Nikon N55 35mm SLRs

Available At:
N55

Nikon’s smallest and lightest 35mm SLR provides superior performance in a classic Nikon design with buttons and dials conveniently placed to facilitate use

  • Exposure: Vari-Program, Program, Aperture Prioity, Shutter Priority, Manual, and Exposure Compensation
  • Flash: Built-in Speedlight or hotshoe

  • User Reviews (18)

    Showing 1-10 of 18  
    Matthew   Beginner [Feb 19, 2012]
    Strength:

    Great quality!

    Weakness:

    None so far!

    I found this camera at Savers in toledo! I have been wanting a camera like this one for a while now! I was so excited to see this one for $30.00!!! I love it so far, i already feel like a professional!!!

    Although i am a beginner, i do feel like i can give a good review! I love this camera, and expect great pictures from it!

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    BobV   Beginner [Nov 19, 2007]
    Strength:

    easy to used

    Weakness:

    It didn't last long waste of money. had it repair. only lasted a few rolls of film.
    Have a good day

    Work untill it died nikon never told us they would fix it found out from a camera repair place Nikon repair it didn't last long. I don't nikon any more. hate to lose my lens but need to buy from someone else.

    Customer Service

    Didn't let me know I could have it repaired I don't trust Nikon

    Similar Products Used: Cannon still works
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    RichardKarash   Expert [May 26, 2005]
    Strength:

    Light weight. Good looking. Fine photographs. Very good camera for travel photography.

    Weakness:

    If you mount a modern external flash, even a Nikon flash, you are limited to the 1970's style "sensor auto-flash". No TTL. No auto balanced fill flash. It turns your expensive SB-28 into a $50 generic flash. If you have any intent to use an external flash, buy an N65 instead.

    This is a fine camera for those who want a step above a point & shoot. Lacks some controls experts would want. In particular, it has very poor support for an external flash.

    Similar Products Used: Nikon N65, N90s, FE-2, F-2, 6006.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Available At:
    paolodes   Expert [Apr 03, 2005]
    Strength:

    Lightweight. Price.

    Weakness:

    AF sudddenly dead at 4th roll of film. This seems to be a common problem on N55. Very disappointed.

    Bad experience

    Similar Products Used: None
    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    John Seymour   Intermediate [Jan 16, 2005]
    Strength:

    Good camera for the price.

    Weakness:

    Service was terrible. Nikon kept my camera for 4 months. I gave up waiting and exchanged for a Canon Rebel.

    This camera developed a problem six months after purchase where the batteries would drain almost overnight with the camera turned off. After 4 months waiting for Nikon to repair, I gave up and bought a Canon instead.

    Customer Service

    The worst I've seen from any manufacturer. If you buy this camera, pray it doesn't break.

    Similar Products Used: Canon Rebel K2
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Available At:
    Dave001   Casual [Aug 06, 2004]
    Strength:

    A well rounded product. Well built and reliable way of taking quality photo's

    Weakness:

    As above, nothing serious though.

    This is a nice camera, and I get good results with it most of the time. I think it is really well built for the price, and its also easy to use, unless you want to tinker in full manual mode, which you probably don't if you've bought this camera. My only reservations are the following three... 1 - I don't tend to have much luck with the autofocus. Yes, I know its probably my own fault, but I do get more out of focus shots than I feel I ought to ( see point 3 ). In fact for the last few rolls I have been fully in manual focus mode, which I'm finding a rather pleasant experience, particularly since swapping out the kit 28-80 lens for a 50mm 1.8D 2 - I wish there was a manual switch/lever on the camera for flash on/off/auto. I know most camera's don't have this, but it doesn't stop me wanting it.... Just picture the scene, you have a lovely shot framed, your subject is relaxed, and you've forgottem to disable to flash when you turned your camera on...POP, ups comes the flash when the shutter is half pressed...opportunity missed.. 3 - My 35mm Olympus Stylus Epic/mju II takes just as good photo's - and the autofocus works better.

    Similar Products Used: Minolta X300
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    April Sisson   Beginner [Dec 27, 2003]
    Strength:

    Great up close shots, lightweight, and easy for point and shoot"great auto focus"

    Weakness:

    I dont like that the lens cap isnt attached to the camera body by a cord or string.

    First of all buying this camera is not going to make you into a pro overnight even thought it does take really good photos. It is a good point and shoot camera but also has alot of exposure modes I still havent figured out exactly how to use at the right times.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    Matt_OSU   Beginner [Dec 07, 2003]
    Strength:

    -Lens -Light -Easy to use

    Weakness:

    -Flash that pops up too much if we forget to lock it. -LCD not backlight -The plastic hood for the lens should have been attached to the camera by a wire. (it is easy to drop it...!) -CR2 batteries...

    I bought this camera while I was on a trip to Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon. I was amazed by its weight and features. The lens provided (28-80mm) is a really interesting feature for a first time camera. I do not like the fact that the flash pops-up almost anytime, but the user can lock the flash so it does not get activated all as soon as the light disappears. Overall it is an easy camera to use, it only took me a couple of pictures to know how to handle "the beast". I recommend it to all beginners. At such an attractive price, and for the features available, it is the perfect match for people like me.

    Similar Products Used: none, this one is unique :)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    shane shippy   Intermediate [Oct 08, 2003]
    Strength:

    Easy to use, Light weight, excellnt quallity of picture's.

    Weakness:

    Having a hard time focsing at night time. Wont take far picture's at night but takes good close up pictures with an extra light.

    I just bought the Nikon N55. I really like the camara. I've been using a underwater camara but, some of the picture's I have taking of wildlife up in the mountians, just beat my underwater photography.

    Customer Service

    GOOD.

    Similar Products Used: Cannon, good cammra but needs more fetures. Grate for beginer. Also I use the Sea Life underwater cammra. Very good camra. Takes good photos over 100ft.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    mauenlee   Beginner [Aug 11, 2003]
    Strength:

    nikkor lens... price... very light...

    Weakness:

    very light...

    this is a great starter camera for those who wants to get into photography... it has all the features that a beginner would want, but can still afford... i highly recommend any novice who wants to get into SLRs to start with this camera... and it comes with a nikkor lens... i take it hiking everywhere... it is very light and great for that purpose... however, it is so light that for other purposes, it might be so light that it is harder to keep steady...

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 18  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com