Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM 35mm Zoom

Available At:
EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

Incorporating Canon’s second generation Image Stabilization technology, this telephoto zoom responds in as little at 0.5 seconds, while providing up to three stops of correction for camera shake. Its AF system has been refined for better response time and tracking speed. And even the new 8-blade circular aperture offers a more pleasing out-of-focus image. Constructed to pro standards, this fast zoom is also highly resistant to dust and moisture, too.

User Reviews (57)

Showing 1-10 of 57  
gahspidy   Intermediate [Jun 20, 2009]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Costly, but I don't believe overly expensive. this is one good piece of glass.

Several months ago I finally decided to shell out the 1400.00 on this lens. Quite simply it is one of the best investments in photography that I have ever made. The lens is outstanding, both in build quality and performance.
Having a constant 2.8 aperture AND IS has enabled me to capture images that would have otherwise just been impossible.
A good example of the benefits of this lens is in a bird series I have been working on which can be seen in my gallery at www.garyhellerphotography.com
These bird images were mostly captured with this lens. They were taken in a bird exhibit at the Bronx zoo. A tripod is not allowed in the facility and so getting these shot handheld was a challenge. This lens allowed me to capture shots that were mostly zoomed to full 200mm with a shutter speed of approx. 1/90 at about 800 iso. . .handheld and sharp! This is quite incredible. The sharpness and contrast straight from the camera with this lens is remarkable.Yes, it is expensive and yest it is huge, but worth every ounce and penny.
And so theres my two cents. . .

Customer Service

no need

Similar Products Used: Canon 70-200 f4.0 ,Tamron 75-300mm macro
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
DunelmPhoto   Expert [Feb 09, 2009]
Strength:

Image Quality
Build Quality
Extremely Sharp
Image Stabilizer is superb

Weakness:

Maybe Price - But you get what you pay for!

After months of deliberation I sold my Canon 70-200mm f4 L lens and bought the f2.8 IS version. After using the f2.8 IS version for a few weeks I'm very impressed.

The difference between this lens and the f4 L is massive. Yes, the f4 L was sharp however I always struggled to keep the shutter speeds high enough to ensure sharp shots and often resorted to increasing ISO levels (thereby introducing additional nooise).

The 70-200mm f2.8 IS L is so much more usable, the IS system is superb - At 1/60 sec. and 200mm all shots are sharp, I've even had some sharp shots at 1/25 sec. at 200mm!!!! To guarantee sharp shots with my f4 L I needed at least 1/250 sec.

Also, I love shooting portraits with the f2.8 - Backgrounds are beautifully blurred and the subjects stand out much more than with the f4 L.

Image quality is superb, it is very sharp at f2.8 and even sharper at f4.

Finally, don't worry about the weight / size - I thought it may be an issue but to be honest, I haven't even noticed it - After you've used it once or twice it just feels 'normal'.

This lens is much more expensive than the f4 version, and quite a lot more than the f2.8 non IS version but in my opinion it is worth every penny - It's just so much more versatile. It is, without doubt, the best lens I've ever used !!


Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Canon 70-200mm f4 L
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
eregis   Intermediate [Dec 30, 2008]
Strength:

Build - do not doubt its solidity. This lens has it all wit 2 modes on the image stabiliser. Incredibly clean shots, sharp angles, clear focus and fast and quiet.

Surprisingly decent with converter and zooming is wonderfully fluid.

Yes its expensive but you get what you pay for.

Weakness:

Weight - but it is what one would expect.

One of the great zoom lenses. I hired one for a day and walked round london doing some street photography. Like it so much that I bought one on a business trip to HK.

