Nikon AF 24-50mm f/3.3-4.5D Zoom-Nikkor 35mm Zoom

AF 24-50mm f/3.3-4.5D Zoom-Nikkor

Zoom from wideangle to normal by turning zoom control. Ideal for many applications, from candids to travel photography. Autofocus for ease-of-use. Focus down to 1.6 feet. Superb picture quality at every focal length.

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Classicist   Intermediate [Aug 20, 2009]
Strength:

Flexibility. Light weight. Ideal travel companion...less to carry. Reasonable quality...should be acceptable for most use and blown-ups to 11"X17" with slide film up to ISO 100.

Weakness:

Large compared to the 24mm/2.8AIS or the 28mm/2.0. Yes, it is made of plasic, which meant it could be damaged in the field more easily than a solid all-metal, all-manual Nikkor. However, if care is applied in use and while in storage, the risk of loosing a lens during travel is low. Mine has survived 3 trips to the Indian sub-continent plus a trip to N. Thailand (not mentioned in Review Summary)...been exposed to high heat, humidity, and freezing temperatures. Another weak point is its speed. At times, I wished I took along the 24/2.8 or 28/2, since some of my museum shots had to be taken without flash (flash weren't allowed). The lens is sharp between f5.6 to f11. So the 3.3 or 4.5 opening is not really usable if you want very good photos in reduced light conditions. Either 24/2.8 or 28/2.0 will give you very good photos at f4 in reduced lighting or for isolating the subject from the background. The front filter attachment rotates, which makes it difficult to use a polarizer, but such a difficultiy is slight, and personally I could manage it.

I bought this lens brand new in early 2001 for my trip to Nepal. It is a good travel lens and I have very good photos taken with it mounted on my F5 & FE. With good lighting, it gives bright, colorful photos. It survived the Nepal trip all the way up to Kala Patar (18,192 ft.), and I had very good photos of Mt. Everest taken from up there. It had gone through a second trip to Nepal in 2002, and made it to 17,760 ft. on the icy slopes of Mera Peak (-10oF) with my FE. A third trip to Ladakh and to the Rajasthan Desert in July 2005 (very hot...117oF) was made with the FE. No problems with the heat and dust. So, that said, it is a good travel lens and it gave me good to very good photos, some of which I had blown to 11"X17". That said, I also have a 24mm/2.8 AIS and a 28mm/2.0 AIS, but preferred the zoom for its flexibility on such journeys. I use the lens with its dedicated hood (HB4), circular polarizer I & II, and a haze filter. The circular polarizer II works very well with the HB4...at 24mm, I did not notice any vignetting at around the edges of the slide (I shot slide flim during my travels). The circular polarizer I (1st generation model) would cause vignetting from 24 mm to about 35 mm if its HN29 hood is used. When the circular polarizer I is used without HN29, no vignetting occured at 24mm. I still have the lens today. It would serve me longer since it works very well with the SB27. The SB27 is a compact flash (another ideal travel partner), and it has an auto zoom range between 24mm and 50mm,...a good fit with this lens. So far the SB27 works well with the lens as I did not notice any flash coverage issues. I would like to try this lens and the
SB27 combo on the D700 someday.

Customer Service

None needed.

Similar Products Used: Nikon 14mm/2.8 AFD. Nikon 24mm/2.8 AIS, Nikon 28mm/2.0 AIS, Nikon 105mm/2.5 AIS, Nikon 180m/2.8 AFD, Nikon 300mm/4.5 EDIF, Nikon 45mm/2.8 P AIS
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Lon Escam   Expert [Apr 25, 2003]
Strength:

Lightweight, fairly durable, great range for the field.

Weakness:

Truly wish it had IF but I can live without that. Have managed to work that polarizer and focusing ring with two fingers.

I usually shoot this lens at F8-16. Never did like shooting F2.8-5.6. From what I've seen from the blowups, they look crisp and clean. I like the contrast on this lens and the compactness of it. It's not built like the AIS manual lenses but it seems to hold it's own in the field. Really like the zoom range on it. I'm a landscape guy. I would not rate it as a "turd" lens as some think!

Customer Service

Haven't needed them.

