Pentax IQ Zoom/Espio 120Mi Point and Shoot

IQ Zoom/Espio 120Mi

The small size of the IQZoom 120Mi disguises its capabilities. The 38mm-120mm power zoom lens possesses an automatic zoom macro ability. A passive 5-point autofocus system allows you to shoot multiple subjects with confidence and the multi-pattern metering system provides optimum exposure even in difficult light conditions. A compact camera to express rather than inhibit your creativity.

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
Gates Yohan   Intermediate [Nov 23, 2003]
Strength:

Small

Weakness:

Picture quality.

I had this camera over a year . I am ok with the camera ,but picture quality not so great. My Konica Lexio and my canon Z135 takes better pic than this one.

Similar Products Used: Sure Shot Z135, 120 and Konica lexio 70(great lens)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
  [Feb 14, 2003]
Strength:

picture quality, good construction, bulb mode, compact size

Weakness:

ugly 'sound effects' when you press the buttons0

Excellent camera! I was hesitant to get a zoom P&S for a long time, but the picture quality that comes out of this camera has been a very pleasant surprise. Sharp and properly exposed. It's also one of the most nicely built P&Ss I've seen outside of the posh models., Ri Aluminum front and back plate! At $180 at B&H it's a great deal for a camera with these specs. Highly recommended.+

Similar Products Used: Konica Lexio 70, Ricoh R1, Konica Big Mini F, Olympus Stylus Epic Zoom 80
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Christin   Intermediate [Feb 11, 2003]

I buy this cammera last year, autofocus have an problem on it, the shot taken always not in focus, I bring the camera to dealers fix for two times, no improvement

Customer Service

not acceptable

Similar Products Used: Yschica T5
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Canuck88   Intermediate [Jan 13, 2003]
Strength:

Small, light, and attractive Solid contruction (aluminum body) Spot focus Bulb mode Sharp Pentax lens Great exposure metering "Indiglo" LCD Diopter adjustment

Weakness:

Vignetting at almost all focal lengths Lens is slow Sluggish and noisy zoom Viewfinder not so hot Batteries drain fairly fast

I needed to purchase a new P&S to compliment my SLR and based my purchase of the 120mi on the reviews here. Overall, I'm pleased with the camera's performance with the exception of the vignetting I'm experiencing. This could be simply an isolated instance, and I'll be taking it in for service soon. Aside from the vignetting, the camera is small, light, durable, and attractive, with a super sharp lens, terrific spot focus, and long exposure capability. For someone needing a zoom point and shoot, I would highly recommend it. However, if you don't care about the zoom, stick with the Olympus Stulus Epic - a fixed, fast lens and about 1/2 the price.

Similar Products Used: Olympus Stylus Epic Contax T2 Leica Minilux
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
cavinsoo   Intermediate [Aug 02, 2002]
Strength:

Small and compact. Bulb mode good for long exposure. Excellent shots at night. No grain or grey areas. Excellent zoom

Weakness:

Battery drains after 10 rolls of film. Viewfinder became hazy. Viewfinder can be small, however after repeated use... you will get used to it. 38mm is too near to the object. You have to stand further away.

This camera produces excellent image quality. I have posted some pictures at photos.yahoo.com/sooyewthong. There are some pictures that I have taken using Konica films and the outcome is extremely bad. I will never use Konica film anymore. Most of the nice photos that are taken in Japan are using Fuji Reala 100 films. Excellent quality

Similar Products Used: Nikon automatic camera
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shun   Intermediate [Apr 14, 2002]
Strength:

Light and small; sharp lens; spot focus;

Weakness:

lack of exposure compensation; 35mm is sometimes not wide enough.

I need another compact camera to supplement my Ricoh GR-1, which has only a 28mm wide lens. After extensive research, including reading reviews here, I decided to go for the Pentax 120Mi. I used it during my recent trip to Beijing. For each scene I usually took photos with both the 120Mi and the Ricoh GR-1. All pictures taken by the 120Mi are sharp and with correct exposure. The quality of the pictures is comparable to those by the GR-1. I am totally satisfed with the camera.

Customer Service

Not yet used.

Similar Products Used: Ricoh GR-1, Pentax 928M
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Romer   Intermediate [Mar 27, 2002]
Strength:

1. Well built, solid feel and excellent designed camera body and finish. 2. Crisp clear pictures even with zoom. 3. Good built in flash, strong enough to be effective for indoor and night shots. 4. Availability of remote control for shutter relase for long exposure shots.

Weakness:

None apparent.

I bought this based on the reviews of this site and have not been disappointed. Best price performance camera - I bought it for a very good price because it is an older design. However my experience is that newer models are not always better than the ones they replace. Very sharp photos -outperforms my Leica minilux zoom.

Customer Service

None needed yet

Similar Products Used: Leica Minilux Zoom Contax T2 Yashica T4 Samsung Evoca 170
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robbie Marshall   Beginner [Mar 15, 2002]
Strength:

Most importantly- very sharp pictures small size backlit LCD

Weakness:

zoom a bit noisy - but that makes no difference to me. It costs a bit more than some 120 zoomz, but it''s a price worth paying

I have tried alot of 120 zooms in order to find which produced the sharpest prints and this, together with the Olympus MJU 2 (stylus epic), is the best - but this one has a ZOOM! I was impressed that in good lighting conditions the sharpness was not compromised even when fully zoomed in.

Similar Products Used: Nikon 120 ED Canon sure-shot 120 classic samsung fino 80s samsung fino 120 super Olympus MJU 2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Elain   Intermediate [Aug 05, 2000]
Strength:

Small compact size with metal casing

Weakness:

slow lens

This is a great camera. It is very easy to use and most of all very small. With 2 kids and many family gatherings, parties and other functions a small compact camera with a metal casing is the best deal. The lens is slow but the pictures are beautiful and well worth it!1

Customer Service

Haven't had a problem

Similar Products Used: Canon sure shot
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Diane   Intermediate [Apr 24, 2000]
Model Reviewed: IQZoom/Espio 120Mi
Strength:

Focus and exposure are excellent. Super small size; easy to carry around.

Weakness:

Motor speed on zoom lens is a little slow. Buttons on the control panel are a bit small and difficult to press. Lens cover is easy to open by accident, simply by pressing with a finger. Can be a problem if camera is in a pocket. Viewfinder is very small; can be difficult to line up properly.

Great camera; perfect pictures. Very glad I bought it. All pictures are perfectly in focus. Red eye reduction seems to work fine. Small size is a big plus; although I can't imagine a person with large hands being comfortable with the small buttons. Considering the high cost of this camera, I wish it came with a custom case. Date imprint is unobtrusive.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com