Bronica ETR-Si Medium Format

ETR-Si

4.5x6cm format lens shutter single lens reflex camera, w/interchangeable lens, film back, finder and focusing screen systems.

User Reviews (30)

Showing 1-10 of 30  
BrianL   Intermediate [Jun 26, 2011]
Strength:

I have used the camera for all types of nonprofessional shooting and it has never failed me or skipped a beat. Th elenses are all late MC lenses and are the E series. Very sharp. I've got a 35mm back and using it as 35mm camera, I've gone up against the likes of Nikon, Leica, and Canon in slide competitions and never felt the lenses held me back.

With the speedgrip and AEII metered finder, it feels and handles just like a 35mm slr and is not heaver than a number of totl 35mm cameras and very close to my Olympus E520 DSLR. No a lightweight but, not as heavy as one might expect.

The leaf shutter in lens means if a shutter should freeze while out, all is not lost, just swap lenses. The AE finder is accurate and never failed to dial in quite close to my hand held meter.

Most of the lenses have the same filter size, a big plus as filters, especially polarizers can be quite expensive space takers adding weight in the field.

Weakness:

Only nitpickiing. To change lenses the shutter needs to be wound. I am old school and do not like to store shutters in that state. After all these years, it seems not to have degraded the shutter speed accuracy so not really concerned. The ETRSi that came out later addressed the lack of a mirror lockup in the ETR/ETRS bodies. I have not had any photos where the lack thereof has noticably affected the result but, I always preferred using the lockup feature of my 35mm slrs that had the feature.

The original motor drive is VERY heavy but, this was replaced by 2 later lighter models. Dictates tripod use or a very strong muscular physique. I've used it handheld but it adds oo much weight to want to walk around with it in the field.

The AEII finder has a continious AE measurement, no way to lock an exposure. This means it generally will yield acceptable results but limits its use when wanting to meter on a particular part of the subject matter. Hence, a handheld meter becomes a good friend. The later AEIII has a spot meter while the AEII dies not have this option. I am not sure if the AEIII can lok a reading.

I got my ETRS system in about 1988 in a trade for a fairly extensive 35mm a nd 1.2 frame camera collection wanted by the photo dealer. It was about 6 months old and owned by a son of the owner of a local newspaper. Much of the system was still in original boxes and appeared not used. Since buying it I disposed of almost all my 35mm gear except my Leica CL. With the 35mm back, it covers both film sizes and means no double investment in camera systems and only need to know and understand 1 system.

It feels rock solid and with the modular system, seems to be configurable to just about what anyone could feel comfortable with. MC lenses have been panned by some when compared to the late formulations and competitors lenses but in my experience, the lenses are excellent. Admittedly, I have the later E formulated lenses and none of the earlier MC formulations though my lenses are marked MC.

,

Customer Service

Never needed.

Similar Products Used: Leica CL, Rolleiflex 3.5,
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
hana wood   Casual [May 20, 2008]

great camera. just got it and intend on using it for portraits and landscapes.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
woody   Intermediate [Mar 06, 2005]
Strength:

Affordability, Quality, excellent standard lens, size (small for MF)

Weakness:

No built in meter

Superb camera, the images are sharp and the whole system seems built to last. A very rugged camera that can be counted on to produce excellent results each time.

Customer Service

Skears are a great camera shop with great customer service

Similar Products Used: Mamiya RB67
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
K25   Expert [Aug 18, 2003]
Strength:

Modularity - simplicity - photographer can control every aspect of exposure - lenses and leaf shutters - build quality - concept and execution - good design - weight - available accessories - TTL flash metering - ease of filmback loading - good system of interlocks - multiple exposure - mirror lock up - reliability

Weakness:

Irritations is a more accurate a term - no ISO reminder on film backs (need to use film box lid) - no set place for the dark slide when back is in use - mirror lock up sequence if several images with locked up mirror are to be made.

An outstanding machine in all respects. Robust, Reliable, Simplicity. Uncomplicated image making. It allows the photographer to make images without the mechanism of image making becoming intrusive. Lenses are a dream to use and the images are sharp. The easiest MF camera I have used and also the best. Highly recommended if you want to learn about your own photographic skills and the sunject of photography, generally speaking.

Customer Service

Outstanding! I use Intro 2020 in the UK. Knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Good advice and great service when it was needed.

Similar Products Used: Sinar F2 4x5, Arca Swiss 4x5, De Vere 4x5, Plaubel Makina 67, Kowa 66, Nikon D100, Canon 1D, Nikon F2, F3, FA and FM
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Divie   Intermediate [Jun 23, 2003]
Strength:

Flash sync, metered prism finder

Weakness:

lenses seem flimsy, 150mm lense seems unsharp, mirror shaking is bad.

