Domke F-2 Soft Case

Domke F-2 Soft Case 

DESCRIPTION

F-2 Original Domke( Available in Canvas or Ballistic ). The bag that started it all. Jim Domke had the first one custom made for his own use in 1976, and tens of thousands of bags later, the F-2 is still the most popular Domke Bag. It is the faithful companion of professional photographers around the world.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 32  
[May 15, 2010]
e
Professional

Strength:

Durable. Configurable. Reliable.

Weakness:

Weaknesses?

Bought bag in mid 70's. Have used it ever since. After 30+ years and close to 2 million miles I can't imagine not having this bag.

Regularly stuffed with 2 DSLRs, lenses, strobes, batteries, memory. business cards, a small tripod, passport. notepads and pens, prescriptions. and enough fine washables to get me through the inevitable "lost luggage" scenario.

I spilled beer on it in the Cavern Club in Liverpool. It fits in the carry-on space. It looks like hell (Faded navy blue). Not two weeks ago it needed it's first repair, a replacement triglide for the shoulder strap.

There is no better bag,

Customer Service


Phhht.... A new triglide and some stitching on the shoulder strap are all I've ever required.

Similar Products Used:


I've never needed another bag.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 17, 2008]
PunkJr
Professional

Strength:

Quality build
Easy access
Storage space for size
Available accessories
Low key design
Comfort

Weakness:

Would like to see steel strap buckles but strong plastic is OK

I love this bag. I have used up until now the Lowepro Super Trekker II and the Lowepro Nova 5. The moment I pulled this bag out of the wrapping, I new it would be my everyday bag. My first thoughts were, "maybe it is a little small" however I started to load my gear in, then added more, and more..........It is incredible how much I can fit into this bag. 70-200, 17-35, both pro lenses, a 50mm prime, Nikon D200 2xNikon speedlights, 2x B+W filters in cases, Maglite, hairbands, Stofen diffuser, 3x Pocketwizards, 2x sync cords, spare camera batteries, spare AA lithium batteries, remote shutter release, TTL cable, SU-800 speedlite controller, Giotto rocket blower, lens cloth, memory cards, business cards, Minolta light meter, flash shield!!

Customer Service

Not required so far but I hear good things.

Similar Products Used:

Lowepro Nova 5

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 30, 2008]
SpeedingSphere
Intermediate

Strength:

It holds everything! Even my 70-200mm F/2.8L IS. I read online that it didn't, but it does fit in the bag insert. I use the bag insert for my 70-200mm F/2.8L IS, Sigma 8mm F/3.5 EX DG, 28-135mm F/3.5-5.6, and my 350D IR(such a small body, it fits in a lens pouch!) and I keep the 50mm F/1.8 II on my 40D in the open area of the bag. It also holds my camcorder and 8 spare MiniDV tapes in one of the side pouches. I keep all of the manuals in the flap top cover, and I put an 18% gray card in the front pouch. The color is a very pleasing brown and beige. It doesn't scream STEAL ME! It just resembles a students shoulder book-bag.

Weakness:

The only problem I found with Domke F-2 was that when I am wearing it on my shoulder, the side of the bag nearest to me tended to dent in. It made it very hard to access when pushed in by my hip. I fixed the problem by inserting a small piece of cardboard in the outside pouch. The bag would be 100% perfect for me if this area was rigid as well.

The bag itself is excellent! It holds everything! It is very comfortable and works as I expected.

Customer Service

Haven't had to use em. Not sure what could go wrong with a quality bag like this!

Similar Products Used:

Canon Backpack

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 16, 2008]
Ani
Expert

Strength:

Simple (not much to go wrong or fall off)
A bag for life if you look after it
Doesn't stand out in a crowd (less chance of having your stuff stolen)
Easy access to your stuff
Well designed

Weakness:

None

If you like bells and whistles this is not the bag for you, if you like simplicity and things that work and don't break, this could be what your looking for. I've had so many camera bags over the years, including: Billingham, Lowe and crumpler, the Domke F-2 is my favourite mainly because of it's simplicity and if you go for the black or olive version it doesn't scream out "steal me I contain lots of expensive equipment" like Bllingham and other fancy bags do, the F-2 is very understated. Also it's made in the USA which to me makes a big difference as it tells me the workers are getting a fair wage.

