Slik Pro 700DX Tripod Tripods

Slik Pro 700DX Tripod Tripods 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 22  
[Feb 09, 2017]
PhotoGaz
Professional

Strength:

No nonsense tripod at a great price.
Very strong.
74" height.
Padded legs.

Weakness:

Limited minimum height.
Head is average.

This tripod is up there with Manfrotto, Gitzo and the like; Ok it's not got all the features of the top named brands, but it is very strong and the overall weight is reasonably similar.

Remove the head that comes with the tripod and fit a compact magnesium ball head for less weight and better usability. I have used this tripod for a number of years professionally and it has never let me down, first coupled with a Manfrotto pan and tilt head for wedding and portrait work, later with various compact ball heads for landscape and architectural photography. Some times you just want a basic strong tripod to just do the job, having a tripod that doubles up as a multi use platform has it's drawbacks, they can become cumbersome and complicated. The Slik Pro 700DX is a basic get the job done workhorse.

Similar Products Used:

Manfrotto 55 Pro
Manfrotto 190 Pro
Gitzo Explorer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 31, 2016]
SG Paul
Intermediate

Strength:

Perfect for balanced load. More than 5kg seems just fine.
Dual tips 1/4" and 3/8" stud. No thread adapter required. (need hex wrench to swap the thread).
Light weight (for it's size).

Weakness:

With dynamic load distribution, center column lock mechanism does not strong enough to hold y-axis.

It must be 5-star for general propose still photography application.

I give 3-star because my main use is for 2 minutes on single exposure). I prove this by attach laser pointer to the center column and point down to the floor, there are some slightly movement overtime on my tracking astrophotography session.

My setup was:
1. Slik 700DX (tripod only)
2. Skywatcher Star Adventurer mount (1kg)
3. Nikon D5500 (not sure, very light)
4. Nikkor AI-S 400mm f/3.5 (2.9kg)

My another setup with shorter focal lengths, 200mm and lower, are just fine. I can take 5-minutes exposure with pin-point star in the field.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 08, 2008]
kenwilkes
Intermediate

Strength:

Well made, steady, price, good looking also

Weakness:

No bubble level

I have to agree with everyone else. This tripod is excellent. Seems to be very high quality and its large. I'm 6'5 and I do appreciate the height. It looks like it belongs on the space shuttle. I did the combo of the 770DX with the SLIK 800 ball head and I'm very pleased. The head is rated at 6 lbs and it easily handles my D80, Sigma 18-200 OS (big lens) and my SB-600. Seems to be very steady.

This is NOT a backpacking tripod. But for those outings where you go to a park or something and walk a 100 yards or so it's not too bad.

I very much recommend this setup

Best regards Ken Atlanta,GA

Similar Products Used:

Couple of cheapies. I've learned. If your serious about your photos, don't skimp on your gear. Few things will help your captures more than knowledge, good glass and a steady shooting surface.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 15, 2007]
gahspidy
Intermediate

Strength:

Large, Strong and stable build, bubble levels, Carrying bag, price.

Weakness:

None, a really well thought out and good quality unit especially for the cost.

I read alot of rebiews about this tripod on amazon.com. they were all great. I decided to go to Adorama camera and see the unit for myself and also compare it to other tripods.
I had the Slik Able 300 and liked the build quality of it, so I was confident in the Slik name to give me a quality tripod. Having bought a new and heavier DSLR and also planning to use a Nodalninja Panorama head on it, I needed something more robust than the Able 300.
After opening it up and setting it up in the store, I was amazed at how huge this thing is. It is not all that bulky closed, but open it up all the way and it's a monster. I'm not certain of the specks, but fully extended with center column all the way up I believe the camera would be 7ft off the ground. I need a step stool to see through the view finder. the build and quality is sound and steady. Excellent quality, for any price. I had the salesman send up several different tripods for comparison, and nothing even close to this price range could compare. I looked at a few Bogens, Davis/ Sanford, and adoramas own brand of Carbon fiber tripods.
A Bogen 3021 was not a bad tripod, but it's size was limited. Center column would have to be fully extended to achieve eye level (I'm 5' 11") and set up like that is not very stable. Good for it's size but even a bit more money than the Slik.
Adoramas own brand seemed very good, but in the same price range there were only small tripods available. You would have to pay more than twice the amount for a similiar size system.
I went with the Slik 700DX. No regrets. The tripod is so tall that i never have to extened the center column giving me a very stable support for the camera. But if I needed the extra height, it's there. quick release levers make setting up and taking down a quick and simple chore. The sturdy pan head has two bubble levels. The legs spread out independantly and fully spread out brings the tripod very low, to the point that only the center column keeps it from getting lower. No problem or need to get a shorter column. The center column unscrew quickly to half it's size thus allowing the tripod to get down to about 15" off the ground with camera on top. Simple, and effective. This tripod also uses a new quick plate release system by Slik that is a round disk. The camer can be mounted onto the head at any position and locked in place. I was woried that the camera could possibly slip and twist in the portrait position, but it seems to hold very secure once locked in.
There is a heavy duty Ball head that would match this tripod pefectly and also uses the same quick release system. I think it is called the Pro 800, an excellent option for someone not liking a pan head on this unit.
This tripod also comes with a carrying bag.

