Sigma SA7 35mm SLRs

Sigma SA7 35mm SLRs 

DESCRIPTION

  • 3 Metering Systems (8-Segment Evaluative Metering, Area Metering, Average Metering).
  • Preview Function to confirm depth of field
  • 30 - 1/2000 sec shutter speed range

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 13  
    [Sep 13, 2004]
    Harry van Veen
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    ergonomics, load of features, cheap, good sigma lens-array,

    Weakness:

    Not the fastest auto-focus around. Minor: Only 1/2000 shutter speed and 1/90 flash-sync.

    ( My purchase included the sa-7n quartz-date body and Sigma 28-70 2.8/4.0 High Speed Zoom and postage) In short: The greatest value for money one can get! Because of the excellent intuïtive ergonomics, the numerous options are just so very easy to use! Depth of field, AE-lock, mirror-UP, autobracketing, multiple exposure, infra-red remote-control etc. etc. it's all just one or two switches/buttons away. This makes the sigma sa-7 an ideal camera for newbies as well as experienced photograpers. It's a camera which invites you in a very pleasent way to explore the broad posibilities of modern photography. There are no fancy pict-programs as with the budget-canons. But i find those very annoying and mystifying. I know people who still don't know what they're actually doing after years of using those pic-settings. Especially in combination with the (metal-bayonet!)High Speed Zoom this camera focusses extremely fast and accurate. In minimal light conditions the autofocus sometimes hunts a bit, but no more than other slr's I've used. But i agree there are better AF-SLR's As with all autofocus cameras though, much of the autofocus-speed depends heavily on the lens ans it's maximum aperture. This High Speed Zoom with it's 2.8-4.0 aperture truely makes this Sigma a very good performer. The body is light en compact, well designed and built and handles well (even with my bigger hands).

    Customer Service

    Not needed for his camera. Other experiences very positive!

    Similar Products Used:

    Sigma sa-300n, Canon 300, Canon 300v, Nikon F50

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Mar 29, 2004]
    borislav
    Casual

    Strength:

    inexpensive, feature-rich, simple operation, comfortable handling

    Weakness:

    sometimes the auto focus does not lock at the first try in low light

    The following comments refer to Sigma SA-7 with 28-70/2.8-4 HSZ lens. The intended purpose of that photo camera is to allow control over the picture-taking process, since the affordable P&S cameras are really poor in that area. Other options in that class were Nikon F/N75 (the grip was too small even for my wife's hands), Canon EOS Rebel Ti/300V (kit with a 28-90 - a lens that is not regarded well), Minolta Dynax/Maxxum 5 (felt flimsy, with gaps between the shell parts ). Impressions: The operation is very simple. The camera feels like a tool - ant it is indeed a marvellous photographic tool! The focusing is fast in day light and can be slow in low light with low contrast targets. I got very good photos of landing aircrafts. The photos come out well exposed (in auto). I like to manually setup the camera unless I am in a hurry. To me, the lack of picture modes indicates that Sigma regards its customers as intelligent and interested people. By covering parts of the DX code on the film canister with tape, the camera can be cheated to make 38 exposures with 36-exp. film. The bundled batteries were sufficient for 8 or 9 rolls of 36-exp. film. I expect that the new ones I bought will be more durable. The optical remote works from the front of the camera, and is OK. The sound of the camera in action is a pleasant one.

    Customer Service

    Have not needed it yet.

    Similar Products Used:

    Canon EOS Rebel, borrowed

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Nov 18, 2003]
    Orlando John
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Price. Excellent quality of Sigma lenses. Can use camera almost immediately without even reading the manual.

    Weakness:

    Locked-in to very expensive Sigma lenses. Lack of back-lit LCD information panel. Positioning of AEL button.

