Nikon Lite Touch Zoom 120 ED/QD Point and Shoot

Lite Touch Zoom 120 ED/QD

Pro-quality optics now in a compact camera. Weighing just 7.3 ounces, it's the world's smallest and lightest 35 mm camera with sliding lens cover and 3.2X zoom lens.

User Reviews (47)

Showing 1-10 of 47  
LTP   Casual [Jul 28, 2003]
Strength:

picture quality -> sharp! compact (then)

Weakness:

poor battery consumption no backlit expensive short life (????)

Bought this camera almost 3 yrs ago as a backup and was also used by my wife for candid shots. When we got our photos developed, we were amazed at the quality of the photos (6x4)from this camera ... so sharp! We can hardly distinguish between these photos and the ones taken by my SLR (except for the date imprinted on the photo by this camera). Quite often people at photo labs asked me what camera I used - They didn't seem to believe that the photos were taken by a "P&S" camera. Occasionaly, there were some shots were out of focus - mainly due to the fact that I/my wife did not focus it properly before taking the shots ... FOCUS??? (thought I heard someone said "FOCUS???")... Yes, that's rite it is NOT a "Point & Shoot" camera, you have to aim the little square/rectangle at your subject, press the shutter half way, compose, then take the shot! (advice reading manual!) :-) Now the bad news, 2 days ago when I tried to use it the camera just seized (display panel flashes, grinding noise, lense and flash stuck(?)) It was returned to Nikon for repairs under warranty (3yrs) by the store where it was bought from. I've been told that it'll take approx 3-4 weeks. Until now, after 3 yrs (almost) and having gone through over 100 rolls of film,it would be my top favourite compact camera (film)! But if you're looking for a "compact" camera .... go digital! :-)

Customer Service

Will find out in ~ 3-4 weeks - let you all know then!

Similar Products Used: SureShot Olympus, Minolta, Canon SLRs G5
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Wil   Intermediate [Jun 18, 2003]
Strength:

Lens

Weakness:

Mechanics. Battery life.

One of the worst cameras I have ever owned. I have had tremendous success over the years with two Canon Sure Shots and Nikon SLR. I held high expectations for this point-and-shoot. The high point was the lens of the camera. The low point was its operation, locking-up during tight candid shots (and losing the shots), to the date stamp resetting to 00/00/0000. The camera was sent to Nikon for repairs twice (under warranty). Customer service was good, but the problem never resolved. Nikon should stick with what they do best - lenses and SLR.

Customer Service

Nikon customer service good.

Similar Products Used: Canon Sure Shot.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Rami   Expert [Jun 13, 2003]
Strength:

Sharp lens. Light weight

Weakness:

Failed prematurely.

Although construction seems somewhat poor, the camera took sharp, well-exposed pictures for over two years. Then, all of a sudden, its microprocessor quit, and as the repair bill would have been not far away from the price of a new camera, this one was simply scrapped. This was disappointing, as this was my second case of a Nikon P/S that failed prematurely.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Pentax Espio 115, 140.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Peter   Casual [Jan 26, 2003]
Strength:

Lightweight, easy to operate

Weakness:

The electronics.

This is a Nikon Zoom M 400 QD purchased in 1998 in Hong Kong. We've shot perhaps 20 rolls of film and although I'm not complaining about the quality of the shots, the zoom function quit at a cost of $102. Now the battery goes dead in a week and I'm told that it's going to be another $96 to replace the mother board. Five years, 20 rolls of film it's now garbage. I've received better value from a Bic lighter. Very disappointed!

Customer Service

Nothing special, just following procedure

Similar Products Used: Olympus, Cannon, Kodak Brownie!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Steve Lawson   Intermediate [Jan 04, 2003]
Strength:

Compact, lightweight (if that is a strength). Mid-range price.

Weakness:

Photo quality was average. The red eye was still bad even with the red-eye reduction and 35-40% of the shots were out of focus.

We purchased this camera as a supplement to my Canon SLR (which I love). It would be used by my wife primarily. We found the camera body very light weight and were concerned about breaking it. The eyepiece is way to small and awkward. Most of the features are pretty much standard, nothing special. I expected more from a Nikon product which I have always found overpriced for what you get. This camera proved it. Out of 4 rolls put through it we found that approx. 35-40% of the shots were out of focus (a problem I have heard here from other reviews).

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Pentax, Canon, Minolta
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
orems   Casual [Jan 02, 2003]
Strength:

Zoom.

Weakness:

The whole camera. Blurry. Poor photo quality. Won't let you take photos as it trumps you.

This is an awful camera- we just returned ours! Wish I had seen this site before. It seemed like a good find but the photos are often blurry or not sharp (so much for a 'smart' camera) and I also have the problem where it won't let you take photos. So glad to have returned this. Was real a poor product!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jane   Casual [Dec 09, 2002]
Strength:

Nice pictures

Weakness:

flimsy

I like the pictures. But then the viewfinder broke (top corner of camera cracked and won't adjust now). Now I can't see the details of the pictures I'm about to take (such as a child making a face instead of smiling). I was told it would be too expensive to fix and I'd be better getting a new camera. For a product that is only a year old, I am quite disappointed. I feel like I threw $200 down the drain

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Kendra   Casual [Dec 05, 2002]
Strength:

When actually working takes good photographs.

Weakness:

Where do I start?

I hate this camera! Bought it at Costco on the recomendation of an employee. I wish I had investigated more. This camera always "complains" when I try to take a photo. The lights flash and it won't even let me shoot. I agree with someone who threw theirs away. I buy disposable camera that are easier to operate than this lemon.

Customer Service

unknown

Similar Products Used: Pentax
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
John Dizzette   Casual [Nov 23, 2002]
Strength:

Flashy advertising of the "ED" lens as the main selling point. Slick outside design with inferior inside performance.

Weakness:

This site has kindly allowed me to vent out my disapointment with this camera. The summary says it all. A negative rating would be more appreciated.

Horrible!!! This is the sadest purchase I have ever made. While it attempted to work for the first 2 months, 2/3's of all rolls shot were blurry! 100 to 400 speed had the same results. Film and battery door broke in first 3 weeks. In three months it totally freezed. Between the constant redeye, unfocused shots, and cheap materials, this camera found a new home in the garbage! I was so disgusted with this stinker I didn't even want a replacement. Don't be stupid people. Read the reviews on this site! If you want to take a 50/50 chance and gamble with $200 than let me wish you best of luck now. Shame on you Nikon for selling such a crappy product.

Customer Service

Too disgusted to attempt and find out.

Similar Products Used: Various other P&S. All superior to this one.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
photon   Expert [Oct 04, 2002]
Strength:

For me, Nikon's quality has always been top drawer. This response to investigate and fix a P&S camera shows they are dedicated to delivering a quality product.

Mine is great. For those of you who have had problems, Nikon listened, investigated and responds. I noticed over 2 weeks ago, they had posted (www.NikonUS.com site) a free repair of certain Serial Numbered 120ED cameras. They may have also sent notice cards to the people who registered their 120ED camera. The notice mentioned repair of the advance/rewind mechanisms (and possibly other issues). Although the notice is not on the website today, perhaps you can email or call Nikon to get the specifics for SNs affected and instructions to send in the camera for repair.

Customer Service

See above.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 47  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com