Customer Service

None needed

Similar Products Used:

Slik Able 300

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 03, 2007]
AndyAndyAndy
Intermediate

Strength:

I bought this 3 years ago for $99.99 less my 10% Pro Discount at Penn Camera (I just pulled the receipt to check). It is now $159.on their website. At either price this tripod is a bargain.
It is rock solid. Those of you who are my age remember the old Bogen ads...well if it had the points on the feet (which is how Bogen kept his tripod legs from spreading under his weight) this baby could hold Mr Bogen, though I can't imagine he would be too comfortable.
It is actually light for its size.They say 7 pounds, but I cut down my center column (see weaknesses) and changed the head so mine is closer to 6 pounds. You can reverse the center column and bring the head right down to the floor. A clever rubber stopper prevents you from accidentally pulling out the center column.
It does not have metal points on the feet which is very good because I never found a place where I could use them and many buildings will not let you use such a tripod even if the points are retracted (I have had problems with my Gitzo and Bogen).
Legs can be set to three angles which is great for shooting on uneven surfaces and stairs. The joints are rock solid, even after 3 years of use.
It is a snap to set up and tear down (you will not loose the skin on your hand as you do with Gitzos screw collars. I have literally missed shots setting up my Gitzo especially in cold weather.
The head did not interest me, it was a fluid head, the one they show on it now is a 3 way head but does not look so solid. I sold the fluid head on e-bay (therefore I am not really qualified to comment).
I use it mostly for DSLR, it is rock solid even with my 70-200 2.8 L IS and I have used it with my Sinar 4 x 5 and 8 x 10 with a Lumpp head, it does not move!
As far as sturdiness, I have been forced on several occasions to check it on airplanes, I have put a return address tag on it and checked it through unprotected and it has always come out on arrival without damage (if it had been a Gitzo it probably would never have even come out!).

I have posted bellow the description from Penn Camera's website:
Using Tri-Titanium™, a new, super strength alloy comprised of aluminum, magnesium and titanium, the SLIK Pro 700DX Tripod has a strength-to-weight ratio more than 40% greater than comparable tripods in its class. The distinctive color from this unique alloy formula, further adds to the professional appearance and capabilities the Pro 700DX Tripod has to offer.
Weighing only 7 lb. (3.2 kg.) the Pro 700DX is equally at home indoors or on the road, providing solid support for equipment weighing up to 15 lb. (7 kg.) and to its maximum operating height of 74.8" (1900mm). Individual leg angle adjustments, permit three distinctive settings for unusual terrain or low angle camera use. Minimum operating height is a mere 24.4" (620mm) with the standard center column, or a ground hugging 15.8" (400mm) when the optional short center column is employed.
The 3-way pan head of the SLIK Pro 700DX, features individual locking controls for pan and tilt, as well as 360 degree rotation of its Quick Release Platform. The cylindrical shaped Quick Release Platform, permits fast camera mounting, removal or action panning. The flat base design of the platform also permits setting equipment down without concern of its accidentally tipping over. The platform is secured in place with a dual locking system that permits either full camera rotation or quick removal from the tripod head. Supplied with the Pro 700DX pan head, is a standard, 1/4x20 thread Quick Release Platform. Also available, as an optional accessory, is a 3/8's European size version. Both Quick Release Platforms are the same as those for SLIK's new Pro Ball Head 800, eliminating the need to remove the platform when transferring equipment from one SLIK Pro tripod product to another.

Weakness:

You probably do not want to use the head that comes with it. But you can get beer money for it on E-bay (think of it as a ten percent discount)! A ball head would probably cost them less to produce. I currently use a Bogen 486RC2 which looks like it was made for it.

The center column can still slide a bit with huge weight (we are talking about large L series lenses or an 8 x 10, but I solved that by adding a strip of masking tape down the length of the column. You will not have a problem with less than 20 pounds on top of the head.