Customer Service

None needed

Similar Products Used: Canon EF 24-70 USM L 2.8
Canon 50mm F 1.4
Sibma 20mm HSM
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
toti abul   Professional [Nov 21, 2007]
Strength:

I shoot a wedding last weekend, i took a tight shot of the couple at f/ 2.8,1/60 with iso 800 @ 200mm IS on with my 30D, inside an 18th century church with two 500 watts light set up, one on each side, around 20 ft from the couple, the shot was tact sharp, the colors are brillant and the contrast is just great. All the shots that i took were done with out flash and yet so clean. The pictures gives the feeling of the of the mood of the moment. Its like going back on the time machine. And WOW AF is so FAST and so QUIET. Zooming is EXCELLENT and the weigth is heavy??? if you dont know the timing, rhythm and how to hold the lens properly. The Price is just fine for this AWESOME LENS.

Weakness:

Honestly the lens is heavy if youre already tired. So for me i make sure that i have a good sleep before a big shoot.

Almost everything that i have read from the review on this site regarding this lens are right. And finally after just barrowing my friend's lens once in a while for more than a year every time i need it. And after PRAYING about it, i decided to buy myself on my birthday as my gift to myself. And man what a great way to be BLESSED.

Customer Service

Canon Service in the Philippines is PERFECT!

Similar Products Used: Canon EF 28-135 IS USM
Canon EF-S 17-85 IS USM
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
yalazy   Intermediate [Aug 30, 2007]
Strength:

This lens is very sharp, focuses very fast and silent, and with IS it is possible to use it handheld in almost any situation. Colour rendition is very pleasing. Even though I often use primes I don't want to be without this one. When you need a medium-tele zoom and don't have time to change lenses this one is the best to get.

I set the value rating to 4, as it is an expensive lens for most of us. Still, if you can afford one, it is very good value indeed.

Weakness:

It is heavy.

Great zoom lens. Very useful even if its a heavy piece to lug around.

Customer Service

Never used.

Similar Products Used: I previously owned the non-IS version of this lens for several years. It is said the non-IS is sharper, but even though I never did an actual test I find the results very similar. Both lenses are superb, but IS is a BIG advantage for handholding and shooting still or slow-moving objects. Especially if you're like me, a thin woman with spaghetti arms :)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
SpeedingSphere   Intermediate [Apr 09, 2007]
Strength:

Sharpness: This lens is tack sharp, both indoors and out, be it in the light or in the dark! It is well worth its hefty price tag and is a lens to be carried at all times. If it was shorter, it would be my permanent walk-around lens. The precision in which the auto focus locks on and focuses in daylight is none like I've seen before. In darker situations, it tends to hunt on my 350D, but thats understandable that the body is probably the equipment at fault.

Image Stabilization: I couldn't live without it. I was questioning myself if the IS was really necessary and I have to say it was worth every single cent I spent on it. If it wasn't for the IS, I wouldn't have been able to take photos this past night of an important ceremony. I was stressing the camera and lens @ 1/45th sec, f/2.8 @ ISO 1600, and without that, I would have had many toss out photos. If you think twice about it, honestly, you're foolish to choose anything but the IS version.

Color reproduction: This lens is quite accurate in transmitting colors to the sensor. The colors I see on the subject are what show up on the screen after taking the photo. I know a lot depends on monitor calibration, but I do say, this lens is much more accurate than my non L glass lenses.

Zoom Range: For a lens this size, the zoom range is quite long. 70-200mm is a nice lens to carry around on an outing, family picnic, vacation tour, anything where you'll be moving a lot. The 70mm end works well for portraits and an occasional group shot(if you have room.) The 200mm end, on the other hand, provides a zoom end which is easily in reach with just a simple twist of the zoom collar.

Weakness:

Zoom collar tightness: I find it hard to hold the lens and body with two hands, and adjust the zoom at the same time, while keeping the subject in the frame. It takes a twist and a half to get the collar and zoom moving towards the tele end. Coming back wide is much easier. Not sure if thats how its supposed to be.

That would have to be my only nit pick. Everything else about the lens is perfect. It could quite possibly be that I just got a tight rotating unit.