    After a lot of reading online and buying magazine after magazine and reading reviews and looking at features, I bought the SA-7, accompanied by two Sigma lenses; a 28-80 and a 70-300. For $300 this camera simply can't be beaten - a body & two lenses all for less than a middle-of-the-range Canon? Bargain! The lenses are initially a bit 'sticky' as you zoom in and out, but this loosens up a lot with use (although it doesn't disappear completely). I've had this camera for about 4-6 months now and have shot about 100 rolls through it and have no major complaints about it. The exposure system is pretty good for such a budget camera, although you can get great results if you use the Shutter and Aperture options yourself instead of relying on the computer. Almost all controls are easy to get to and easy to remember, apart from the location of the bracketing and AEL buttons, which are located right on the very back of the camera behind the shutter release. Unless you are a contortionist it's very awkward and annoying to use these - after a week of shooting in places like Death Valley and Mt Rainier where you have to constantly over or under exposure shots you soon learn to hate these buttons placements! Auto-focus is good, but a bit slow on the uptake on moving objects, when needed in a hurry or if something is sitting against a background. I missed a shot of a Golden Eagle sitting 4 feet away from me in the middle of a desert eating a huge jack-rabbit due to the autofocus 'hopping' in and out and trying to get a cactus behind it. By the time I'd switched to manual it'd flown away and I only got it's butt. I'll NEVER forgive Sigma for that! I was very disappointed to learn that I am stuck buying Sigma lenses, as they are very pricey (although clarity on the ones I have is great), but the package I bought makes the sigma ideal as a learners camera, and then relegate it to a 'back up' once you improve (which is what I'm saving up to do now). Basically if you can't afford a Canon, Nikon or Minolta body and want a light-weight, well put together camera that has a host of features, this is the one for you.

    Customer Service

    Never needed to use them yet.

    Similar Products Used:

    Olympus OM-10.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Sep 24, 2003]
    Dan
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Excellent instrument for beginners and amateurs. Esp students of photography. Huge arsenal of inexpensive but great-quality lenses. Intuitive features. Ergonomics. Build quality and finish.

    Weakness:

    Would love more shutter speeds. Wish more expensive third party lenses would fit.

    Perfect amateur photography package. Picked it up at B&H b/c came with two lenses. I also own a Nikon N80, Nikon FM10, F3, F5. The Sigma is my favorite all-rounder. Love the styling... not as dated as most of the Nikons. Much better build quality and ergonomics than comparable Minolta, Canon, Contax, and Pentax. Lenses are absolutely fantastic for price range - very easy to assemble a formidable collection. Not as pretty as Carl Zeiss or Hasselblad... but then again, what is? Found my Sigma lenses gave much better results than most, if not all, my Nikon Nikkor lenses. Sigma SA-9 gives not many more features, but also a good buy.

    Similar Products Used:

    Nikon N80, F3, FM10, F5, Canon EOS 1V, Canon Elan VII

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Sep 18, 2003]
    David Smith
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Price. Ergonomics -- in all modes. 'Pro'-features: DOF preview, mirror lockup, eyepiece diopter, multiple exposure, mid-roll rewind. Build and finish qualities (if you don't mind plastic). Weight (an excellent reason to not mind plastic!). Picture quality from consumer lenses is very good when stopped down. Pro-quality lenses are also available (at a fraction of 'name' mfg. offerings)

    Weakness:

    Probable fragility Noisy film advance Single-point AF

    NOTE: Price above is for a kit with 2 zoom lenses. BACKSTORY: I have been using an old manual SLR (Rollei SL35) for nearly thirty years, but it is partially crippled due to various mishaps including a salt water dunking twenty years ago. It has parts that need constant tightening in the field so they don't fall off. My wife has been wanting to learn how to handle an SLR for several years as she is unsatisfied with the limitations and quality of a series of point & shoots, but in fairness I did not want her to attempt to learn on this crippled old beast (perhaps killing it outright in the process). Soooo.... Last spring I/we began shopping around for a new camera. In my limited prior experience, used SLRs seemed very overpriced seeings how they seldom come with a warranty over 90-days, if any. I began comparison shopping among the various entry-level SLRs, which offer similar features; all-auto with a subset of manual features. I needed a body that offered full manual control and a few 'high-end' bells & whistles -- notably DOF preview that are lacking on some of the entry-level models. This is where the Sigma SA-7 came into my radar. /END OF BACKSTORY The2-zoom lens bundle offered by B&H (and several competitors) clinched it for me. I was determined to get a usable focal range with the body, and 28 -- 300 is very usable for 90% of my needs. We took possession of the kit at the end of June, and have shot ~50-60 rolls of 400 ASA consumer color neg film in it alongside the old Rollei and its 28mm & 50mm primes, and Vivitar 70-210. I'm very happy with the ergonomics of the Sigma gear in all modes, auto and manual. The build quality and finish are excellant except for a sticky zoom on the 70-300. I am not disappointed with the optics of the two consumer zooms either, whcih (I gather from some technical reviews) are quite respectable in their class. I do love the light weight of it (the entire kit weighs about as much as the Rollei and a single prime). Everything has worked reliably and precisely, yielding roll after roll after roll of perfect exposures, mainly relying on the matrix metering, sometimes area metering and sometimes using exposure compensation. I've never used AF before, so I have nothing to compare it to. Various reviews I've read say that the Sigma single-point AF system 'ain't the best', and I believe them. I basically leave it turned off (the lenses work perfectly well in manual mode). Another, minor quibble is with the noisiness of the film advance. Finally I have also read of some concerns about the fragility of this nearly all-plastic gear. I have treated the Sigma gear very carefully because of this. In particular I don't expect the lenses to have a long lifespan, or much resale value. But it's so cheap in the first place -- who cares? The bottom line is that this is an excellent kit for anyone who needs an affordable system that will enable them to get out and shoot with a tremendous focal range on a full-featured SLR, on a budget.

    Customer Service

    Needed to contact for missing IR remote control -- received in three days shipped from Sigma in NYC to eastern Canada.

    Similar Products Used:

    Non-auto SLRs: Rollei, Minolta, Nikon, Olympus (this is the first auto-anything I've tried)

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Aug 12, 2003]
    keith costello
    Casual

    Strength:

    Handling. (Good balance) Features. (Lots) Cost. (Value for money kits) Appearance. (Grained finish excellent) Used Sigma AF fit lenses appear less expensive than Sigma Canon/Nikon fit of the same type. Extensive range of inexpensive Sigma lenses. (Note below)

    Weakness:

    AF not as fast as Canon/Nikon. Would like more choice of shutter speeds i.e 180th, 750th, 1500th. Sigma fit lenses not readily available in UK, pre-order only. Optional battery pack would be nice.

    Always liked the appearance of the SA7, so I read the reviews and decided to try one. The camera felt 'right' as soon as I handled it, the controls are easy to use and have a 'quality' feel. The no fuss LCD screen provides all the relevant information needed. Metal lens mount better than plastic types. Teamed camera with 28-200mm lens with great results. Enjoyed SA7 so much I bought a second with 24-70mm lens for wider angle shots (I photograph civil and military aircraft) at airshows. Added 28-300mm lens and 400mm telephoto to my outfit to extend range. I have bought a tripod to try the mirror lock up mode on night shots and use the exposure +/- when using lenses fitted with a circular poloriser. I use the SA7 for every day photography even though I also have Canon and Nikon equipment. I enjoy using the SA7's and would recommend them to anyone as an entry level SLR, easy to use, light, compact, good frames per second for camera type, RC facility - try one for yourself.

    Customer Service

    Not required

    Similar Products Used:

    Canon EOS 55/33/IX Nikon F65 Sigma SA9

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Aug 01, 2003]
    Tim
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Great price, decent body, good control layout, straight forward.

