Canon Speedlite 540 EZ Flashes

Canon Speedlite 540 EZ Flashes 

DESCRIPTION

The 540EZ is a powerful, high-output auto-zoom shoe-mount flash with a maximum guide number of 54/177 (ISO 100 m/ft) which is compatible with all EOS cameras.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Dec 29, 2010]
ChasWG
Expert

Strength:

Powerful, Well built, Feature filled

Weakness:

Manual only on DSLRs

Back in the days of EOS film bodies I owned a Canon 430EZ and loved it on my 630 and later Elan bodies. I gave that unit to my nephew who was taking some photo class at a University back East. I didn't need it and it wouldn't work on my current Digital bodies... or so I though...

I now own two 540EZ's and I use them as manual flashes both on and off camera and they are perfect, high powered and rugged units. I use them mostly as in an off camera role, fired wirelessly via a YongNuo RF-602 system. They wake easily through the RF-602 and they always fire. I bought the first one from a woman on eBay who didn't know that she could still use her beloved flash on her new canon XSi. She was actually really sad when she heard that it would still operate, but only as a manual flash. Many people think that these older Canon EOS flashes won't work on madern equipment, but they do and well. As long as you know how to use them as a manual flash.

If you just want a flash to pop on top of your camera to take pictures of the family or your pets and don't want to think anything about the light with your Canon DSLR, this IS NOT your flash. Go get a Canon 430EX or lesser speedlite.
But if you want to control your flash and play with the lighting both on or off the camera, then the Canon 540EZ is a great flash for both the older Canon EOS film bodies or as a manual flash on the newer Canon DSLRs.

Similar Products Used:

Canon 430EZ

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 22, 2003]
Lior Dagan
Expert

Strength:

Excellent metering, because of the power that this flash has, Bounce and catchlight photography yield amazing results. Copies of the pictures taken with this flash were ordered by my friends, and I recieved praise for them. That's all we want from our photo equip. is it not?

Weakness:

Doesn't work with Digicams

A great flash for non digital users. I got this flash "used". It was almost brand new and still had the original batteries inside. The man who sold it. had to it because it didn't oprerate bproperly with Canon D-30. That is a fault caused by canon product managers. I own an A2E, and it worked flawlessly with the 540. As someone mentioned earlier, EOS 5 and A2E do not use external flash's assist light. Again, not a wise decision by Canon product people. If you don't use digital cameras, this is one great flash to use, with ample power and features. And unless you really need that higher speed synch, go with it instead of the 550.

Customer Service

Canon's service in Israel is unproffesional

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 13, 2002]
lee4130bmx
Professional

Strength:

power. accuracy. features.

Weakness:

no in-camera exposure confirmation with eos 5. no focus assist with eos 5.

now, this flash is a strange thing. its focus illuminators will not light up with the eos 5 which i so rely on for my work. this is something which i loathe. apart from this, the flash is an excellent addition to your canon kit. it is fully specced for the eos 5, so if you own one, then this is the flash you need. if you''re looking for a good flash but don''t want to pay too much, i would also recommend the Vivitar 850AF, which is very adequate if your budget is lower. otherwise, it is worth splashing the cash on a 540ez.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used:

none but the vivitar 850AF

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 13, 2001]
Odneb
Beginner

Strength:

54 guide number! All other features are ok. Backlighting is a plus!

Weakness:

Lack of ETTL and High Speed Sync.

This is a great flash unit! All of my flash photographs are dead-on metered. The only thing lacking is the ETTL and the High Speed Sync which is quite important but for the price and feature this is a bargain. Even if features are lacking this is still a prefessional grade flash unit, it is very reliable.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2000]
Truc Bui
Intermediate
Model Reviewed: Speedlite 540 EZ Flash

Strength:

excellent coverage range... from 18-105. canon flash system isn't as advanced as nikon's, but with a little help from an omnibounce and the ceiling, this flash can match any nikon product. the output is very high with this flash. build quality is decent. get a quantum battery or the canon dedicated battery and you won't miss a shot.

Weakness:

this thing is LOUD! turn iton, hear it whine, hear it zoom, hear it fire, hear it whine some more.

a great pro caliber flash, although already obsolete due to intro of e-ttl and 550ex flash. that just means it is a whole lot cheaper to own now! get the 1n/540 combo with any lens and experience great results.

Similar Products Used:

sunpak pz4000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 27, 2000]
Art Salmons
Intermediate
Model Reviewed: Speedlite 540 EZ Flash

Strength:

This is a strong flash with a great deal of usuable features. I love the seperate flash exposure compensation mode.

Weakness:

None

This flash really nails the exposure and is a joy to use. I use this flash a lot and it has never failed me. I use it set with -1/3 exposure compensation for most portraits and casual shots of kids indoors. Great flash well worth the money.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used:

Canon 300EZ

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 09, 2000]
Dick Chung
Model Reviewed: Speedlite 540 EZ Flash

Strength:

BOOM!!
It's da Bomb. Great FLASH. It's smart. and if you use it within it's ranges you'll get great coverage.

Weakness:

Uses up the AA's pretty quick. Motor is a little noisy.

Great Flash. Used with the 1N.
Go with the A2 when I go close quarters and don't want to lug around alot of equip.
Love It.
Have to know when to use it.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 10, 2000]
Jeff Parrish
Professional
Model Reviewed: Speedlite 540 EZ Flash

Strength:

Has nice even coverage. Very strong and smart flash. Has been a big help with slide film.

Weakness:

N/A

Well worth the money!

Customer Service

Canon is hard to beat.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 15, 2000]
Ron Smith
Expert

Strength:

Very "smart" flash unit, has all the overrides and second-curtian sync, plus accurate TTL. The fill-flash program is just right for outdoor work. Ideally suited for 400-speed film.

Weakness:

Doesn't work particularly well with Nicads, but the CP-E2 is a MUST accessory; it allows the flash to recycle almost instantly and you can get over 100 shots using TTL before you need a change of batteries. Highly recommend the use of NiMH cells. As previously mentioned, the 540 EZ is a battery eater, but any flash with a zooming motor will be hard on juice.

A great flash unit for moderate-to-heavy use. The 540 EZ is very reliable and works wonders on overcast days with fill-flash. Like most clip-on flash units, it really is designed to work best with 400-speed films. Yes, get the CP-E2 if you do a lot of shooting, as this will allow you to get the most from the flash unit. I confidently use the 540 EZ for weddings, with great results without a lot of thinking.

Customer Service

I belong to CPS, so service is first-rate for me.

Similar Products Used:

Vivitar 283

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 28, 2000]
Sue LaBeaume
Expert

Strength:

first one I had that has a locking pin, exposure confirmation light, locking bounce head---as well as the powerful range.

Weakness:

haven't found any yet.

With my 1n and the 540's flash range, taking sport pictures at night is a breeze! I love it!

Customer Service

Not on this flash, but when my 420 got hit, Canon's customer service was great!

Similar Products Used:

200EZ, 300EZ, 420EZ

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com