Similar Products Used: Nikkor 20MM F2.8 AIS Nikkor 70-300 F4.0 ED AF
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
steve   Intermediate [May 09, 2002]
Strength:

useful focal length range relatively light very sharp images when used stopped down

Weakness:

poor image quality at wider apertures rotating barrel plastic construction purple fringing bad barrel distortion extremely prone to flare and ghosting

I have had a love-hate relationship with this lens. Admittedly, it *can* produce great shots when stopped down to atleast f/8 but image quality deteriorates significantly at wider apertures. Ghosting and flare are serious issues with this lens, and barrel distortion is severe at 24mm. However, cheesy as it may sound this lens can rival prime optics when used stopped down. So basically, when its good its awesome, when its bad its awful.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: zeiss 28mm f/2.8
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
John Stockdale   Intermediate [Oct 09, 2001]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

Flare prone! I was shocked. I use primes mostly, but for "happy snaps" and some travel photos I have found the compact size and range very useful. BUT flare is a problem

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Trzaska Stanislaw   Expert [Aug 19, 2000]
Strength:

Sharp from 5,6,no colour fringing,

Weakness:

small aperture

very good basic lens for occasional snapping.Ligt and handy.

Customer Service

not necessary

Similar Products Used: nikon AFS 17-35,80-200,2,8 20,1,8 85 etc
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lee Barber   Expert [Jul 31, 2000]
Strength:

Very Sharp at f8+
Fast focusing

Weakness:

VERY prone to breaking

One of my favorate lenses for landscapes, sharp, but it breaks easally. One drop rendered it almost useless.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
T Boustead   Intermediate [Jul 27, 2000]
Strength:

Sounds funny, but when this lens is sharp its bloody sharp!!!

Weakness:

...when its not sharp (like at the edges) its atrocious, even at f8. Needs cropping then its excellent.
This lens is also prone to flaring and ghosting. Also no good for horizon shots at 24mm due to distortion.

This is an excellent lens apart from the poor edge sharpness and distortion at 24mm. The flare and ghosting is extreme but can be minimised by the use of a lens hood.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: 28-70 f3.5-f4.5
70-300 f4-f5.6 ED
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeffrey C   Intermediate [Jun 17, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 24-50mm f/3.3-4.5D AF* Zoom-Nikkor
Strength:

Small
Useful alternative normal lens
Sharp
Focusses fast
Good contrast

Weakness:

If it only were a tad longer! Maybe to 80. NIKON:REDESIGN IT!

This is my favorite lens due to its wide to normal perspective, but I do wish it were just a tad longer (85?) to make it my one and only lens. Admittedly, contrast is not great at the corners wide open, but stop it down some and use some fill flash, it is super. Color rendition is accurate. It is small, being only twice as big as a 50 1.8. MESSAGE TO NIKON: REDESIGN THIS LENS TO A 24-80/85 or replace the 24-120 with a technically better 24-105/110(this isn't going to happen, the 28-105 is it). OK, then make a 24-80 with max f4.5 and I'll get the 80-200. I know Nikon can do it. (I much prefer that than a 5.6 120 that isn't great even when stopped down.) If I wait too long I may just get the 28-105 which is very close to what I need.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
C Liu   Intermediate [Jun 14, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 24-50mm f/3.3-4.5D AF* Zoom-Nikkor
Strength:

This lens offers a very good picture quality if one can stop down a bit. For most landscape photographic purpose, stopping down is not difficult to do. This lens offers a good compromise among cost, quality and convenience.

Weakness:

For taking pictures for people at low light condition, it does not offer much flexibility. Then every lens has its limitation so choose the one fits into your needs.

This is a great lens for travel. I recently travelled to Germany and took several rolls of photo for landscape, some in low light condition (with portable tripod). The photo comes out real sharp. I am happy with this lens. For taking portrait, I use 60mm 2.8 and 80-200 2.8. Both are better lens for that purpose.

Similar Products Used: Nikon 60mm, 80-200mm
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott Press   Expert [May 06, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 24-50mm f/3.3-4.5D AF* Zoom-Nikkor
Strength:

Quick focus, wide range, excellent optics

Weakness:

Plastic construction

This lense has served me well. I find that I use it in the 28 mm range unless I am taking landscapes. Greater colors and sharpness

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com