The whole system has a flimsy feeling. The lenses don't handle very good. They have a cheap feel to them. I liked the metered prism finder. Film backs and polaroid are easy to use. flash sync at any speed is good. It's a decent value for the price but I expected more. The 150mm lense did not seem very sharp. Mirror shaking is a killer

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used: Pentax 645NII
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
fastest   Casual [Dec 22, 2002]
Strength:

Rugged,easy to use,great results,modular,system.

Weakness:

Though the basic camera is cheap,the Lenses and accesories,such as the ae3 prism aren't cheap(the ae2 2nd hand is a much more affordable option)

Having used this camera for a few years now,I can gladly report that it is thoroughly reliable and produces excellent results.Whilst it doesn't have the feel of a super-luxury item,it is a Pro camera system and everything seems built to last.Thoroughly recommended to all who are able to lug the weight of a medium format system about and have the time to get the most out of the system

Customer Service

Introphoto(Uk distributors)have been very helpful in the past-they have sent me photocopied manuals in the post free of charge when I have purchased 2nd hand accesories.

Similar Products Used: Mamiya 645super
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vincent Wong   Expert [Dec 14, 2002]
Strength:

Leaf Shutter

Weakness:

everything, build, quality, craftsmanship, you get what you pay for.

Piece of Crap!!! I owned this camera for 6 months, it seized once, and the gears fell apart while on location. Sold the camera and got a real 2 1/4 system. A Hasselblad. Would recommend to worst enemy.

Similar Products Used: Hassleblad 500c 500cm
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
jbear171   Intermediate [Dec 01, 2002]
Strength:

Price Modular Design Larger film size

Weakness:

I little heavy if you aere used to shooting 35mm, but you get used to it. Besides, whose doctor hasn't told them they need a little exercise?

I purchased my Bronica ETRSi from Ebay.com and I must say that it was severely under priced, but I'm not complaining. I would not call myself a professional, but I have had my experiences with photography. Mostly with 35mm SLRs, but since purchasing my Bronica I have not even picked up my 35mm cameras, save for the couple occasions they were just a little more convenient. After a couple of uses I was pretty well aclimated to the use of this camera and the 6x4.5 format blows 35mm out of the water completely. I have made 11x14 blow-ups of photographs with perfect results. My system includes Bronica ETRSi body, 75mm PE lens, WL viewfinder, 120 film back, and Bronica Speed Grip E, Although I do plan on purchasing and would recommend if you have the money a prism finder and one or two more film backs.

Customer Service

Never needed

Similar Products Used: Canon AE-1 Canon EOS Rebel 2000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Biel   Professional [Jul 24, 2002]
Strength:

professional look whit professional mechanism. 62mm filter for 90% of lenses

Weakness:

no speed priority dumb tiny plastic whit led battery in a side of screen.

La il.lusio per viure!!!! :-) Your ilusion for live!! Bronica wear in my hands and it makes me feel blue!! :-) THE POWER is so far the best global option with a conpromais in height and use all around. I've 1 body, 40, 75, 135, 250 and comming soon fisheye and optional huge 500mm. also 4 backs, only 1 of 220 bronica cul # 1 & 2 polaroid back prism finder + lwf

Customer Service

my prism draind batteries all time, but no problem! shop make a change and goodbye problem!! :-)

Similar Products Used: nothing, only my TOYS canon ae1-p & a1!!
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Hero   Expert [Jun 17, 2002]
Strength:

- modular design - very good and sharp lenses (75 mm + 150 mm) - leaf shutter lenses (flash sync up to 1/500 sec) - backs for 220 film format - Polaroid back - two 35mm-backs (incl. panorama) - good metering results (with AE-II-viewfinder) - different viewfinder screens - reliable and affordable system.

Weakness:

- no transmission of film speeds between back(s) and viewfinder/camera (main weakness!) - mirror lockup - no place to store back plates - AE-III-viewfinder (with spot metering) is too expensive - camera is battery dependant (shutter speeds < 1/500 sec).

This camera (+ PE 75mm, PE 150 mm, AE-II viewfinder, 2 backs, waist-level-finder) was bought at a local dealer. Although I use 35mm-cameras (Nikon FE, F5) for nearly 70 percent of my pictures, the Bronica is a very reliable and affordable way to get the advantages of the medium format photography. The camera is well built and offers a high grade of flexibility due to the modular design (like some other medium format systems). Of course, this system shouldn´t be compared to 35mm-cameras. There is no automation like autofocus lenses, exposure programs or fast metering. The ETRSi (like many other MF cameras) is not the first choice to take action photos (sports...). For these purposes medium format cameras are too slow. But the reliability of the camera and the excellent sharpness of the PE-lenses should be higly recommended if You want to take pictures of landscapes, nature, weddings etc. In the future I´m looking into buying a PE 40 mm and 250 mm and 1 or 2 additional backs.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: Miranda Sensomat RE Miranda Sensorex EE Nikon FE Nikon F3 Nikon F4 Nikon F5 Yashica Mat-124G
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 30  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com