This lens shines in daylight photos in clarity, color reproduction/accuracy, sharpness, auto focus times, everything lets just say. The lens also works well in dark settings, and produces reasonable and usable images all the way up to 1/15th f/2.8 @ ISO1600 for me. The IS kicks in and keeps shots perfect all the way down to what I've found to be reasonable for me, 1/6th of a second.

Customer Service

No use yet, don't plan on using them either. (at least I hope I wont have to.

Similar Products Used: Canon 75-300mm F/4-5.6 (yuck! stay away!)
Canon 28-135mm F/3.5-5.6 IS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jackthehat.co.uk   Expert [Dec 06, 2006]
Strength:

Build quality
Autofocus speed and accuracy
Image Stabilisation
Fast f2.8 aperture
Image quality
Retains AF and IS with Canon 2x extender

Weakness:

Impossible to fault in any aspect

This should really be an easy review to write as this lens is faultless.
I finally bought this lens after borrowing one a couple of years ago.

SIZE & WEIGHT: If you think this lens is going to be small and lightweight then you're a fool. It's a metal bodied 70-200 lens with IS and an aperture of f2.8. It's going to be large & heavy no matter what. I hate tripods but I still find the lens perfectly hand holdable. However I'm quite a large man (6ft 3", 14.5 stone). A smaller person may struggle with it after a while. It's mainly the f2.8 that makes it so heavy due to the large elements. If you think you'll struggle you may be better off with the f4.0 version.

BUILD: Impossible to fault. Built like a tank. Water resistant and dust proof. Very high quality finish and super smooth zoom and focus rings. Could not be better in any way in my opnion.

AF: The autofocus is nothing short of amazing. Extremely silent & fast for a telephoto zoom lens. Its real strength is in its ability to track moving objects. Select all of your focusing points and let the camera & lens do the work for you. If you keep your subject in the viewfinder it will not lose focus. I tested it with seagulls in high winds and it was sensational. No consumer lens could possibly come close to matching it. This is what makes the difference between getting the shot and missing the shot especially if you're a wildlife or sports photographer. That's why the pros always get the shots that the amateurs miss out on!

IS: The Image Stabilisation does exactly what it says it. Handheld shots at 200mm at 1/30sec are relatively simple. Without IS this lens could be awkward to use at its longest setting without a tripod, especially in poor light. Don't be tempted to save money and get the non-IS version! The system is virtually silent and has two different modes, general and panning mode. IS is not a gimmick.

IMAGE QUALITY: This is entirely as expected. Very good indeed and probably unbeatable on a lens of this type. The only thing I will say is that if you intend to buy this lens for the image quality alone then although it is certainly superior to all other telephotos I don't personally feel it is worth £1100 better than, say, a £150 75-300mm Canon consumer zoom. Don't get me wrong, the quality is amazing but the quality of Canon's consumer zoom telephotos is also very good these days. If you want the best possible quality then this lens is what you need but be prepared to pay for it. Personally I see the superior autofocus, wide f2.8 aperture and IS far bigger advantages over the consumer lenses than the image quality. The image quality is just a good bonus for me.

OTHER: A good bonus with this lens is that you can use it with Canon's 2x extender and retain full AF and IS capability. A recommended combination.

To sum up, this lens is impossible to fault. If you want one and can justify the cost and can handle its size and weight then you shouldn't hesitate to buy one.

Customer Service

Not yet needed

Similar Products Used: Canon 75-300mm
Canon 75-300mm IS
Canon 100 - 400mm f5.6 IS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Ian Wilkinson   Intermediate [Jun 21, 2006]
Strength:

SPEED
CLARITY
F STOP
VERSITLE

Weakness:

WEIGHT

This lense is fast. The delay on moving subjects is almost undetectable!!! It rarely or never has misfocused on moving subjects! The pics look clean. There isn't a need to sharpen, everything is crisp! The lense is heavy. But the weight is worth it. We also have a 28-135 IS Canon 3.5 lense and this lense is overall alot easier to use. Meaning its speed can make up for your miss focusing whereas the other lense can't.

