Canon EOS 1D Digital SLRs

Available At:
EOS 1D

  • Sensor: 4.15 megapixels
  • Max resolution: 2496 x 1662 (Canon RAW format)
  • Lens conversion factor: 1.3x
  • Focus: 45-point Area AF w. One-Shot AF, AI Servo AF, and Manual Focus
  • Exposure: Program, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority, Depth-of-Field, E-TTL Flash, Manual
  • ISO Range: Equivalent to ISO 200-1600 (in 1/3 stop increments)
  • Max burst rate: 8 fps for 21 shots in Large/Fine
  • Magnesium alloy chassis
  • "Most extensively (weather)protected camera in its class"

  • User Reviews (27)

    Showing 1-10 of 27  
    reflections   Expert [Aug 16, 2007]
    Strength:

    Fast auto focus Fast write time Fast burst rate.

    Auto focus is more accurate than 30D

    Since it is only 4MP the file sizes are smaller than the 30D and you don't need as many memory cards.

    Weakness:

    Not good at for long exposures at night. (creates white dots all over the image)
    Batteries don't last as long as 30D batteries.
    Since it is only 4MP cropping is more limited. Just get closer and this isn't a problem.
    Sensor gets dirty easier than 30D.

    This is a great camera even though it's old technology (2001) before i purchased this camera I had a Canon 10D & 30D. I sold my 10D off to purchase this camera. I still have the 30D so I've been able to compare the 2 cameras. For most jobs I choose the 1D over the New 30D. The big differences between the cameras is speed. I never noticed the shutter lag in my 30D until I got my 1D. It is like the difference between a point and shoot Digital and the 30D.

    The auto focus on the 1D blows away the 30D. The 1D's tracking is just amazing. I went to a motorcycle race this summer and took both cameras. The 1D didn't have any problems tracking the motorcycles and most shots came out great. The 30D was a different story. only about 1/2 the shots came out good. The rest of them were miss focused. I used my canon 70-200 L for all the shots.

    I've compared the two camera's ISO and I'd have to say they look about the same. Not much of a difference between the two. Both camera are have less noise at higher ISO speeds that the 10D.

    The only major flaw in this camera is the ability to do long exposures at night. When I tried to do some long exposures there were lots of dots all over the image. The dots start around 2 seconds, by 8 seconds the images are unusable because the the dots. I never had any problems with my 10D or 30D in this area.

    Since a used 1D and a new 30D is about the same price I would recommend the 1D over the 30D unless you shoot a lot of night shots or heavily crop your images.

    Similar Products Used: Canon D30, 10D, 30D
    Canon 28-105, 28-80L, 24-105L, 70-200 F4L, 100-300L, 50mm, 135 SF, 28
    Tamron 28-75, 28-300, 19-35
    Tokina 12-24, 300 F4
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    MAK   Intermediate [Aug 27, 2006]
    Strength:

    - weather proof sealing and solid build quality
    - 45 point of focus
    - 8.5 frame/sec
    - 2.5 inch screen
    - worth every peny.

    Weakness:

    none

    I've just discovered that the 1D series bodies ar true master pieces, i like it's practicality and handling , they are build like a tank comparing to the smaller bosies like the 5D, 20D, 30D, 350D, in which i discovered that i've wasted my time with the lower serieses of canon SLR mounts. The 1D Mark II N had an amazing fast focusing with super amazing view finder that contain 45 point of focus which is more that enough, the 8.5 frame per sec. is another amazing story specially for wild life photography and sports. The image quality and the preformance of the Camera is amazing but still not go as the 1Ds mark II or the 5D that equiped with the wonderful full frame sensor. they are alot of talk and alot of breath taking specification on the 1D mark II N. the end bottom is that if you got the money don't waste it on a lower digital mounts serious. the 1d is a long term invesment.

    Customer Service

    perfect, amazon is the best

    Similar Products Used: EOS 5D currently along with it

    in the past 30D, 20D, 350D
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Mihai Spiridonica   Professional [Jul 16, 2006]
    Strength:

    The famous 1 series build - gaskets, magnesium body and so on. Everything worked just fine and was functional. Less the abovementioned controller... but then again, I expect that error to be software-related.

    Weakness:

    Slow AF, software errors, everything I've mentioned in the general description. And, again, too soft images...

    I've been used the MKII for more than a year, as it was part of the photo kit I've been given by the newspaper I work with. Contrary to my expectations (I was the owner of a 10d back then) I've had problems with focusing, which really was too soft. No matter what we were working on, it never produced the crisp clear images we were expecting from it (them, as a mattter of fact, as we were using 3 MKII bodies at that time).

