Nikon F6 35mm SLRs

Available At:
F6

A flagship film camera that seamlessly blends cutting-edge new technologies and uncompromising craftsmanship to offer film enthusiasts the finest shooting experience an SLR camera can offer. Multi-CAM200 11-area AF system

  • i-TTL flash metering
  • Newly refined 3D Color Matrix Metering system
  • DuPont KEVLAR and special aluminum alloy shutter unit
  • Sound and vibration tested for quieter operation
  • Die-cast aluminum chassis with magnesium front, top, and bottom
  • 41 Custom Settings

  • User Reviews (13)

    Showing 1-10 of 13  
    YOCHANAN D. JOHN   Professional [Sep 22, 2009]
    Strength:

    this camera does not feel bulky at all , perhaps because it is not. the finger grip is perfect and is helped by the surface texture.the f 6 is a marvel of features and technology in the hands of the serious photographer who thrives for the very best in photography.

    Weakness:

    ONE MAJOR DISSATISFACTION : the focus mode selector ! same problem on the
    f 4s. this lever has NO LOCK (as in several of the other controls ).it can easily be shifted by accident e.g. single to continous.
    how can this simple matter be missed by nikon beats me. the techs at nikon in huntington sujest that i use duct tape ! yes on my $ 2000 + nikon f 6 ...
    i am hoping that someone would call me with a "fix" for this problem .

    for 40 years i've used mainly nikon cameras for : airscape,seascape, landscape,micro / macro,flora / fauna and of course human subjects. i started off with and still have the nikon s2 rangefinder.i still have and use the f 3 and the f 4s.i almost did not buy the f6 because i reasoned that there might not be much more room for improvement on film cameras !
    upon purchasing the f 6 i was pleasant surprised within minutes !
    i continue to be impressed with this magnificent film camera.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    William Kazak   Professional [Nov 17, 2007]
    Strength:

    AF is fantastic. Viewing is very nice.

    Weakness:

    Battery life of CR120A battery pair.

    This is the ultimate film camera. The AF is absolutely fantastic. The viewing screen is so large that you have to adjust yourself to looking at the entire viewing image instead of just half of it which you normally get with a non pro camera viewing screen.
    The camera controls are in the right places and intuitive to Nikon users.
    I use rechargeable CR120A batteries. Nevertheless, I can only get up to six rolls thru the camera with two of those rechargable batteries. I bought the external grip to use AA batteries whenever necessary but it makes the camera bigger.
    This camera makes you want to forget about shooting digital.

    Customer Service

    Not necessary.

    Similar Products Used: F3, F100, Nikon D70s.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Gary   Expert [Jul 14, 2007]

    Ah, likely the last Nikon professional level film camera. Added one to the "fleet" here and like every other F series, there are good and bad points.

    The Good

    -No more shutter release lock

    -Rubber armor is attached better than the F5

    -True 8 fps with lithium batteries

    -Less dust in viewfinder with fixed housing.

    The Bad

    -Selector button for motor drive speed is much too easy to inadvertently change

    -CPU failure in Nikkor 28-70mm lens fried AF computer in F6. $700+ to fix!

    -Shutter release lock button on MB-40 too easy to move

    All in all, Nikon gets a solid "A" for this camera. With an AF-S lens, it offers spectacular performance. Highly recommended.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    Shawn Mielke   Beginner [Apr 06, 2006]
    Strength:

    100% viewfinder (gorgeous!)
    data imprint in between frames
    spot metering capabilities
    dampened mirror vibration
    accepts most Nikkors (and now Zeiss!)
    just the fact that it was released at all!
    marvelous clarity of design

    Weakness:

    Nothing serious, but then I am not an experienced professional.

    The switch for the manual, singleAF, and Continuous AF can somewhat easily be moved accidently; form the habit of checking it as you go.

    Unless I'm mistaken, body does not accpet rechargeable batteries (w/o battery grip).

    Nikon does not make fast, high perfomance wide angle primes for it.

