68.1 inches
  • Collapsed length: 19.3 inches
  • Max load: 7.7 lbs

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-9 of 9  
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    James B
    Professional

    Strength:

    Lightweight.

    Weakness:

    The clamp holding the leg has broken twice this year. I cannot get a person to answer the phone at Manfrotto and
    Apparently Manfrotto has outsourced their repair services to a third party. I'm not abusing the clamp, just closing it and it breaks. Very frustrating.

    Not happy with the product

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    [Sep 29, 2012]
    Keith MacKenzie
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Light

    Weakness:

    Breaks constantly, almost on every use.

    Do not buy this tripod. The leg clamps are plastic and brittle and break regularly at which point the tripod is useless until you wait weeks for replacement parts. At which point it just breaks again. This is a awful product and like another reviewer said the least the manufacturer could do is offer people who bought this product a suitable replacement - at no charge.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    [Jul 24, 2012]
    Suzanne Jenkins
    Professional

    Strength:

    It looked like a quality product at the time of purchase but continuous breakage of the sorry plastic leg clamps ruin the experience of trying to use it.

    Weakness:

    The bad plastic leg locks, which break every time the tripod is opened, cancel any good features.

    The Manfrotto 724 B is worthless. The cheap plastic leg clamps break every time the tripod has been used. I have only used it 3 times or shall we say, tried to use it. The looks are deceptive. It appears to be a sturdy traveling tripod for vacations but it is anything but reliable because of the plastic locks. I cannot recommend this tripod to anyone and I will never buy anything from Manfrotto/Bogen again. I resent having thrown my money away on this terrible item.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    [Dec 14, 2011]
    DIMITRI COSMOS
    Professional

    Strength:

    NONE

    Weakness:

    SORDID QUALITY

    I purchased this tripod because for the looks of it appeared sturdy and light. Like the rest of the reviewers the snaps that hold the legs together began to inexplicably develop cracks and eventually brake. Mind you this is happening over a period of a year and while the tripod is not used. I went to the expense of replacing all the rows
    of snaps in two legs. Again I left it untouched for a year because I don't trust it at this point. Guess what. I found two more cracks.
    This tripod is a piece of *** and the best thing Manfrotto can do to keep the customers that spend hundreds of $$$ buying their product, happy, is to offer a replacement.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    [Aug 28, 2009]
    picperfectca
    Expert

    Strength:

    light, easy to carry. ball head works well.

    Weakness:

    Leg adjustment fasteners broke twice. Not worth another repair cost and loss of unit when shipping. Once is enough!

    Nice light unit, ball head works very well. Used with different cameras including medium format and Canon DSLR.

    Too bad the leg snaps arent made stronger. The first snap broke within 3 months of purchase and the next one just now at a year later. The tripod has seen very light use in moderate temperatures, so the problem is not related to weather extremes.

    Manfretto repaired the first break which only cost me shipping fees one way, but the loss of it for about 6 weeks. Now that the second snap broke, I will look to purchase a different manufacturer's product. There is no excuse for poor plastic strength in todays world.

    I take care of my equipment and use with care.

    Customer Service

    Good the first time, even then they wouldnt commit themselves to warrenty repair until they saw the tripod.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    [Feb 07, 2008]
    Bruno
    Expert

    Strength:

    Light and relatively small.

    Weakness:

    The fasteners to hold the legs to length were a weakness on the other model I bought. One of the clamps broke off. I would not buy the model lighter than this one since their clamps are smaller. I have used this one in heat and cold and have used it over 2 years with no troubles.

    This is my everyday tripod. I try to take most pictures using a tripod. I bought it because it was light and small. I could pack it and I could carry it all day while touring. I put a quick release made by Hama on top to complete the package. See below about construction.

    Customer Service

    FANTASTIC. They were great in helping me one my first (another model not this model) broke.

    Similar Products Used:

    I have used the usual tripods with twisting knobs, that always let the legs slip, and wing nuts that are a pain to set up. This one is quick and easy.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Sep 07, 2005]
    jpg
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    This is a basic no frills tripod. It has a threeway head, rapid action lever leg extension locks, and a two position quick release plate. After getting it home I tried it on the different cameras I own. The quick release plate was a perfect matchup with the tripod plate on my Hasselblad, making it the perfect looking Hasselblad tripod.

    Weakness:

    Now for the niggels: All though the mounting plate seemed to work well for all my other cameras, there was a problem with my Leica CM, -which is really a Leica design flaw. The switch to turn on the CM is on the bottem front edge of the camera. The mounting plate projects out a little ways from the front of the camera, making it difficult to switch on the camera. If you have a Leica CM camera, this tripod will not be the best choice, it will need a smaller mounting plate. When folded up, the panning bar projects out from the folded legs. It should fold right up against the legs to making the folded package more compact. It could have an attached spirit level.

    This review is for the Manfrotto 728B Digi Compact, which seems to be an updated version of the 724B. I was looking for a compact tripod that could be used and carried easily outdoors. After fiddling around with all the display models on the dealer's floor for about an hour, I finally decided on this model. My other choice for about the same price was the Slick U800. There were less expensive floor models that even had broken plastic parts. If a tripod can't make it past the dealer's showroom without being broken, I certainly don't want it. The Manfrotto seemed much sturdier, had less plastic, but was heavier, but I bought it inspite of it's heavier waight. It also comes with a sexy carring case with shoulder strap.

    Customer Service

    None

    Similar Products Used:

    Bogen Manfrotto 410, which is a heavy duty studio tripod.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Dec 08, 2004]
    syuji
    Casual

    Strength:

    Light weight. Reasonably steady. Compact. Price. I like the Bogen Manfrotto look. Quick and easy set up. Ball head is compact, easy and flexible.

    Weakness:

    None.

    This is a great tripod for my purpose. Very satisfied. I use Nikon F2 SLR which is heavy for SLR, but this tripod handles it with no problem. It comes with ball head and carrying bag.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-9 of 9  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com