    After some 6-7000 exposures a strange incident occured - 50% of the times the camera was powered on, the upper controller (which I had set for Tv) stopped working. It was a matter of turning the camera off, wait 2-4 seconds then turn it back on in order to restore the controller's function. Strangely, the portrait mode controller replicated on the other handle never did that. Frustrating, to say the least of it.

    Another major issue of the camera was concerning the use of IS pro lenses. I've tried the 400/2.8 IS and the 70-200/2.8 IS. Whenever the stabilizer was set to ON, the mirror jammed and the camera was displaying an error message (I apologize for not recalling the exact code, but it was an "Err XX" nevertheless.) It happened to all IS pro lenses I've tried on it, mine or colleagues', it didn't really matter. No problems without the stabilizer on, or with similar lenses without IS, though.

    Finally, the AF system itself was too d***slow for, say, soccer or rally. It could work well for a fashion show, but soccer, hell, no. Especially in artificial light, since most of the soccer games were held at night on artificially - lighted stadiums. Keepers, yes, I've had them at a rate of 30%. It's a pity considering the total no. of exposures guaranteed by the manufacturer, and a waste as well - the shutter doesn't last forever.

    Similar Products Used: 10d, 20d, D30, D60, Kodak DCS620, Kodak D2000
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    DarioG   Professional [Jan 19, 2004]
    Strength:

    Build quality - brick Fastest AF Low light AF is superb Great high iso work better than D1X or D2H Great L lenses 1.3 crop - Better wide angle Fast pix saveing

    Weakness:

    Heavy Dust on ccd Heavy No cmos Heavy Longer start up time than Nikons Heavy Different shutter butons h/v Heavy Biger than Nikons Heavyer than Nikons

    As agency photographer I need fast camera with mere than 3M. So this is fastest camera. And is much, much better than any Nikon I worked with. P.S. I work with 17-40/4L, 70-200/2.8L, 85/1.8

    Customer Service

    None

    Similar Products Used: Nikon D1, Nikon D1x
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    weye   Professional [Nov 18, 2003]
    Strength:

    Dynamic range, 8 fps, large sensor, first class body, thumbwheel, lenses!!

    Weakness:

    AF selection is complicated, Light on-off is better on nikon (especially with flash on)

    I bought the 1D after two years of Nikon D 1 (X,H) use. The reason whas that Nikon seems to stay with their APS-size sensors. When I saw the first images on my screen I was rarher disapointet - compared to the nikon they looked poor in color and contrast. In fact this is the greatest advantige against nikon. These pictures are great for beeing treated with photoshop - much better than the nikons are. The dynamic range of the canon is far better - so your not always forced to use a flash - like it was with the nikons

    Customer Service

    very fast, but sometimes a problem to get a replace body

    Similar Products Used: Canon 60 D, Nikon D 1 XH
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    deanfoto   Professional [May 07, 2002]
    Strength:

    Bulit like a brick! Well balanced and shoots like the 1V. I can go on for an hour.

    Weakness:

    After shooting all day on one charge with the D30 the battery life of the 1D is a bit of a weakness. Also I liked the screen zoom feature on the D30, the 1D has no screen zoom. I enjoyed editing the D30''s shots on my projection screen with its video output, the 1D has no video output. Also I wish the 1D had a moncrome black and white function like the Nikon D1. Overall the camera has very little weaknesses.

    I just recieved my Canon 1D two weeks ago. I have taken the camera on 3 assignments putting it to the test against my 1V film camera. I have found that the 1D is the same camera as the 1V and the digital quality is almost like film. I shoot mostly events and people and what can I say about the shutter frame advance at 8 frames per second its amazing. I have found the color to be perfect and you can change the shooting color to your specific shooting type which I found very usefull. I droped over 3K for the D30 when it was first introduced so $5K is not too bad for what you get. For the DCS users out there im sure you can apreciate the value since alot of you spent over $15,000 for the DCS 520 a few years back which is half the quality of the 1D. If you have invested in Canon glass and want a pro digicam this is the one!

    Customer Service

    Canon CPS is world class!!!

    Similar Products Used: Kodak DCS 520 Kodak DCS 560 Kodak DCS 3c Canon D30
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Jeff Toorish   Professional [Apr 22, 2002]
    Strength:

    The auto focus is just magnificent. It is rock solid, no question about it. Very high quality images. Just about every function imaginable. Works with the rest of the Canon system. Virtually no buffer. Fast, precise shooting with a great burst rate for a digital.