Customer Service

Don't NEED

Similar Products Used: NONE
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
dly1009   Intermediate [Apr 22, 2006]
Strength:

Where to begin...solidly designed! Super fast autofocus and quiet as well. The IS is great and performs above what you would expect (1/15s handheld at 200mm and razor sharp!). And, cosmetically, it is a beauty!

Weakness:

Weakness....weakness...maybe those to weak to hold it...that would be it!

Well, I read and re-read about 300 reviews over the internet before purchasing this lens. And, as all of you that have written have mentioned the same things consistantly, sharpness! Well, that is an understatement. This lens is incredible. I have done only a few tests with it and let me tell you this, the IS works as advertised! I shot a few with and without it handheld at 200mm 1/15 of a second, and the images are tact sharp! Without it, right in the trash with those shots, if I knew how to upload those two I would. However, if you would like to see them I will email smaller versions of the IS and IS off images for yourself. The focusing is fast (ultra fast) and truly silent. My sigma lens sounds like a jackhammer autofocusing compared it now! It's a dream lens. It's beautiful to look at and so are the images it produces on my 20D. If you are like me, deciding whether or not to buy this...BUY IT! The IS is worth the money (you may grab onto a few keepers to earn that extra money right back!)

Similar Products Used: Sigma 70-200 2.8, although a great lens I used for a couple of months this by far crushed it for sharpness, color, contrast, you name it (don't get me wrong, it's a great lens for about 800 if you do not want to spend 1700. You will be more than satisfied with it). But, if you want mind blowing consistant high quality shots, spend the 1700 or however inexpensive you can get it!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
stevewroe   Expert [Feb 27, 2006]
Strength:

low light capability bokeh build no light fall-off to speak of

Weakness:

maybe price

OK, if you are considering upgrading from the f/4 version, this may help. I just have. I wondered for ages whether I should, freaked out once I paid all that cash, nearly wet my pants when it arrived, and was over the moon when I tested it. Right then should you upgrade? If you can afford it (even if you aren't selling your shots) then yes. The obvious advantage is being able to shoot at lower shutter speeds. I have taken quite a few shots with the f4 model that just weren't sharp enough in dingy markets in Asia etc. Shots that would have been 'all time' but suffered from a bit of camera shake (at about 1/160 @ 200mm). You can actually get sharp shots at 1/15 with the I.S. but not always. I consistently get razor sharp shots at 1/50 @ 200mm - you can bank on it. The other advantage of this I.S, is that even when I could shoot at 1/200, I was always at f4 unless the light was good (and with the stuff I do it's often not - even outdoor markets I'd struggle). Sometimes f4 is nice of course but often not! On the flip side, f2.8 can be very nice for dropping out the background. The bokeh (background blur) is excellent with BOTH lenses. No real advantage with the more expensive lens I don't think, other than you can get less DOF with the 2.8. I have found that light fall-off is not a problem at all with the 2.8 I.S. - maybe because you can shoot at narrower apertures, but I think that at the same aperture with both lenses side by side, you'll see less darkness in the corners with the 2.8 I.S. In fact, it's not an issue at all (I use a 5D). Then again, it's not much of an issue with the f4. One of the obvious cons is that it is double the weight. Well, that's life. Deal with it or don't get it. Just don't bloody whinge when you do get it like some other people - it staggers me that people will shell out a couple of grand for such a lens and then say 'ooooh it's a bit heavy'. Jesus. Bottom line is this: if you have the f4 and want better shots in low liight, get it. I had the f4 for 2 years, loved it, and then decided I had reached a point where I should/could upgrade. If you are considering one or the other and worried about the cash, get the f4 and upgrade later if you need to. If you're rich, just get the big banger and you'll be loving life.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: 70-200 f4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 57  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com