Nikon One Touch Zoom 70 Point and Shoot

One Touch Zoom 70

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
Cristina Sovereign   Casual [Aug 15, 2000]
Strength:

Easy to use. Very portable and light.

Weakness:

Poor construction/quality. I received it as a gift less than 2 years ago. The flash will not work and they tell me that it will cost $58 minimum to service it. That's more than 50% of the retail price. That camera is headed for Goodwill. I will be replacing the camera with one made by a different manufacturer, that is certain.

Don't buy this one.

Customer Service

Had to wait ages on the phone while listening to advertising plugs and self-promotion about Nikon's "superior" service

Similar Products Used: Olympus Stylus
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Melissa Baxter   Intermediate [Jul 15, 2000]
Model Reviewed: One Touch Zoom 70
Strength:

Takes great outdoor photos!

Weakness:

the DELAY between pressing the button and taking the photo. Incredibly frustrating when you're trying to take photos of babies and toddlers who don't sit still! Indoor Picture quality is mediocre. And, the lens cover broke less than 6 months after I bought the camera

Not really worth $100+, I've had disposable cameras that took better pictures indoors than this one does. The delay between pressing the button and the camera taking the picture is incredibly frustrating, this is not a camera for taking pictures of little kids! I don't know why the lens cover broke, I assume from normal weare as the camera was never dropped. I didn't pursue a repair though. I'm going to keep this camera as a vacation camera because it does a great job with outdoor photos, but get something new for indoor photos.

Customer Service

No experience

Similar Products Used: Canon Sure Shot
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Chris Robert   Casual [May 20, 2000]
Model Reviewed: One Touch Zoom 70
Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

Shutter response time is slow.
Red-eye reduction didn't work.
Zoom gave very poor photo quality.

I, like another reviewer, only paid $99 for this camera at Costco, and felt it was money wasted. I would have returned it, but lost the receipt :(! The shutter response time is painfully slow, so that unless your subjects are at a standstill with optimal lighting, the pictures come out blurry, even with 400 speed film. Every picture, even with red-eye reduction on, presented my friends as Salem's Lot escapees on film. I had a Fuji point-and-shoot prior to this (which I regretfully lost), and found it FAR superior to the Nikon. I'd rather not take pictures at important events than use the Nikon and waste money developing blurry photos. Don't waste your money on this one!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Fuji
Canon
Yashica
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
ter epp   Casual [Mar 29, 2000]
Model Reviewed: One Touch Zoom 70
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Very poor pictures from the begining. Battery life very, very short!! Lens cover broke and doesn't open properly after only 4 months. I have had it one year and would rather not take pictures than use it. And I LOVE taking pictures. The zoom is not sufficcent.

I only wrote this review so other people don't buy this awful camera. I only paid $ 99.00 at Cosco but it wasn't worth it!!

Customer Service

never used but should have. I don't want the camera so it wasn't worth replacing with the same one..

Similar Products Used: Canon sure shot- was good and dependable for 10 years.
Richoh p&s- always in the shop
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Gary Ewing   Casual [Feb 29, 2000]
Model Reviewed: One Touch Zoom 70
Strength:

Easy to use.

Weakness:

Quality is AWFUL. Camera has taken awful pictures from day one. Battery life is short with no indicator. And, of course, it always dies when you need it most. Lens cover broke after less than 1 year, twice.

Really didn't like the camera, but was past available time to return it or I would have. Actually this is the second one, since the lens cover on the first one broke within return period. In my experiences, this camera wasn't all that good.

Customer Service

Haven't tried it.

Similar Products Used: Minolta, Olympus
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
E Christian   Casual [Jan 14, 2000]
Model Reviewed: One Touch Zoom 70
Strength:

Inexpensive, easy to use. Quick zoom.

Weakness:

Shutter doesn't open immediately after pushing the button. The minimum distance to take a picture seems too far.

This frustrating P&S has led me to take the plunge into getting a real SLR setup. My biggest complaint is that even if the camera is not in red-eye mode it hesitates before actually taking the picture. When you are taking pictures of babies, they will recognize that the sound of the camera chugging means that the flash is about to go off and they become conditioned to blinking their eyes with every photo. Plus it makes it hard to capture a fleeting moment right as you depress the shutter button. I've also missed a few good candid moments because the camera decided that I was too close to the subject and would not let me take the picture. If these two issues are not issues for you then this is a good cheap camera.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
B Somes   Expert [Dec 27, 1999]
Model Reviewed: One Touch Zoom 70
Strength:

Had to get a gift for dad: This Nikon is great. The buttons are large and few. The viewfinder is bright and relatively large. The zoom offers a pleasant range for the snapshooter. Film loading is simple. All great features for the less technologically-inclined to take excellent vacations photos etc.

Weakness:

None

As a fan of Nikon optics, this little camera's is
great for older users and anyone who wants to focus
on the subject they're photographing rather than on
the process of operating the camera. --and it was also at a reasonable price at the local Target store...didn't have to mail order.

Similar Products Used: I gave up on the APS cameras...all had viewfinders way too small for an older adult and the cases were just too small to
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nancy Huth   Casual [Sep 13, 2000]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

slow response time from push of button to actual taking of photo; red eye reduction not built in as with previous Nikon camera I owned;

Loved my previous Nikon, which is why i chose to purchase another. however, I am totally disappointed with the performance of this camera - most notably the lag time when pushing the button for picture. Also have a problem in that I can't take pictures when holding the camera vertically. Want to get rid of camera to get another, but can't bring myself to throw away $100

Similar Products Used: Nikon TeleTouch 300
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Stephanie Lewis   Casual [Oct 31, 2000]
Strength:

Wonderfully clear pictures, easy to center subjects in viewfinder, works in all lighting situations.

Weakness:

none

I have found this camera to be excellent for outdoor photography as well as indoors. It has been a joy to own and is extremely convenient for all situations. Well worth the money!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave Eloranta   Expert [Dec 16, 2000]
Strength:

Sharp pictures.
The One-Touch Zoom 70QD had a good auto focus.
Easy to use, few buttons, easy mode changes. I bought it for my mother-in-law for a gift. She specificly wants a camera with red eye reduction.

Weakness:

The red eye reduction doesn't work. I tested the camera with one roll of film and every picture of my kids had red eye problems. I'm returning the camera monday.

I liked the feature list. If it only delivered.

Similar Products Used: none recently
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com