Customer Service

Haven't needed to use them yet

Similar Products Used:

Billingham
Lowe
Crumpler
Fogg

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 28, 2005]
agp
Expert

Strength:

Superb, flexible design, increadibly comfortable to use. Washable.

Weakness:

Metal fixings lose their newness very quickly, though that doesn't worry me. Metal clips on teh front take a little getting used to. Probably not for people with weak hands.

This is without doubt the best camera bag I have ever used. I'm able to carry it for hours in comfort, it is incredibly flexible, and washes beautifully in the machine. It doesn't look anything special, which means that I use it without worrying about it getting dirty. It performs its job superbly, and I'm selling all my other camera bags (except the Lowepro backpack!).

Customer Service

No experience

Similar Products Used:

Lowepro, Crumpler, CreationR (leather Leica bags available in the UK)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 18, 2005]
Trevor Little
Expert

Strength:

Solid. Cool Lookin'. Well laid out. Big. Extremely nice to work with.

Weakness:

The metal clips at the front are hard to work with, and impossible to use with gloves. Not really designed for digital cameras, it would be nice for some smaller pockets for CF cards.

The bag is friggen awesome. Looks cool, solid build, easy to work with, lots of room. Holds my d2h with 17-35 2.8 attached, 80-200, 50, 24, 285hv, w/ chargers, batteries, cables, attachments etc. It also holds a 12case of beer perfectly if you remove all the inserts. I like to think Jim Domke thought of that while designing this bag.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used:

Lowepro Nova 4

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 04, 2004]
Crazyjim
Intermediate

Strength:

Unobtrusive Well made Flexable will get you cred in the press pack!

Weakness:

Buckles at front can be hard to open in a hurry

I got this after using a lowepro Nova5, which i found to be over padded and inflexable, as well as being hugely obvious that it was a camera bag! I got mine with 2 pouches that attach to the shoulder strap, as well as the shoulded pad- very handy if bag is fully loaded! I usually have 2 DCS520 (eos 1n based dslrs) a 80-200 2.8L, 50mm 1.8, 17mm tokina AT-X, flashgun, and other bits and bobs- it carrys them all without a complaint. So, if you want a unobtrusive, classic, quality camera bag- look no farther than a the domke f2

Customer Service

Not needed!

Similar Products Used:

Lowepro nova5 many cheep and nasty bags........

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 11, 2004]
clarkmai
Intermediate

Strength:

Mobility Capacity Feeling of high-quality canvas

Weakness:

The four-compartment insert is not that good for big lenses with hoods.

I used to use a unfamous camera bag. I found that bag too bulky and had too many thick padding inside and outside. Domke F-2, a camera bag that I was told the standard bag for professional photojournalists on the first day of my photography study. 12 years has passed and I don't have a Domke yet. So I bought one and found it as excellent as I imagined. The Domke Post-Office Style Shoulder Pad is an essential complement of Domke F-2. Some complain that the padding is not enough to protect equipments. Please keep in mind it is for photojournalists, mobility and capacity is what they require.

Similar Products Used:

Lowepro

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 30, 2003]
Tony Tsao
Intermediate

Strength:

Strong and lasting.

Weakness:

metal hareware rusted.

I have used this bag for more than 3 years now. It had served me well, strong and robust. a winning design in everyway. But but makes me upset is that the metal hardware get rusty, it might be because I wash it in the washing machine. But anyway, this is a damm good bag and I have no regret buying it.

Customer Service

nil

Similar Products Used:

nil

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 27, 2003]
chrisabraham
Professional

Strength:

Bomb proof with a big dose of photojournalistic stree cred. Water resistant -- from the tight-weave canvas. Ages very well.

Weakness:

The canvas makes some serious dust all over the cameras. I guess cotton canvas isn't the best choice, maybe.

I have used it as my exclusive stock photography travel bag for two n90 bodies and three lenses (80-200, 35-70, and 20-35 -- all 2.8) and everything else I need from passport to film (one side pouch for fresh and the other pouch for burnt) and something to read and my PDA and everything else. The entire thing is pretty heavy but there is always the postman's pad. I don't have it but I use it around my body and over my shoulder. This is all I ever need. I don't agree that this bag doesn't draw attention to itself because DOMKE is what AP and UPI stringer and shooters use, and they have some of the best toys. So maybe people in the US don't know DOMKE, but people abroad do. And in DC. Conspicuously hardcore.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 32  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com