    I felt this camera needed a little more praise, so here it is. The F6 is a stunning instrument, in terms of speed and also design, layout, and build. Nothing we haven't heard before about this camera perhaps but it's all so true. It instills pure confidence to go out into the real world and make art, digital be dam**d.

    Similar Products Used: none
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    jimmykjimmy   Professional [Dec 17, 2005]
    Strength:

    Well built. Custom modes for greater flexibility. Instant auto focus and this can be varied depending on where the subject is.

    Weakness:

    None

    I was at first apprehsive about buying another film camera. But the F6 appealed to me and the first reviews were great. The question is why spend so much on a film camera when i could have had another digital? Film cameras in my opinion are very reliable. You can peel of shot after shot and don't have to worry about buffer fatique. The F6 handles this very well. It feels so good in my hands just like a professional camera should. The autofocus is great and the LCD on the rear panel is standout quality. The custom modes are very flexible, I can't say enough good things about this camera.

    Customer Service

    Have not had to use and probably never will have to in the near future.

    Similar Products Used: Nikon F100
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    William Kazak   Professional [Aug 18, 2005]
    Strength:

    Fast and accurate autofocus,better than F100 or D70.Menu is all you could ask for.The viewfinder is unbelievably great;bright and large.Meter and focus area is just super.

    Weakness:

    The extra motor drive is cheaply made.Does not feel tight onto the F6 and has a hair trigger to it when coupled to the F6.I wish the F6 used just AA style batteries,so I would not need or want the extra motor drive.As it is,the F6 shoots very fast.

    I love this camera.Calumet has a credit card promo so I bought the F6 with a motor drive and a slightly used 180mm F2.8 autofocus lens.This camera exceeds all expectations.It is the best film camera Nikon has ever produced.Solid,yet light and well balanced without the motor drive.The 180 is a pleasure to work with on this camera as the balance is very nice while holding the lens barrel with the other hand.Film is still king. I got into autofocus a couple of years ago with a used F100.The autofocus ability of this camera is far superior;more accurate,faster and good in low light with at least a 2.8 autofocus lens. If you want the best from Nikon-this is it!

    Customer Service

    Not needed.

    Similar Products Used: Nikon F3, Nikon F100,Nikon D70 and Nikon D70-s.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    james231176   Intermediate [Jul 08, 2005]
    Strength:

    (1) Many Custom Functions. (2) Awsome rear screen (3) Excellent user menu display/resolution (4) viewfinder is a dream !!! (5) Self Diagnostic shutter so precise and so mechanically perfect in acoustics!!! (6) heavy and built so solid - its an animal (7) Rubber sealed in rear film door, battery door (thats all i can see at this point, but apparently is sealed same as D2X) (8) Nikon and F6 actaully Embossed not just printed into the body (9) Feels so ergonomically perfect with all lens i use most 50mm f1.8d, 24-120 vr afs, 300f4 afs. (10) SUPERRRRRRRRR SONIC FASSSSTtttt "autofocus" same as D2x....what a dreammmmmm (11) 11 focus points !!! excellent tracking - ridiculously accurate

    Weakness:

    none, this is the best body in the world. there are no faults at this level. The best cameras are not MADE IN JAPAN for nothing

    Ill tell you what, i purchase nearly every new camera (PRO stuff) thats ever been out, from Canon EOS3, and IvhS, to the latest d70S DSLR, to even a EOS 1D Mark 2.....But "NEVER" and i mean "NEVER" have i experienced such JOY when just holding a camera !! Some may be saying why has he gone from digital back to film, ....GLAD YOU ASKED :-) !!! To me only, and in my eyes digital is such a waste of time at the momment, they are like computers when we first had computers, everyone wanted one we all got them and everyweek (even to date) they are being updated and superseeded by something better. No matter if your a PRO or someone like me who just likes the latest and newest gear, digital simply wont stack up until it thins out and the big brands stop at a certain point. Regardless noithing sounds quite like a film shutter !! this thing sounds so damm precise and so mechanically sound. To be honest i am just so sick and tired of the processing involved with digital cameras. Its taking the skill and fun away from composing that awsome shot !! because deep down we know that we can setup the camera for ANY situation i personally just dont find it as much fun as film. With film you have to judge more, digital you dont. Anyway back to the story....Nikon have excelled beyond the F5 i believe. They have made a better F5 into a smaller package that doesnt need some HUGE battery pack (aka F5). Its just a dream it really is, and there are so many custom functions !!!

