Slik U5000 Photo/Video Tripod Tripods

Slik U5000 Photo/Video Tripod Tripods 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[May 20, 2014]
MDJaner
Intermediate

Strength:

Lightweight, fits in backpack. Might be okay if you want a disposable tripod.

Weakness:

The U5000 looked strong when I bought it thinking I would be more likely to carry a lightweight tripod than a heavy one. It did not hold up well at all. After three days of shooting, one of the legs became loose because it was attached with unexcusably flimsy plastic. I was left with a "bipod" in a situation where I really needed a sturdy tripod. Attempting to adjust it was frustratingly difficult. It was almost impossible to switch it to portrait position, and it was always slipping out of adjustment even when tightened to the point I couldn't even turn the knobs. The knob holding the camera to the tripod is hard to reach and turn. I'm sorry I bought it.

I would not recommend this to anyone.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 16, 2012]
Ken Horton
Intermediate

Strength:

Head broke as described in many other reviews, so there are no strenghths

Weakness:

Units head is made of plastic and cracks easily

Junk

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 18, 2010]
ihdloaxs
Intermediate

Strength:

Easy to adjust the legs, light weight for the price.

Weakness:

shoddy construction at the head.

Overall, I have to say a disappointment. I had barely over a year of infrequent use and the head snapped off while routine tightening. I won't be buying another tripod from this manufacturer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 11, 2008]
john
Intermediate

Easy and very quick to set up! Stays very still and sturdy even when leaning against and puttin pressure on.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 26, 2007]
Chuck Radda
Intermediate

Strength:

Cheap, lightweight, easy to adjust

Weakness:

The quality of workmanship. I'm pretty careful with all my photographic equipment--there is no reason for the head to have cracked on this tripod, except for poor materials or shoddy workmanship.

Can a product be too average? If so, this is it. It's fairly small, fairly light, fairly stable, and fairly easy to use. In fact I'd be fairly happy with it if the head hadn't cracked and rendered it pretty much useless. I didn't pay a lot, but at the time I was steadying a small CoolPix. My new digital SLR flops the sucker right over. It's almost funny, in a useless sort of way. I'm sure there are other Sliks of higher quality, but I'm distrustful now and may change brands.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 31, 2004]
Jerry McAfee
Expert

Strength:

Light weight, small size, quick leg-lock method

Weakness:

Flimsy head

I agree with the others that this tripod is lightweight but of flimsy construction. The head broke for no apparent reason. It appears the pan & tilt handle was twisted too tightly which caused the head to crack. But it's highly unlikely this happened. I did like the size and light weight of this tripod, but I was forced to replace it with the U9000, a much more rugged unit. Actually, it is far more than is needed to support my digital camera smf miniDV video camera, but it surely won't suffer the same fate as the U5000.

Customer Service

Didn't even bother.

Similar Products Used:

Slik U9000

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Sep 10, 2002]
edlark
Intermediate

Strength:

cheap small lightweight quick setup (love the quick release mount)

Weakness:

lightweight - a small SLR is the top end for this tripod could be sturdier - not for windy conditions

Wow, everybody just seems to hate this tripod! I do mostly handheld work, but also dabble in night photography. Admittedly, I'm only using the tripod occasionally, but am perfectly happy with it when I do. I am using the u5500, so perhaps we're talking apples and oranges. Lots of comments on how flimsy the construction is - and true, it's not a bogen - but I carry the tripod around with the camera attached to the top all the time and have never been concerned about it breaking off while in transit. I do use a fairly light rig: Rebel 2K with a Tamron 75-200 mounted lens tops. I definitely wouldn't recommend anything much heavier than that. It's an adequate low-end tripod, but that's all it is. Botton line: If you plan on using a tripod a lot, this isn't the tripod for you. Buy yourself a high quality, heavy duty, professional tripod. If you just need a tripod occasionally, like me, and don't have a lot of cash lying around, the u5500 is perfectly adequate for snapping pictures of the sunset or at that family gathering.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

bogen monopod, canon studio tripod

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 11, 2002]
tomsph
Intermediate

Strength:

nice smooth design, compact.

Weakness:

cheap. Not worth buying since it falls apart!£

The nut connecting a leg to the head just broke. I didn''t even have the (questionable) pleasure of throwing it across the room.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 20, 2000]
Derek Phoungphol
Beginner

Strength:

VERY very light

Weakness:

extremely short, I have to hunch over in a painful posture to focus and adjust aperture/shutter...

eh, it's lightweight so, bring it on a family hiking trip or fishing trip or something...

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 05, 2000]
Sean Thomas
Intermediate
Model Reviewed: U5000 Photo/Video Tripod

Strength:

Small and light weight.
Aluminum legs,

Weakness:

Doesn't extend high enough to shoot standing up.
Wont set up lower than 15"
Light weight and not very sturdy,
After six months plastic parts started to break and legs fell off.
If dropped might break or loose a leg.
Fragile components,
Head doesn't have the capability to tilt lateraly.

When I bring the tripod out for a shot I want it to work, the U 5000 seems a bit fragile and would break easily if dropped,
Good for light small light cameras but don't try to mount a lense bigger than a 100mm.

Similar Products Used:

Gitzo 224

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com