    Weakness:

    auto focus is a little slow. nothing else worth mentioning. You can't be too critical of a $180 slr. It does the job

    Purchased at B&H with the 28-105 lens. Spent a little more for this package, but I wasn't impressed with the 28-80 lens. Have shot one roll. Pictures are good. Autofocus searches like crazy in lower light (regular evening room lighting). That didn't bother me too much b/c it's easy just to switch to manual. Focus is fine outdoors. For the money this is a great camera. I had been shooting with "posh" point and shoots for the past 3 years (ie. leica minilux, rollei afm 35) the picture quality overall is better than those, afterall it is an SLR. Although this camera is "professional style", it's not built like a professional camera. Don't get me wrong, it's pretty solid. Keep in mind it's only 180 bucks. If your looking to get some decent lenses down the line (sigma only) it's a good purchase. The sigma "ex" lenses are quite good I hear. The camera has an "old school" look to it, with the big dials, instead of digital menus etc. It's a very straight up camera body, it's light tight and does the job. Everything else is up to the lens. It's a good purchase, if you want to jump into in SLR and not spend a fortune.

    Customer Service

    haven't used.

    Similar Products Used:

    Canon rebel g, canon ix

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Apr 14, 2003]
    polished
    Expert

    Strength:

    versatile, easy to use, great value for money. A truely professional camera.

    Weakness:

    AF could be faster, but depending on the light and distance maybe I'm too demanding.

    Great entry - intermediate level camera. good finish and some excellent features fo ra camera of this price, Sigma are definitly getting their act together when it comes to cameras their lens second to none and it now looks like their cameras are heading that way also. The picture quality is as good if not better than some of the $3000 + cameras, quite a statement. It's easy to use and even for the unadventorous in photography they can get started taking pictures straight away. Well Done Sigma

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Feb 16, 2003]
    Gavin Jackson
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    2.5fps advance, flash, auto set ISO setting or maual set, ev+-0-3, multiple exposures up to 9, lightweight, many lenses you can choose from, great price, mid roll rewind, great metering systems, many other features check website for more

    Weakness:

    Flsh doesnt pop up you flick it up,i can't think of anything else its incredible

    FRST OF ALL AT B&HPHOTO.COM you can get this camera for $250 with a 28-80 lens great dal. This camera is great for anyone. Like the ad say you get a professional style camera for a great price. I think this camera is very underrated people don't realize how good of a camera sigma can produce they only know the lenses. By the way you get many lenses for your camera you'll never run out. This is one of the best kept secrets this camera you get everything you want in a great camera compared to other entry level cameras this one makes them shrivel back in fear.

    Customer Service

    Never had to use it but everythinig has a one year warranty.

    Similar Products Used:

    I bought a 70-300 sigma zoom for it the lenses are great and very good quality.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Nov 09, 2002]
    birgir
    Professional

    Strength:

    features build, Light, easy to use,

    Weakness:

    Auto focus could be better, it would have helped if Sigma would have left the infrared help light on this camera like the SA5

    I bought the SA 7 from ebay and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The Sigma camera was had all the features I like and were more accessible than my Canon Eos 7. The SA 7 has as fast Auto focus (Sigma 28-80 f3,5-5,6 lens) as the Canon 28-90 f4-5,6 that I had on my EOS 7 when I bought it. There are so many people giving Sigma a bad reputation so I was not sure if I should buy this camera but I do not regret it. The only draw back with the Sigma SA 7 is its Auto focus. It dose hunt a bit and has trouble locking on in low light. Often this can be trouble some if you do not have good light. The SA 5 has a lot better Auto focus system because of the infrared Auto focus aid light. I would definitely say that The Sigma SA 7 with a 28-70 f2,8 lens is a lot better buy then the Canon EOS 300 with a Canon 28-105 f3,5-5,6 lens. Why to I compare these two? Because this outfit would probably cost the same. If you want a good beginners camera then this is the camera and it will grow with you. Now some of you would probably be saying that the Canon has the 7-point Auto focus. I mostly use the center focusing point on my EOS 7 and I often go to manual because in some situations I am more faster working manual then choosing which focusing point to use. The Sigma lenses are good lenses if you spent a little extra money on the more expensive lenses from Sigma you won’t be disappointed.

    Customer Service

    None so far

    Similar Products Used:

    Sigma SA5, Canon EOS 300, Canon EOS 7, Minolta x700, Mamiya 645.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 13  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com