The center column is a bit too long. So I cut mine down. It lets me get down low without having to reverse the center column. I am 5'11" and never need the full length of the center column. You can also evidently buy a short center column.

Dark silverish finish on legs reflects light (about equal to Gitzo). Most of the light that might show up in an image is reflected by the uppermost section of the legs, so mine is wrapped in black electrical tape. The tape also is a tad bit less uncomfortable to handle in extreme cold.

you will love this tripod!

Rock Solid, even after 3 years of heavy use! bought it because I was sick of my Gitzo's screw tight collars and my Bogen is not sturdy enough for large format.

Customer Service

Trust me, with this tripod you won't need customer service!

Similar Products Used:

There are lots of tripods out there, so there might be something similar. I am not a gear junkike I find the thing that works and modify it to make it perfect for me and stick with it. Probably why I still shoot 4 x 5 and 8 x 10!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 06, 2006]
Erik
Professional

Strength:

*Price *Features are logical, easy to operate and very reliable so far. *Limbs are solid as seasoned oak but not overly-heavy. *For the stability it provides, it's reasonably light and compact. *Ideal for taller photographers and for shooting subjects in trees, cliffs, tall buildings and other high angles. *Extremely stable even when extended for a lanky photographer. If you are 5'10" (172 cm) or taller and have limited funds, get this model and use the savings for better glass, and some quality filters, something like that. This will get it done. Thank you Slik--money well earned.

Weakness:

Not the most useful model for shorter photographers. In fact, I advise against buying this unit unless you're of above-average height. A visiting professor of graphic arts is 5'4" (162 cm) and she finds it annoying to use, while conceding it is very stable.

I teach at a state university. One photography textbook after another says that with tripods, "You get what you pay for." Much though I despise that vacuous cliche, it is mostly true with tripods. The stable, reliable and rugged ones cost somewhere north of $300 in most cases. This tripod is a glaring exception. It is everything I've looked for in a tripod and cheaper. I initially bought it only because I'm a taller person (6'2") and my part-time employee is taller yet, roughly 6'6" (about 200 cm). But this tripod has proven to be more than merely big--in fact, it's the best overall value of my entire stock of photography gear. And I see from other reviews they haven't raised the price in several years, for which we should be grateful.

Customer Service

Can't imagine I'll ever need it--I'll probably leave it in my will.

Similar Products Used:

Gitzo G1228 and Velbon 544, the former excellent in almost every way but overpriced (I sold it for what I thought was an excessive sum--it must have cache among gear geeks), the latter cheap but not stable nor reliable (my kids like it, though).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 20, 2005]
leroys
Intermediate

Strength:

Inexpensive, Pro-Quality build, Adaptable, Well engineered.

Weakness:

None

What an incredible find for a guy like me on limited means. I shoot used Pentax 645 gear on the street. Needed something inexpensive, sturdy and adaptable to someone one the move. This tripod fits my needs well, Thanks SLIK.

Customer Service

None needed

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 16, 2005]
Christiano
Professional

Strength:

strong and easy

Weakness:

to cheap

wauw what i tripod,Built like a chevy 57,or Rolex watch..its a very overseen tripod and a shame its not more aprreciated! I use Two as a pro work partner and find them very very strong and good. The best in the branch and up or better to any competitor !! BUY IT!

Customer Service

nope..its a dx 700!!

Similar Products Used:

many from manfrottos gitzos bogen slik

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 04, 2003]
GJE
Expert

Strength:

Well built, rugged, sturdy with quick release legs and camera mount, 4 way pan/tilt head, great height options and two bubble levels.

Weakness:

Not the most compact, but it's worth the extra weight for the sturdiness offered. Have used a Velbon tripod for backpacking these past 14 years, and this tripod will certainly outlast the Velbon. The optional Slik tripod pack is worth the investment.

This tripod can't be beat at twice the price, just an exceptional piece of equipment at a really affordable price.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used:

Gitzo, Velbon

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 19, 2003]
sreid
Professional

Strength:

Leg releases are sturdy but firm, pan/tilt head is well damped, quick mount mechanism is sturdy and works very well, lightweight but good overall height at maximum extension, all controls seem well-made and hold firmly.

Weakness:

Center column movement could be a bit smoother but that's mostly nitpicking.

What a bargain. I actually prefer this tripod to much more expensive Gitzos, Tiltalls, etc. that I've owned. Leg releases are sturdy. Lots of good, practical design thinking clearly went into this. I use it with a Canon 10D and 1Ds and it's a good match for either.

Customer Service

Never used.

Similar Products Used:

Leitz Tiltall, various Gitzo, various heads

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com