Leica 100mm APO-Macro-Elmarit-R f/2.8 35mm Primes

100mm APO-Macro-Elmarit-R f/2.8

Telephoto lens for the Leica R Series 35mm SLRs.

  • Aperture range: f/2.8-22
  • Min focus: 0.45 m
  • Built-in telescopic lens hood

  • User Reviews (13)

    Showing 1-10 of 13  
    momiziano   Expert [Mar 12, 2011]
    Strength:

    Sharp at any aperture from border to border.
    Leica colors.
    A benchmark for apocromatic lenses.
    A benchmark for macro lenses.
    Solid metal construction.

    Weakness:

    Flair

    Probably the best lens I've ever used in his category, not only for macro (with and without elpro) but also for portraits. A benchmark for apocromatic lenses. Really detailed from border to border from f2.8. Typical leica colors. Astonishing leica metal-build.

    Similar Products Used: Sigma apo-macro 150 f2.8
    CZ 100 f2 makro-planar ZF
    CZ 85 f1.4 planar ZF
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    jaguardave   Expert [Aug 07, 2002]
    Strength:

    The best all around lense money can buy.

    Weakness:

    None.

    I shoot mostly B&W. This lense is capable of producing uncanny results. Images made on a tripod will enlarge to 11x14 without any loss of sharpness or tonality (grain is in the hands of the developer/time/agitation gods). It has such a solid feel, focusing is a breeze. The macro function or close focusing is great...very creative portrait possibilities. OK, it is very expensive...so take very good care of it when you buy it! I just can't say a bad word about this lense, nor about the 35-70 F4 or the 180mm F3.4 that round out my lense assortment. I have 2 bodies, an R6.2 and an R8 and I consider my bag to be lacking only a 28mm lense to be complete.

    Customer Service

    No need yet

    Similar Products Used: The leica lenses mentioned above and from Pentax, 135, 200, 300, 400, 28 and 35.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    nagelchr   Expert [Apr 15, 2002]
    Strength:

    Optical and mecanical workmanship, very flexible and compact lens. Best lens in the world ! Worth every penny !

    Weakness:

    nothing at all

    Brilliant lens. And´perfect from the macro range to infinity. Built quality is exceptional and the lens balances perfectly an a R8 + Winder. Centering, flatness of field, sharpness and contrast are excellent and unrivalled. The additional tripod collar is not needed. You can buy the additional Elpro for 1:1 for approx. 300 €, but if you already own the 2x-Apo-Extender, you get a 5.8/200 APO-Lens with 1:1 macro capability. I checked that with Leica in Solms and the confirmed that. You loose 2 steps on the aperture, but the image quality of both 1:1 (2.8/100 + Elpro or 2x-Apo-Extender + 2.8/100) is equal. The mechanics are smooth and the distance ring turns silky and oily. Just right for mocro work. This is a universal lens and my new standard lens. I''m also using the huge Vario-Apo-Elmarit 2.8/70-180. When light traveling is essential, e.g. in countries with a high crime rate, I''ll take the R7, the Vario Elmar 4/35-70, the Apo-Macro-Elmarit 100 and the 2x-Apo-Extender. With that combination, you can cover a range of 35-200 mm with unrivaled image quality and not too much weight. The true power of the Apo-Macro-Elmarit is unleashed with a sturdy tripod or monopod an Fuji Velvia ! The price-tag on the lens is quite high. But if you''ve ever had a guided tour to the Leica Factory in Solms, you wonder why they aren''t more expensive. The manufacturing of the precision mecanics is very expensive and all in all more than twice or three times as expensive as the optics ! That in mind you get to know, why Leica lenses are twice or three times as expensive as Canon or Nikon lenses. Every Leica lens runs through the quality control at the end of the production whereas Can. or Nik. only test samples.

    Customer Service

    Excellent. Unrivalled !

    Similar Products Used: Varil-Apo-Elmarit 2.8/70-180, Summicron 2/90, Vario-Elmar 4/35-70, Vario-Elmar 4/80-200, Elmarit 2.8/24, Elmarit 2.8/35, Apo-Telyt 3.4/180, Canon EF 2.8/28-70 L USM, Canon EF 2.8/80-200 L, Sigma Macro
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    udo   Intermediate [Nov 15, 2001]
    Strength:

    Sharpness, APO color quality, great focusing range

    Weakness:

    long focus turns because of Makro, 60mm filter size, one stop faster would be nice

    I went to Leica Solms to purchase a 1.4/80mm but was steered into this lens. HrBraun explained that it was this lens that the factory believed to be their sharpest. In fact, he said, that they used this lens to test their converters and film resolution!