    Weakness:

    Banding problem. No focus check option. Noise, especially at higher ISOs and the fix has its own problems. It''s very heavy, although that''s understandable. A little difficult to negotiate some menus and functions.

    Let me begin by saying I think this is a terrific imaging tool. Canon certainly set a supreme goal for themselves and by and large they have met that challenge. I predict this camera will become the professional standard bearer for a long time to come. It handles and shoots like a dream. It''s relatively intuitive, although some of its functions seem a bit hidden. You will have to spend some quality time with the manual as well as just playing around to see how things work but remeber, this is a professional tool, not some ''prosumer'' camera designed for the masses. In all honesty, I have never used a camera with such precise and fast auto-focus...and it is dead on just about every shot. One of my first shoots with the 1D was in a dusty sub-basement, and I mean the dust was flying everywhere. I used it coupled with a 550EX flash and I never had a concern about dust getting into the mechanism. I would have been very concerned with just about any other camera. Canon has done an excellent job creating a truly top-notch professional digital camera and they deserve real praise. However, having said all that, I will also say I am not quite as impressed with this camera as I thought I would be. (Forget about how long I and others had to wait to get one of these things!) I wish I could give it four and a half stars on overall rating but that''s not possible. I''m giving it four because I just can''t give it five. There are a few things about the 1D that Canon should have worked out before getting this camera into the hands of pros. There is a banding problem as has been mentioned by other reviewers. There is also a noise problem for which Canon has posted a fix. But that fix also effectively reduces the effective ISO range of the Camera. I consider that a pretty expensive solution for a lot of shooters. The lack of a focus check (like the one on the D30) is really inexcusable. I understand that they wanted to cram every conceivable feature into their flagship camera, but some of the menus and playback functions are not as intuitive as they might be. Although I love this camera, and it will be my primary shooting tool for a long time (probably more than one of them, in fact) I have to say the final images are just not quite as breathtaking as the images from my D30. Make no mistake, they are spectacular images, but the D30''s images had a certain smooth, almost bu

    Customer Service

    Not yet, hopefully never.

    Similar Products Used: Nikon 315 Canon EOS D30
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    danrhiggins   Intermediate [Apr 20, 2002]
    Strength:

    Autofocus. Durability. Features. Ease of Use. Resolution/picture quality. Flexibility/customization.

    Weakness:

    LCD difficult to use in sunlight. Very slow in delivering Windows XP compatible TWAIN driver for 1394. (I must use a CF Card Reader.)

    Wow. This is my first digital camera. For the past 2 years I have been using the EOS 3 and the Elan 7. I primarily shoot for my son''s soccer teams. I was blowing through $400-$500 in film and developing each season. And discarding two thirds of the pictures. Now I shoot twice the number of frames per game and keep two thirds! And with easy of computer editting I can crop in close for GREAT action shots. I enjoyed the EOS 3 but this camera is even more solid. And very similar to the EOS 3. Autofocus (AI Servo, Automatic point selection) is great. Maybe 5-10% of the shots have focus issues. Far less than my attempts to use Eye Control on the EOS 3. Autoexposure (partial) is great as well although I must admit I shoot RAW and usually adjust the exposure on the computer. Fast! 8 fps is awesome. I usually only shoot bursts of 4-5 but the speed is great. Resolution is excellent as well. I often crop out 30-40% of the frame and the pictures still look super on a 17-inch 1280x1024 display or printed with an Epson 820 printer. Shooting High School soccer is tough but this camera is definitely up to it. (It also helps that my real job can fund my hobby.)

    Customer Service

    When I queries about the Win XP driver that was supposed to be out 1Q02 I received a rather curt reply that the current software should work. Right.

    Similar Products Used: EOS 3. Elan 7e
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    sfa   Expert [Apr 03, 2002]

    I am little bit disappointed by the performance. From the first day I noticed the banding problem which is really disturbing for the price of the camera. I installed the new firmware and no improvement. Canon support says I have to send it back as there is some hardware fixing needs to be done.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Available At:
    Dave   Expert [Apr 03, 2002]

    I am little bit disappointed by the performance. From the first day I noticed the banding problem which is really disturbing for the price of the camera. I installed the new firmware and no improvement. Canon support says I have to send it back as there is some hardware fixing needs to be done.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Showing 1-10 of 27  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com