    Customer Service

    Maxwell in OZ arent the brightest with knowledge, Canon pro services are number 1 with service. but hey Nikon make a killer PRO film body and i like it so (F) the service i reckon. its never gonna break.

    Similar Products Used: Nikon d70, d70s, d2h, f80, f75, f401....Canon Eos30, Eos3, Eos 1d mk2.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    John M.   Professional [Jun 10, 2005]
    Strength:

    Super fast and accurate autofocus, the metering system is dead on, whisper quiet operation, bright viewfinder, rugged build lightweight, comfortable ergonomics and long battery life.

    Weakness:

    Cost ( a bit expensive ) need the optional battery grip to get a vertical shutter release.

    Let me start by saying WOW! I shoot mostly weddings and events. This camera has been great for me. If it wasn't so expensive I would most likely have more than two. I typically shoot anywhere from 40 to 60 rolls of film per wedding. With my F5 or F100's I would be changing batteries for every wedding, With the F6 I have been able to shoot 2 to 3 weddings per battery change. With it's top notch autofocus and metering systems, I feel very confident that my proofs are going to look the best they can be. In my line of work, having a camera system that is quiet, fast, rugged, reliable and very accurate is a huge plus! The Nikon F6 fits all those descriptions. I was just as surprised as the next person when I heard that Nikon was introducing a new flagship 35mm camera, I'm sure glad they did. I applaud Nikon for creating a superb tool for us film photographers.

    Customer Service

    Just had to have my dropped 20-35 2.8 zoom lens repaired. Nikon USA did a very good job of returning it to factory spects. Although it did take them 5 weeks to get it back to me.

    Similar Products Used: Nikon F100, F5, N90s, Fm3a, F3, F2
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    michael james   Professional [May 24, 2005]
    Strength:

    Quality build. Lighter than the F5.

    Weakness:

    Chews through batteries pretty quick. The MB40 (is made in CHINA....uuuugh!)is a bit "tinny" Come on Nikon...you have produced a great film camera (made in Japan) but the MB40 appears to have slipped passed the quality control in your China plant.The locking nut, especially, is loose even after the unit is secured to the camera body. This MB40 cost me $A635 and I think it was probably made for $A150 or cheaper in China.This is my only disappointment.

    Had to replace my well used F5 so I opted for the New F6 as I am not a digital convert(yet). Used the F6 with a 28-70 2.8AFS and a 80-200 2.8 AFS, with good results. No problem with the camera including using it for flash photography with a Metz CT60 outfit. Metering was good with no significant over or under exposure. The camera felt comfortable.

    Customer Service

    None.........YET, I hope!

    Similar Products Used: Nikon F5, F90 and F100
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    Mike.Palmer   Expert [Mar 14, 2005]
    Strength:

    Its got a quiet shutter but the mirror mechanism is noisy so negates this feature. It's quite compact and fits the hand well.

    Weakness:

    None when/if it works

    I was so looking forward to owning this camera. It has been a massive disappointment. Firstly there was an issue with a mark on the shutter which Nikon UK was in denial about but when it came back no mark????????? Now it is back with them as it seems to have a flash sync/flash metering problem. It seems I have a very bad one but Nikon UK are so arrogant that they simply can't believe anyone would criticise or be disatisfied with their product. Let's just hope I am one on my own.

    Customer Service

    I am disappointed with the service I receive from Nikon UK. I hope you guys in the USA fare better.

    Similar Products Used: Canon EOS 1v
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-10 of 13  
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com