    Customer Service

    ok. I was a bit irritated that the Leica store Hr Braun was a bit hurried with me. I did get a 2% rebate as is their in store policy though.

    Similar Products Used: Nikon 105 2.0 DC (the best for portraits)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    DesignEdge   Intermediate [Sep 16, 2001]
    Strength:

    Resolution, contrast and bokeh. Fantastic shadow detail. APO quality really shows through especially at night with neon lights.

    Weakness:

    Slightly longer focusing turns but that is to be expected as this is a macro lens.

    I read the reviews on the Leica User Group. I worried about the "too sharp for portrait" comments". I worried about the price vs the 90mm f2 at second hand. Well, I have been using Leica M lenses for years and this lens ranks at the very top of the Leica tree. It has that special Leica "oomph" quality in buckets. Great resolution, fantastic contrast which provides lots of details in the shadows even in non-contrasty lighting, classic Leica "bokeh". I didn''t find my portrait shots "too sharp" at all for both male and female models but it''s best to shoot a head and shoulder shot with men. Interior close-up shots of still life lit by natural daylight and some tungsten spots had such great colour and detail that everyone asked which camera/lens I was using. And all shots were taken with the aperture wide open!

    Customer Service

    Never had to use them!

    Similar Products Used: Nikon AF-D 105 macro, Leica M 90mm f2.8, Hasselblad CFi 120mm Makro
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Simon Coates   Expert [Aug 14, 2000]
    Strength:

    Optical and mechanical quality

    Weakness:

    none

    If you want to see what a real APO lens is like, then check this out. This is, without doubt, the best macro lens in the world. With Leica APO quality the colours really leap out! The lens is a true all-rounder as it performs superbly from 0.45m to infinity.
    The elpro lifesize adapter is designed for the lens and does not effect image quality at all. Some people may grumble about having to attach this to get to 1:1 ratio, but I do use this as a landscape lens and it would be presumably heavier if it could get to 1:1 on its' own.
    I summary, a true reference lens and an absolute must for close-ups. Start saving!

    Customer Service

    v. good

    Similar Products Used: Vivtar 100mm /f.35 macro
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Vincent Cheng   Expert [Apr 05, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: 100mm APO-Macro-Elmarit-R f/2.8 (ROM)
    Strength:

    Sharpest lenses I have ever seen. Good contrast and color restitution. Especially good in enlargement.

    Weakness:

    Need Elpro to get down to 1:1. High price.

    This lenses is widely claimed as best macro lenses in the same range and I tend to agree with that. I have compared the results with some other brand's lenses and never regret my choice on this lenses. I have taken lots of photos on portrait, flowers and insects and results never disapointed me. Excellent lenses worth for every penny if you could effort.

    Customer Service

    No breakdown so far.

    Similar Products Used: Canon, Contax.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    David Almy   Professional [Feb 18, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: 100mm APO-Macro-Elmarit-R f/2.8 (ROM)
    Strength:

    Optically on the razor's edge

    Weakness:

    2.8
    Heavy, but I don't care

    Best in class

    Customer Service

    V. Good

    Similar Products Used: Nikon
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    René Valentine   Expert [Oct 22, 2000]
    Strength:

    The optical quality which reached near the "absolute" of the optical perfection, and there's no price for that.
    The mechanic engineering and the finish is also a marker of the perfection of the APO macro elmarit.

    Weakness:

    is blaspheme to talk about weaknesses for this lens

    This one is not "a lens". This is THE LENS;

    Customer Service

    Never need

    Similar Products Used: Pratically all the medium macro telephoto in the market, even the 100 MAKRO from Contax Zeiss which, event though is a very good lens, can't not even approach the APO ELMARIT
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Heinz Hagemus   Expert [Nov 06, 2000]
    Strength:

    High optical and mechanical quality.
    Low price !!!

    Weakness:

    There are no weaknesses at all.

    This is the best lens for 35mm
    Its sharpness and contrast are overwhelming at all apertures(best at f4)
    Some people say it´s "too sharp" for portrait photos
    Best lens one could imagine !

    Similar Products Used: None
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-10 of 13  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com